We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but bad service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is really nice, open spaces with fresh air, nicely decorated. It is such a pity that the service offered is very poor. Slow and allthough arrangements are made on forehand, you have to check and recheck. Taxi drivers do not know the current name of the hotel but only know the old name, Beaufort. Good to know otyherwise the taxi ride can take long :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SufiWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear SufiWaalre,

Thank you for your feedback and we’re gratified to hear that you liked our hotel with its lush greenery and open space.

I am very sorry to hear that the service rendered to you was not up to your expectation. Please be assured that this is not our usual service standards. Training programs have been implemented for our staff as we are committed in our mission to provide excellent service.

Your feedback is important to us and I will personally share this with my team. We look forward to having you back with us at our beautiful resort soon.

Warmest Regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,437 - 1,443 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel! 50 metre pool, excellent service, beach tram to all beaches at the bottom of the garden steps, free shuttle to vivocity( excellent restaurants, supermarkets shops ) every 20 minutes , free shuttle to orchard road twice an hour , excellent gym and next to the golf club! Even if you ere doing business in the city better to stay here- 30 minutes by shuttle to reach it. And you get peace and quiet no city noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Sydlady,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am happy you've enjoyed your stay at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa.

Indeed, the resort offers the perfect location for a quiet respite in the midst of the bustling city life. Our two-way complimentary shuttle services to VivoCity (Harbourfront train station) as well as to Paragon Shopping Centre (Orchard Road) makes it very convenient for our guests to enjoy what Singapore has to offer in terms of shopping, food and entertainment or even for a business trip.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you here again at our resort during your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,

Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Sentosa is one of the most frustrating reviews I have ever written. This is a stunningly located resort, with beautiful rooms and amazing grounds. The pool is gorgeous. An easy place to escape from the world.

But the service.... absolutely dreadful. We waited for 2 hours in the restaurant for a meal. We couldn't get a drink by the pool to save our life. You waited hours for room service, and when the food did arrive it was extremely average for the price.

We got into the room and had crashed out, and there was a knock on the door saying they needed to come in and check the minibar because they forgot to do it when the last people checked out.

We had also organised a transfer to the airport - we were left waiting for 45 minutes at reception, despite confirming that morning and again in the afternoon. Eventually, they admitted they had forgotten and made other arrangements.

For 600 a night, I expect better. This hotel has amazing potential, and given the service levels and quality of food you get even in the cheapest hotels in Singapore, there is no excuse for such a poor showing at a hotel like this.

I'm moving to Singapore next month - I look forward to staying at this hotel again under the new management and I expect to see a significant improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear juicyblue,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am truly disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies on our service shortfall which is definitely not part of our service standards. I will personally look into the issues you've raised and make sure this does not happen again.

Can I please trouble you to email us at info@singaporeresortsentosa.com with your booking details so that we can get in touch with you directly?

As you may be aware, this resort has recently been taken over and is now managed by Accor. We take guest feedback very seriously and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to our resort to experience the true hospitality of what The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa has to offer.

Warmest regards,

Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our family has been here before and we keep going back, the staff are amazing, the location is good. With ACCOR's attention to detail the quality of the Resort will only get better.
Our kids were especially spoilt for Easter given they were away for Easter, it was a very humbling experience.

Room Tip: With the management change over be sure to check the stage of renovations and if you can afford it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyasaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Oinker77,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted you and your family have enjoyed your Easter with us. As you may be aware, the resort will be undergoing renovation in phases in the upcoming months. We will, no doubt, be able to offer even better facilities and offerings upon completion of our refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa very soon.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had a wonderful time at this resort. It a beautiful place with a calming effect. The staff are very friendly and warm right from the reception. The rooms are very neat and spacious. The food is simply amazing. The gardens are enchanting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murithi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Murithi M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments shared on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

My ambassadors and I take pride in providing every guest with the best service possible and I'm happy to know you've experienced the warm hospitality we have to offer. I will be sure to share your compliments to my ambassadors to encourage them to continue their great work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Don't be fooled that this resort is a little way from the main action on Sentosa. The transport is great with the option of walking down/up the stairs and catching the beach tram, catching the number 3 bus from the hotel foyer, getting the half hour shuttle bus to Vivocity or the Playrider to Resorts World. The resort offers a great recluse, with a fabulous pool that is rarely crowded, the Terrace Restaurant has some wonderful dishes (must try the Szechuan Chicken or the Pepper Crab). The Pavilion takes some beating for a relaxing cocktail in the evening. We had heard that the rooms were run down, but ours was great. The staff were fantastic, with housekeeping making sure that we had everything we needed including lots of complimentary bottled water. The concierge staff were brilliant especially Simon who went out of his way to help us get to a restaurant reservation on time. We understand that the hotel has just been bought. I hope they continue with the current customer service. Would recommend it highly. We took our two teenage sons who loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PeteandPaula40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear PeteandPaula40,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to read about your wonderful experience which you and your family had at our beautiful resort.

We are blessed with 27 acres of lush greenery with a team of dedicated ambassadors who work very hard every day. I will share your feedback with my team, especially Simon for a job well done!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa during your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very beautiful resort. Calm & relaxable place. Fabulous swimming pool. Very easy to go Tanjong beach(beatiful, too!!) Concierge staffs were very kind, however, receptionists need more training for guest service.

Room Tip: Sentosa sling is very good to drink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JH S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear JH S,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to know that you and your partner enjoyed your recent stay with us.

I will share your feedback with my ambassadors and also look into providing more training for our receptionists as you've mentioned.

We thank you for taking the effort to share your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,091 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#41 of 317 in Singapore
22,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 099891, Singapore (Formerly The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £186 - £400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa is the newest French luxury 5-star resort hotel on Singapore's favourite island. Situated at the top of a cliff rising above Tanjong Beach, it is a haven of tranquility and relaxation blessed with stunning views of sunsets over the horizon. Greeting guests upon arrival in the lobby is a dazzling bespoke lighting installation inspired by the Milky Way hanging from the lofty ceiling. The entire property is cosseted in lush tropical greenery and overlooks the South China Sea. The 215-room hotel includes luxury rooms, suites and villas, and offers an array of delectable cuisines from around the world at its various F&B establishments. Facilities include indoor and outdoor event spaces, a state-of-the-art gym, children's playroom, complimentary internet access and shuttle services. Completing the experience for guests is a spacious swimming pool deck and the world's largest Sofitel Signature So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing