We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but no family friendly rooms with young kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Adafd
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good but no family friendly rooms with young kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Staff and pool facilities were excellent, my young kids had hours of fun and lots of things to do. The food quality and variety were also of a high standard, the staff and service were excellent. On the down side, given this hotel is positioned as a 'family resort' it was hard to get a room configuration that worked. We have young kids (5 and 4) and the only 'family room' available had all of us sleeping in the one room together - not so fun at 7.30 at night when the kids go to sleep and you are left sitting in the dark. The resort would not guarantee interconnecting rooms (which is unacceptable with small kids) so our only option was to request a one bedroom suite which we had to put in a special request for - whilst this room was adequate it was cramped and expensive at $1000AUD a night. The hotel also does not offer any kids club option for children under 5 (there is a basic toddler room only) even if a babysitter or parent is available to supervise. For a 5 star resort the rooms and facade are quite tired and out of date.
We would go back there again as the pool, service and location made up for the negatives however maybe when the kids were older.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Dsafda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,469 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,893
    1,038
    337
    127
    74
See reviews for
2,022
678
71
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (872)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Large hotel right on their own private beach as well as a pool a few metres away. Spend time during the day at both. Buffet breakfast each morning is a treat on holidays. We had a few dinners on their restaurant right on the beach. Beautiful gardens and pools with Coy fish. Take a walk in the evenings along the beach and it comes alive. The hotel has a free shuttle bus to take you over the bridge into Singapore. Thanks to reviews on tripadvisor we found the Shangri-la Rasa Sentosa exactly what we were after.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor overlooking the pool, gardens and beach. Stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

we had a wonderful time. staff were great and resort absolutely geared for children and families . with cot in room , rooms were a little small. Buffet was expensive at night but children under 12 eat free and this was good. Chilkdrens buffet brilliant

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank leoon43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

If you feel bored and sick with your daily routines and need to refresh your soul at somewhere different, Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa Singapore could be the good choice for you. I was staying in this hotel a year ago when my family and I had an annual family holiday in Singapore. I was the one who arranged every itinerary during the trip. I chose this hotel because I saw that this resort was just located inside the Sentosa Island, which means quite separated from City Daily Routines. Eventhough quite far from the city center, staying in this hotel can give you so much easy access to some attraction, theme park, restaurant and shows inside the Sentosa Island. The hotel provided free shuttle that can ease you to go to VivoCity and get back to the hotel. The room was so nice. It was traditional but very modern in the facilities. When you stay in this hotel, you would feel like staying peace in the jungle because this hotel was surrounded by some woods. Breakfast was also very nice. They serve you so many variety of menus. I really love everything I experienced in this hotel. From the staff to the facilities, nothing was disappointing me. Will I go back to have a stay here again (even just for my metime)? The answer would always be yes. Thank you Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa for giving our family a pleasure moment during our stay last year.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank stayfunnoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved every bit of our stay. Rooms spacious, Pools many, Service excellent, Ambiance beautiful, most of all the kids play area ( kids club) made our holiday so much joyous. Mu 4 year old loved the place. Would come here every visit.

Room Tip: Sea side may be good. But Hill side gives you more natural view. The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PallaviTaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Shangri-La hotel is on the far west side of Sentosa island. Which is perfect if you want to walk the length of Sentosa on the beach and enjoy all the different venues.
While check in was a lengthy process due only to the number of guests. The staff was very friendly and professional. Small ice cream cones were being served to help beat the heat. The room looks to be kept in excellent order. Make sure you ask for a higher floor with a sea view room so that you can enjoy a excellent view. The bottom floor seems to have a ton of things for kids with ping pong tables, play area and activities. The pool area is large and is family friendly as well. We chose to have our breakfast in the Executive Lounge so as to avoid the kids, which is a nice touch for couples looking to relax. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for Panoramic Sea view room. There are ice machines on the floors. Adults can enjoy a quieter br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrhickman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our family friendly resort and appreciate the little touches such as ice cream cones on a hot afternoon as well as the alternative breakfast location for couples.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Yours sincerely,
Ben Bousnina
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Ridge, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The service was beyond our expectation and the staff were very friendly and considerate. The hotel is a little bit away from the city; but the complimentary shuttle service was excellent. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Everything seems to be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank renfei79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#33 of 309 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Southall Travel, Hotelopia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelbag and Agoda so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing