We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very best family hotel and family location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Shangri-la,s rasa hotel was the best family hotel in the best holiday location ever in my 70 years of travel worldwide.
From the efficient collection of our family arriving from different locations at different times from the airport, to the extremely efflicent and friendly booking of our family into our rooms( not at the counter with tired grandchildren, no in our rooms ), even days later there was a friendly wave from Julie asking if everything was oke and where we having a good time.
The hotel is in a perfect location on santosa, movie world, dolphins, butterfly,s, aquarium, save clean beach, swimming pools attended by helpfully live savers, shopping centre, cable cars etc etc all within a short bus ride or walking distance.
The staff all spoke fluently English, (me having to learn 5 languages as a child , with not being good at any of those ) helped at lot, everybody from the cleaning staff to the supervisor had a smile even after we where not there any more.
The food in the restaurant had a very good choice of items considering that they had to feed up to 1000 parents and children, and Jeff the restaurant manager was very helpful in discussing our choice of wine and was a pleasure to deal with, what I liked was that they remembered who we where , even to the point of asking where my better half was ( she went to australia 1 week earlier and I,m staying at the W for busniss for another week), and they noticed her missing, very classy indeed.
The band was very good to the point that they let our 2 grandchildren dance and singalong with them ( frozen song and all) .
I,ve stayed at other hotels in singapore and another 58 countries, but in my viewpoint for a family stay the Shangrila is the very best in the world, when you take your family to Disney land ( we have been to Paris ,Tokyo and Anaheim) you can only do those attractions , there is no beach or fantastic pools or other attractions all within such a short distance.
Now all that I need is a shangri la hotel in the snow ( to teach the rug rats to ski) somewhere and life will be perfect.
Best room 761, but we stayed in 764 which still had a nice mountain view.
Altogether it was a good week, the Aussies did better than expected, the Belgians lasted longer and the Dutch went even better getting to no 3 in the word cup, the staff even made coffee at 4 am for those silly people watching the game life, thank you.
O I forgot i have a master degree in hotel services etc. and the Airconditioning was perfect and so where the showers, the lifts where better than on our Princes cruise 3 months ago , specially considering the abuse they receive from the children.
Once again thank you to all the staff at the resort, you made our family holiday special.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Johan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,769 - 1,775 of 3,901 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 4D3N in mid June 2014. I have a wonderful experience staying in Shangri-La Rasa Sentosa hotel. Staff are friendly, food is nice, suitable for family stay and you will get first round free for the minibar. The hotel provide a self service laundry at a designate floor. The pool is fun and there is a kids club for children to play. The hotel is beside the Universal Studio but not at walking distance. I am driving, so location is okay for me. For those not driving, you need to board a bus or cab to go to town or Universal Studio. The hotel is located at the end of the Sentosa island, quite isolated. The hotel is good for a relaxing holiday. I have spend a day at the hotel to enjoy the facilities. Happy to stay in the hotel, definitely looking forward to come back for a holiday.

Room Tip: Deluxe room with higher floor. Ask for a floor with a self service laundry if you need one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carmen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Booked a 'superior' room for a staycation, hard to believe this is a shangri la hotel. Rooms are a decent size but am struggling to recall the last time I paid this much for a room without a bathtub and one that actually charges you for a DVD player (23.54 $ a night in case you're wondering) ...Feels a bit like being on a budget airline where you pay extra for the onboard meals. Resort is overrun by kids , possibly not helped by school holiday season in July.
Having stayed at shangs in boracay, Dubai, KL etc had come here expecting much but it feels like its run by a franchisee owner who hasn't done the brand any justice. Will not give up on the brand just yet but it's quite a gentle nudge in That direction.

Room Tip: Go for the Capella or amara
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahmed79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel rooms were only in fair condition - although well fitted out they appear quite worn.

We stayed during Australian school holidays so the hotel was quite full - the facilities struggled to comfortably accommodate all the guests. The pool was packed and it was difficult to get a seat on some days, there were not enough poolside bar staff to service customers (although the staff there were excellent when you could get their attention) and the breakfast room is too small and we ate most mornings in the ballroom they were using as an overflow - consequently the selection of food and quality at breakfast was not to a high standard.

I found this hotel to be overpriced compared to similar hotels in other locations but I guess this is also reflective of Singapore in general.

The staff were excellent and generally very helpful - this seems to be a trademark of the Shangri-La group in this region.

Finally the location is great if you have kids and want to visit Sentosa Island's attractions every day. However, if you want to experience a mix between Sentosa and mainland Singapore, I think you are better off staying in the city (Shangri-La Singapore near Orchid Rd is excellent, as is the Fullerton Bay Hotel on the Esplanade) and taking a taxi into Sentosa which is less than 10 minutes from the Esplanade/Marina Bay Sands end of town.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis_Fam_2kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Have now been to this Hotel 4 x over a 12 year period. The first 3 x as a stop over on way to Australia this time as a main holiday. Rooms have been refurbished since last visit to high standard. Food excellent, sea views excellent, staff excellent, convenience excellent. Hard to fault this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The hotel was really wonderful! It worths the money! The beach was great! Food was good! Staff was friendly! Location is acceptable because bus stop was right nearby! It was extremely suitable for kids cuz the pool was so much fun!



  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Kitseesee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The staff were very friendly and the facilities were very good especially if you were here with your children, I feel its more a family resort. The room was clean and bed comfortable.

This would have been a 5 star review if not for a miss in service which left a deeper impression than the staff and facilities. The staff prepared for a birthday cake which was suppose to be sent to the room at 5pm, however the cake did not arrive even until 5.25pm hence I made a call and they promise that they will check and call me back but 10mins later still no call and I made a call back which they apologise and put me on hold after 3 mins they say they will send the cake to my room and it arrive 10mins later (without a candle). Spoil my plan, the element of surprise as well as my dinner plan as it was an hour late. Would have expected better from Shangri la.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Etlifestyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SENGM1, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.

Your comments on the friendly service of our staff, facilities and cleanliness of our rooms are appreciated.

I’d also like to offer my sincere apologies for the lapse in our service with regard to the delivery of the birthday cake. Rest assured that I am working with the team to improve our service standards and better meet the expectations of our guests.

Looking forward to be of service to you in the future.

Yours sincerely
Ben Bousnina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#4 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,179 reviews
Orchard Road
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
Shangri-La Hotel, Singapore
#10 of 319 in Singapore
5,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 101 Siloso Road, Sentosa Island 098970, Singapore (Formerly Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort)
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £204 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort, Singapore's only beachfront resort, is situated at Sentosa Island. Far from the hustle and bustle of the city, yet close to major attractions like Orchard Road, Little India and Clarke Quay, the resort is conveniently linked to mainland Singapore by a causeway. It is next to numerous attractions including the Universal Studios, Underwater World and Dolphin Lagoon. The business district is a mere 15 minutes away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
Rasa Hotel Sentosa Island
Shangri La Sentosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing