We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“realized that I have never had visited true japanese restaurant before this one” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akanoya

Akanoya
Ranked #1,383 of 10,421 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Orchard Road
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“realized that I have never had visited true japanese restaurant before this one”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent cooking, 'personal chef' for each 8 seats (and interesting show).
Good place to impress your contractor with great food and service in a friendly atmosphere.
Rare chance (in modern globalized world) to try traditional Japanese cuisine outside of Japan.
It is a good idea to book seats in advance.

P.s: quite expensive for a personal visit, Ok for business dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    23
    6
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
267 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Very Very Expensive restaurant for basic foods”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Lots of people love this restaurant and I could just have caught it on a bad night, but for S$466 (£230) for 2 I would have hoped for a lot more.

The restaurant is arranged around 3 large bar type tables with a cooking station in the middle, the foods that can be chosen are displayed in front of the chef, you pick the foods, he cooks them (simply steamed or on the grill), and passes them to you to eat. The waiting staff didn't explain this to us when we sat down so we waited quite awhile to be served. Eventually we asked and were told to point to the items we wanted. We chose some fish, chicken, pork belly, unusual mushrooms, bamboo bud, and some nuts. They were all pleasantly cooked but nothing I couldn't have accomplished at home. The portions are very small so we added some beef and sweetcorn. That with a reasonably priced bottle of wine and one beer came to the S$466 - too much for this sort of food.

One last point, there are no loos in the restaurant, you have to walk into the hotel next door for that - it's not far so just a minor inconvenience.

I'm afraid I won't be going again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
210 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“An unispiring barbecue with poor food hygiene”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Other reviewers have commented on how Akanoya provides an authentic Robatayaki experience and it seems to have all the ingredients - chefs and staff who shout a lot and three grilling stations each in the middle of a horseshoe of diners. Sadly, being genuine doesn't necessarily mean that it's any good...
We went on a Monday night and the place was half empty, so the shouting and histrionics fell a bit flat. And when you cut through all the hype, what you actually get is a not very exciting selection of ingredients to choose from which are then barbecued in front of you. The food was perfectly pleasant, albeit not very memorable, but the resultant bill was in the upper reaches of fine dining territory!
I was also concerned about their approach to food hygiene. The food is prepared right in front of you so you can see everything that goes on. The chef in front of me used a single knife to prepare all the ingredients - fish, shellfish, meat, poultry, vegetables. The knife got wiped on a cloth which was also used to wipe the chopping board. The same cloth was used throughout the evening. Nor did he wash his hands after handling the poultry. Certainly something that would alarm most food hygiene inspectors!
So overall, I would recommend avoiding this place - the food is uninspiring, it's ridiculously expensive and it's got questionable hygiene standards.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SixNineOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Went here with my family. We all like Japanese food and robota style is fun. Feels quite authentic compared with similar places we've been in Tokyo. Food was very good but ordering was a bit confusing as there's no menu, basically, apart from a few extras like fried rice. So you kind of have to inspect what's on offer and decide based on that. Which all adds to the fun.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
123 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good but EXTREMELY expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Very nice restaurant, without a menu, so there is no way to see the prices when you order. The bill was unbelievably high, but the food is good. ONE asparagus was @ 20 USD!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank reneemarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akanoya also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Akanoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing