We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel but internal communication not good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
W Singapore Sentosa Cove
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel but internal communication not good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

It's nice hotel and they upgrade us a suite with excellent view. You could enjoy the rich life there, just walk out and enjoy the air and walking near the sea. Nearby is the rich people area in Sentosa. Hotel provides free shuttle to many places, so no worry about your needs. in the evening, become colorful hotel. I may stay here again if I visit here. The only thing I complaint is their internal communication not good, hotel want me to pay lost things but they were not there when check in. Thought they apologied finally, but still a bad experience after checking out. Overall, it's excellent stay but worst after check out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Hello Richard C,
Thank you for you feedback. I am glad you had such a wonderful stay here with us. Regarding to your comment of our internal communication, I do appreciate your comment and we surely will take note about it.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    952
    457
    185
    76
    74
See reviews for
549
574
45
216
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (376)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

The W Sentosa wants to wow customers with their Away Spa. Prices for the packages are sky-high, so were expectations when I went over for my first treatment there. Bottom line: very disappointed.

I arrived after a work-out and wanted a snack or a protein shake. I was offered a small cup of tea and some dried fruit. While the homepage advertises cocktails and snacks, there is nothing available at the gym and spa. I was told to go to the restaurant and allow at least 30 minutes to get anything.

The check-in experience was already unprofessional: While I had booked a deep-tissue massage and asked for a dedicated therapist, there was no note of anything. A quick tour of the facilities unveiled that the steam room was out of order (which was not mentioned the day before when I made my reservation) and the salt water pool just featured some lavender infusion. There is no Finish sauna but a low-temperature infra-red one.

The Away Spa knows exactly what you want and they don't waste any time: I was told to change and lie face down. There is no welcome ritual, no foot bath, no nothing. Choice of music? No. Choice of temperature? No. Choice of pressure? No. Right down to business.

Check-out is equally underwhelming. Feedback doesn't matter. And calling a taxi for you? Not at the W. Why don't you line up with other guests and socialize a bit?

Looking at what the Away Spa is offering and looking at what they are charging, I have only one recommendation: Change the name. Welcome to the Stay Away Spa.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SMK77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Hello SMK77,
Please accept my sincere apologies. It is frustrating to learn about your experience at Away Spa. Spa is a place to provide treatment, let you to completely relax.
Please allow me time for investigation. I have never received a complaint about this in the past, our talents (staffs) are well trained and it is unacceptable if our talents did not even care if the pressure if good for you or temperature in your treatment room. I am sorry if our communication for your massage booking was not clear, I will also remind to my team to remind guest if there is a maintenance works/repair works the day before their booking. I believe with better supervision in this instance we could have prevented much of your dissatisfaction.
Hope you will give us a chance to welcome you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

its a good nive hotel, my only points are the smell of the hall and room is smoke which wasnt nice at all, and the deposit system is loser, they charge u per rppm and per night

the spa is very nice and the service also

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Maisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights during a seminar that was also held in the hotel. Fantastic design, quirky corners that stimulates the senses, excellent food at the 2 restaurants (Kitchen Table and Skirt).

Wide selection at the breakfast buffets, lunch buffet spread was an eclectic mix of seafood, roast meats, sashimi and other local/western staples

Where it falls short is in the area of customer service, which did not reflect what is expected from a top class establishment

Room Tip: The Fabulous Double Room comes with 2 double beds, can accommodate 2 adults + 2 kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tsien W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Hello Tsien W,
Thank you for your comment. It is nice to know you enjoyed your stay here! Glad you tired out the kitchen table and skirt. I will share your comment of customer service with my team and make sure they should keep up the energy and enthusiasm towards guests.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Positive score: 5 star property delivers it's posh design image and landscaping; however a lot of improvements are needed on service and attention to details.

Room: unique design & interesting lightings-checked (lay out a bit boring though)
Swimming pool: cleanliness & temperature-checked (assortment of floats were nice touch)
Room service: food quality& menu-checked; but long wait time and missing cutlery=4star hotel
Breakfast: food options and service attentiveness-checked; food quality=4 star hotel.

Negative score: RED Alert: overly strict on "NO in-room hotel slipper admitted rule" are a bit much (saw at least 4 different hotel guests wearing hotel slippers being rudely turned down by the manager and staffs when there are no sign on dress code). Arguments were loud enough to be heard by other guests; and only yield into rounds of interesting conversation among other guests who didn't even know such rule applied and round of exchange of ideas of how the manager could have handled the situation better, or even prevent this from happening (after all aren't we on vacation?)

So overall, as the hotel is relatively new, it may be able to leverage the "wow smell new" factor and get away with these important details; but it will have tremendous challenge to build strong repeat-customer base with strong competition, especially in Singapore. The hotel needs to train their staffs, especially in providing a good balance of service and rules. The hotel needs to better equip itself to convey the "rules and regulations" if it wants to insist many of them to their customers.

In today's competition these are some common sense expectations from most hotel guests like me. Andrew L Smith

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hello Indra L,
Thank you for your constructive feedbacks. I believe keep doing better is part of our culture in general. I will be watching closing with my B&F team that our duty manager or B&F manager could have managed the situation better. We will consider to put up a sign for the dress code for breakfast venue or guests will be briefed by our welcome desk while check in. We are stepping up related training and supervision to difference level of talents (staffs) accordingly. Again thank you for your feedback.
Look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Ws in a few cities. Decided to tryout W Sentosa for a short break. As expected the rooms and service generally great but let down by a total crush at breakfast. Looks like the are prioritising in house guests In favour of walkins. Result, bring ur rugby gear!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IndoOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hello IndoOne,
Thank you for your comment. I am glad our rooms and service had met your expectations. In regards to your comment of our breakfast area, I am sorry to learn about your experience, please allow me to share with you, “Skirt” our second restaurant has been opened for breakfast since mid of this year, I am sure it makes a difference. Please give us a chance to show you the difference soon.
Look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed at the W Sentosa for a number of days last week of June earlier this year and previously in Dec 2012 over the Christmas season. Really like the fact that it is away from the RWS and the crowd - and the location helps give this hotel a real resort feel. Reminds me of Westin in Macau (away from the casinos and by the sea) except that it is much newer and livelier compared to the tired looking Westin Macau.

We enjoyed the spa and the swimming pool a lot during my stay. Do ask for the buggy service to bring you for a relax tour to nearby super marts for grocery shopping and dining in the vicinity. Have tried staying in the Fabulous room, Away room, and the Marvelous suite. Must say that the Marvelous suite at the corner was amazing and really look forward to my next trip to this hotel in a week's time.

One thing to note though is that the location does not make it easy to get a cab. Will probably need to pre-book in case you have an important appointment to go for (hardly an issue since I am there on vacation but business travellers should take note). The interior design of the hotels including the check-in lobby is the signature W style and suits me very well. Am a big fan of the lovely cocktails too.

Have read the other reviews here on this hotel and I do agree with some of the constructive feedback and hope they can bring the service level to a notch higher.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephaneFabregoul, General Manager at W Singapore Sentosa Cove, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Hello Colin T,
Thank you for comments and loyalty to W hotels! It is great to know you are our repeated guests and you find our pool, rooms and location exactly as you expected, I am glad you enjoyed the surroundings and the little buggy ride. We take guests feedbacks seriously, especially for those constructive feedbacks; we constantly strive to provide better and better personal service and hope to reach higher level as possible.
Look forward to welcoming back again in real soon!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sentosa Island
Hard Rock Hotel Singapore
#9 of 13 in Sentosa Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#34 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Singapore Sentosa Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Singapore Sentosa Cove

Property: W Singapore Sentosa Cove
Address: 21 Ocean Way, Sentosa Island 098374, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Sentosa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Sentosa Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Singapore Sentosa Cove 5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a resort island with sparkling sea views, W Singapore - Sentosa Cove is Asia's new tropical playground and the perfect destination to sip, play and flirt. An oasis of modern luxury for discerning business travellers, vivacious staycationers and sophisticated globetrotters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your W Singapore Sentosa Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing