We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now in need of renovation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel on many occasions, returning this time, unusually, for a business stay. The hotel retains its beautiful gardens and spacious grounds, but the rooms need to be renovated to be as good as the other hotels nearby. The hotel very much benefits from its relaxing and spectacular setting on Sentosa Island. All around it are lovely gardens and the entrance to the hotel is a stone's throw from the Sentosa Golf Course. But the rooms in the hotel let it down. I stayed in a Suite, that was far from luxurious. The furniture, décor and fittings were old and cheap, the bathroom looked like it had been designed in the Seventies, and the room lacked any feel of being in a five-star hotel. The somewhat utilitarian swimming pool also had the feel of the Seventies as well, and needs to be modernised to be acceptable in a hotel of this standard. The food in the main restaurant, where I had breakfast and one dinner, was unfortunately not good enough. I got into the habit of travelling the short distance to some of the nearby hotels which were much more acceptable. Overall, once getting past the beautiful setting, the hotel had a weary feel to it. It has just changed management, and one must hope that the new team will see to improving the standard of the rooms.

Room Tip: Wait till it has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Wayster,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and I am heartened to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful and relaxing surroundings in the hotel.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room condition and standard of food at our outlet. I will convey your feedback to our ambassadors and will definitely work on improving the quality of the food. As you may be aware, the hotel is currently undergoing renovations in phases to upgrade our facilities. This will cover all of our guestrooms, public areas, leisure facilities and is expected to be completed in 2015.

I am very excited about the upcoming developments which will be sure to provide guests with a rejuvenated and luxurious experience. Thank you once again for leaving us with your valuable insights and I look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,795)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,555 - 1,561 of 1,795 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

After a long break, back to the hotel for good and to facilitate to attending a concert at Resorts World Sentosa. The hotel has changed name or owner that ex Beaufort is now called Singapore Resort and Spa Sentosa and managed by Accor Group. However, not much changes in the hotel ever since but the Spa is closed. No chance to enjoy the serene, quiet swimming and mud pool though hotel has a big and main pool. The gym next to the Spa is open with comprehensive equipment. Will be interesting to know after the hotel is undergoing major refurbishment few months later.
One of the drawback is that the feeder bus service in Sentosa stops operating at 10.30pm and when returning to hotel after the time, one has to take a taxi or walk far and dark in night. Overall, the stay is comfortable.

Room Tip: Same 3rd Floor as Reception as could be too quiet at lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank brnrd_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear brnrd_h,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The hotel is very lucky to be strategically located in a tranquil part of Sentosa and is much loved by our guests looking for a peaceful respite.

Your feedback on the Sentosa bus service has also been taken into account and we will bring this up with the Sentosa Leisure Management. I am sorry that you were not able to enjoy our spa facilities due to the renovations. We are currently refreshing our spa facilities and will be opening So SPA by the third quarter of 2014. So SPA will be set to offer guests a luxurious wellness experience reflecting the latest in French cosmetology, and inspired by different therapies from around the world.

Your feedback is important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The hotel is really nice, open spaces with fresh air, nicely decorated. It is such a pity that the service offered is very poor. Slow and allthough arrangements are made on forehand, you have to check and recheck. Taxi drivers do not know the current name of the hotel but only know the old name, Beaufort. Good to know otyherwise the taxi ride can take long :-)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SufiWaalre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear SufiWaalre,

Thank you for your feedback and we’re gratified to hear that you liked our hotel with its lush greenery and open space.

I am very sorry to hear that the service rendered to you was not up to your expectation. Please be assured that this is not our usual service standards. Training programs have been implemented for our staff as we are committed in our mission to provide excellent service.

Your feedback is important to us and I will personally share this with my team. We look forward to having you back with us at our beautiful resort soon.

Warmest Regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel! 50 metre pool, excellent service, beach tram to all beaches at the bottom of the garden steps, free shuttle to vivocity( excellent restaurants, supermarkets shops ) every 20 minutes , free shuttle to orchard road twice an hour , excellent gym and next to the golf club! Even if you ere doing business in the city better to stay here- 30 minutes by shuttle to reach it. And you get peace and quiet no city noise.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sydlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Sydlady,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am happy you've enjoyed your stay at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa.

Indeed, the resort offers the perfect location for a quiet respite in the midst of the bustling city life. Our two-way complimentary shuttle services to VivoCity (Harbourfront train station) as well as to Paragon Shopping Centre (Orchard Road) makes it very convenient for our guests to enjoy what Singapore has to offer in terms of shopping, food and entertainment or even for a business trip.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having you here again at our resort during your next visit to Singapore.

Warmest regards,

Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Sentosa is one of the most frustrating reviews I have ever written. This is a stunningly located resort, with beautiful rooms and amazing grounds. The pool is gorgeous. An easy place to escape from the world.

But the service.... absolutely dreadful. We waited for 2 hours in the restaurant for a meal. We couldn't get a drink by the pool to save our life. You waited hours for room service, and when the food did arrive it was extremely average for the price.

We got into the room and had crashed out, and there was a knock on the door saying they needed to come in and check the minibar because they forgot to do it when the last people checked out.

We had also organised a transfer to the airport - we were left waiting for 45 minutes at reception, despite confirming that morning and again in the afternoon. Eventually, they admitted they had forgotten and made other arrangements.

For 600 a night, I expect better. This hotel has amazing potential, and given the service levels and quality of food you get even in the cheapest hotels in Singapore, there is no excuse for such a poor showing at a hotel like this.

I'm moving to Singapore next month - I look forward to staying at this hotel again under the new management and I expect to see a significant improvement.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank juicyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear juicyblue,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. I am truly disappointed to hear of your experience during your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies on our service shortfall which is definitely not part of our service standards. I will personally look into the issues you've raised and make sure this does not happen again.

Can I please trouble you to email us at info@singaporeresortsentosa.com with your booking details so that we can get in touch with you directly?

As you may be aware, this resort has recently been taken over and is now managed by Accor. We take guest feedback very seriously and I look forward to welcoming you and your partner back to our resort to experience the true hospitality of what The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa has to offer.

Warmest regards,

Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our family has been here before and we keep going back, the staff are amazing, the location is good. With ACCOR's attention to detail the quality of the Resort will only get better.
Our kids were especially spoilt for Easter given they were away for Easter, it was a very humbling experience.

Room Tip: With the management change over be sure to check the stage of renovations and if you can afford it t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HappyasaPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Oinker77,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am delighted you and your family have enjoyed your Easter with us. As you may be aware, the resort will be undergoing renovation in phases in the upcoming months. We will, no doubt, be able to offer even better facilities and offerings upon completion of our refurbishment.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back at The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa very soon.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I had a wonderful time at this resort. It a beautiful place with a calming effect. The staff are very friendly and warm right from the reception. The rooms are very neat and spacious. The food is simply amazing. The gardens are enchanting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Murithi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_TonyChisholm, General Manager at Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Dear Murithi M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful comments shared on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

My ambassadors and I take pride in providing every guest with the best service possible and I'm happy to know you've experienced the warm hospitality we have to offer. I will be sure to share your compliments to my ambassadors to encourage them to continue their great work.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Tony Chisholm
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
#3 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#10 of 13 in Sentosa Island
2,163 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 317 in Singapore
23,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa

Address: 2 Bukit Manis Road, Sentosa Island 099891, Singapore (Formerly The Singapore Resort & Spa Sentosa, Managed by Accor)
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Sentosa Island
#5 Luxury Hotel in Sentosa Island
Price Range: £189 - £439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa is the newest French luxury 5-star resort hotel on Singapore's favourite island. Situated at the top of a cliff rising above Tanjong Beach, it is a haven of tranquility and relaxation blessed with stunning views of sunsets over the horizon. Greeting guests upon arrival in the lobby is a dazzling bespoke lighting installation inspired by the Milky Way hanging from the lofty ceiling. The entire property is cosseted in lush tropical greenery and overlooks the South China Sea. The 215-room hotel includes luxury rooms, suites and villas, and offers an array of delectable cuisines from around the world at its various F&B establishments. Facilities include indoor and outdoor event spaces, a state-of-the-art gym, children's playroom, complimentary internet access and shuttle services. Completing the experience for guests is a spacious swimming pool deck and the world's largest Sofitel Signature So SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Singapore Sentosa Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sentosa Resort And Spa
The Sentosa Hotel Sentosa Island
The Sentosa Island Hotel
The Hotel Sentosa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing