We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough facilities but let down by basics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The hotel and rooms look promising. But some things that we would expect in a good hotel are missing.

- On arrival it took a good 15-20mins to have our (pre-booked) interconnecting doors unlocked.
- on a wet afternoon we couldn't use the pool so thought we'd have afternoon tea, but they don't offer it
- The kids playrooms look great, but one is only for over fives and without any parents. When we went a group of 7-8year olds were behaving as they do, but our five year old daughter found it too daunting to go in without her sibling or us.
- the under fives room is really set up for maybe babies to 2-3 year olds. So not what our almost 4 year old wanted.
- disappointed with that, we tried the craft room, but they had run out of paint.
- disappointed again we tried to get manicure / pedicure at the spa, but they don't do them.

So, on a wet, grey afternoon we headed back to our room to watch a movie and have room service. But there are no on-demand movies. You can rent a DVD player for over $20 but they have no DVDs to watch! So we're watching Tom and Jerry cartoons.

Hmmm....just not what we would expect from a Shangri La hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DailyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear DailyDaisy,

Greetings from Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa.

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Please contact me direct via email: ben.bousnina@shangri-la.com as I wish to address your concerns.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Bousnina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,737)
There are newer reviews for Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,999 - 2,005 of 3,737 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

We found this resort to be a very pleasant place to stay. The staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and the facilities were exactly what we expected. The room was a decent size and the bathroom clean and well equipped. The pool and dining areas were well maintained and set out. Would go back happily

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

The overall experience was very good, we extremely enjoy with our family, interior decoration and hotel structure and colour combination was extremely safusticated. Specially the siloso beach approach from our hotel was very near.
Rasa MISS U. BYE

Room Tip: There must be some toys for children, and must be Indian channel.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Faisal-Mahmood-SIDDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

The family sized room was great and the double sofa bed fit my 2 children perfectly. Loved the staff - very friendly, professional and attentive. Kids loved the Kids Club especially the tree house slide

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Arrived here for R&R after travelling round Australia, and a couple of days in Singapore city. Wish we had stayed longer at the fabulous hotel in Singapore.
We arrived a little earlier than official check-in time, the room that had been allocated to us was not ready so they tried to "upsell" another room for S$100 per night more. When we refused another room suddenly became available, this was a 'Hillview' room which overlooked large trees fronting the hotel entrance - behind these was a construction site which was noisy first thing in the morning and late afternoon before they finished work for the day. We were advised not to have the patio door open because of the monkeys - they steal things left on the balcony, or could invite themselves into the room.
The food experience was not great on our first night, so went out to Vivo city for the remaining 4 nights. Breakfast was not so tempting either, obviously catering for Eastern tastes and the usual eggs & bacon.
Staff around hotel always said 'hello' but were rather distant. In fact on our 3rd morning we only found out from one of the chefs that there was quite a wide range of coffee to be taken, but it was easier for the girls to just pour from pre-prepared jugs.
Didn't take too kindly to peacocks roaming around, and through the outside breakfast area particularly as they were spying to see what was left on the tables. They also leave their "calling cards" all over the place. Also not very nice when a huge monitor lizzard suddenly appears at the side of your table.
The check out time was uncomfortable - we had a late time of 2pm because our pick-up time was not till 20.15... so that we could enjoy the day we asked if there was a courtesy room we could use late afternoon to shower & change - this apparently could not be reserved and was on first come first served basis...I asked a couple of times but had the same answer. I was advised that a shower could be taken at the swimming pool showers. This is NOT 5* facilities - only 1 courtesy room for a 450+ room hotel is crazy. In the end we changed into travelling clothes in the toilet near the lobby. Luckily our private transfer taxi arrived a little early - we just could not wait to leave.
No, we did not complain because there is no point because communications are not easy, and as the hotel was full, what could they have done
Our experience at this hotel was not 5*, and are upset that it was in fact recommended to us by the tour company we used.

Room Tip: Think twice and do plenty of research before booking....we do not moan for the sake of it !
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellerimdjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear travellerimdjr,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are concerned about your recent stay experience with us, as such, may I request that you contact me at ben.bousnina@shangri-la.com so that I can have the opportunity to discuss these concerns further with you.

Yours sincerely,
Ben Bousnina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed at the Shangri-La Rasa Resort Sentosa over the weekend. It was such a lovely resort!!

The warm welcome, great food and dedicated customer service created a memorable experience for the two of us. We had a BBQ seafood buffet dinner at the Silver Shell Restaurant on Saturday and the seafood was super fresh and full of variety. The tiger prawns, fresh scallop, and stir-fry clams were unforgettable. What had impressed us the most was that the professional live band come to different tables to perform. You can ask them to sing a dedicated song for you - be it a celebration for your birthday, or your favourite hits, they would just perform for you with a beautiful smile. We were served by Peter, and he is simply GREAT.

Although they are very busy and what we can see is almost a 100% occupancy, they were extremely helpful, focus on the customers and always very positive and attentive to your requests.

A private beach for the hotel's customers where we enjoyed some privacy as a couple. There is also a regular and free hotel shuttle to one of the biggest shopping mall in town.

Room tips: Choose Panoramic Seaview Room. You will be greeted by the beautiful sea in the morning.

Restaurant tips: Don't forget the super nice ice-cream offered at the buffet. First Class! :)

Room Tip: Choose Panoramic Seaview Room. You will be greeted by the beautiful sea in the morning.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joelle_Goh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We had a wonderful family holiday to singapore ending with 3 nights at the rasa and we wished we'd have stayed here the whole time. The food was great and varied, the pool and childrens entertainment wonderful. And the rooms were clean and more than adequate for a family of four. Will be coming back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin12478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,065 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#38 of 316 in Singapore
22,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £212 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing