We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the basics that you need are here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
Ranked #178 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Clean, basic and simple. These are the things a budget traveller like me looks for in a hotel. The location was quiet and accessible. The rooms are small, I am not looking for a big room since I paid a cheap rate anyway. The hotel is near a bus stop, restaurants, a convenient store and the nearest train station is just 10 minutes away by bus. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to those who understand the budget concept of travelling.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KingSevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 136 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014

Room was adequate. 10 min bus ride to nearest MRT. We stayed 2 nights and had 3 more nights booked when we returned to Singapore at end of our holiday. Death of my mother required us to return much earlier than expected and needed to cancel last 3 nights. I asked if we could use one of the paid for nights as we passed through Singapore and if any refund was available. No, no. no. Fragrance hotel management cancellation policy is utterly inflexable. Even with 10 days notice no refund of any sort and no transfer of paid night on our unexpected early return. Knowing that I would never stay at another one their hotels. This is the reason for low rating. Mean and greedy
There are plenty of other hotels in Singapore. Advise do not pay in advance

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Paule S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GlobalPremiumHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Fragrance Hotel - Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Hi Paule, we are sorry to learn the demise of your mother and would like to express my heartfelt condolences to you and your family. To clarify the situation, our Reservations Department had only received a call from our booking partner, Agoda to inform of your situation during the late evening of 14 Mar, which is also the day of your arrival. In order to review your cancellation waiver request, the hotel had requested for the relevant document from you, which we unfortunately did not hear from you or Agoda until this review posting. Nevertheless, we had already contacted Agoda and they are in the midst of notifying you to provide the full refund of your hotel stay.

Thank you for you patience and understanding. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed at Fragrance, Oasis, for 2 nights. For a budget hotel, it was a good. The staff are friendly and helpful.

There were no issues with my booking and the room was as I had booked. Although small and windowless, it was clean. So was the bathroom. The shower head had a good and powerful enough spread of water with consistent water pressure and heat level. Bathroom amenities include toothbrush and toothpaste. Towels were changed daily.

The mattress and pillow were acceptable; no restless, uncomfortable feeling.

Its location is quite strategic; there is a bus stop that’s basically right outside the hotel and the nearest MRT station, Novena, about 1.6km away and accessible from this bus stop. Taxi fare to Changi airport costs us S$13 something. There is a food court called Balestier Market that is almost next door, where you can find a good selection of local food and even Japanese food at very reasonable prices.

For me, the small, windowless room created a cosy feel but, maybe, a claustrophobe might find it unnerving. If you're on a budget and need decent accommodation, a place to just shower and sleep, this hotel will be meet your requirements.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Small room in a not very interesting part of the city; in fact you enter the hotel lobby at street level, but when you get to your room, you realize that the hotel is built in a gulley. So even from our fifth floor we were just even with the street out front but overlooking a parking lot at the bottom of the gulley out back (and across at a an apartment building also built in the gulley). The young staff were friendly and helpful. There is nothing wrong with the hotel, it is just in an area of lighting and home improvement stores; you have to catch a bus to get to anywhere or walk about 20 minutes to the Novena LRT station. There is a Fairprice grocery store just a couple of blocks away that is a good place to pick-up a full range of groceries, and many restaurants in the area full of locals (not a touristy area at all).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Don_G_Wright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed just 1 night as it wasn't too far from the airport, we arrived around 9pm hungry & sleepy but were not disappointed. The gentleman on the front desk was very helpful, we checked in quickly & he then pointed out a few places we should try for food near by.
The room was small, basic but comfy & clean. Very reasonably priced & would definitely recommend.
It took us around 15-20 mins in a taxi the next day to get to the city centre. Taxi's quite cheap in general.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Vicky Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms was lovely and clean (and serviced every day) and although it was quite small it was comfortable enough for two. Staff were friendly and always available. Within walking distance to the Novena MRT station, which was handy as the hotel is quite a way from Chinatown and the Marina. Overall good value and would definitely stay again!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Singapore may not exactly be a cheap place, far from it actually but Fragrance Hotel can be recommended for budget travelers. From friendly reception staff, a pleasant smelling hotel to easy commute around Singapore since it's just beside the bus stop. Our room was tiny, no windows, a/c working, 8 channels on tv, bathroom is small, good only for 2 person. Our room does not include wifi you have to pay for S$5 for it. You get what you pay for I guess.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DD0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
Fragrance Hotel - Pearl
#166 of 317 in Singapore
297 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
Fragrance Hotel - Emerald
#256 of 317 in Singapore
8 reviews
Value Hotel Balestier
#172 of 317 in Singapore
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Value Hotel Thomson
#202 of 317 in Singapore
1,387 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
Fragrance Hotel - Ruby
#130 of 317 in Singapore
837 reviews
Geylang
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
Fragrance Hotel - Crystal
#184 of 317 in Singapore
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fragrance Hotel - Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fragrance Hotel - Oasis

Address: 435 Balestier Road, Singapore 329816, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £32 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fragrance Hotel - Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fragrance Hotel - Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis Singapore
Fragrance Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing