We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible - supply of food not replenished”
Review of Marriott Cafe

Marriott Cafe
Ranked #103 of 10,939 Restaurants in Singapore
Price range: US$25 - US$100
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Orchard Road
Description: Indulge in the freshest international buffet spread at Marriott Cafe, where our chefs take centre-stage to whip up a perfect culinary storm for you a la minute, bringing the "Freshness Redefined" concept to life. Find the Seafood Station brimming with the freshest selection, before indulging in some piping hot live-pulled noodles. Savour renowned local dishes such as Hainanese Chicken Rice. Visit the hot buffet section for an extensive array of premium meat dishes such as Crispy Pork Saddle with Pancetta Prune and Mixed Herbs, Slow Roasted Prime Ribs and other roasted delights cooked to perfection at the Beech Oven Station. For those with a sweet tooth, our signature Sticky Date Pudding is definitely not to be missed. Buffet items may vary accordingly to the rotating menus.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible - supply of food not replenished”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had Hi Tea. While good quality was acceptable, the supply of food was not replenished or was substituted with poorer choice. Sadly this happened 1 hour into the buffet.

Spoke to manager David who could not offer any explanation.

No wonder patrons piled up their plates with food at the start. Unless you are used to piling up your plate or rushing through your food, this is not a place to enjoy an afternoon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericlohcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SG_Marriott, Manager at Marriott Cafe, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Ericlohcm,

Sincere apologies for the delayed reply. We appreciate the valuable time you have taken to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that your total dining experience did not meet your expectations of us. Please be assured that our guests’ well-being and experience with us are of utmost importance to us, and we are looking into ways to improve on the concerns that you have highlighted in your review.

Once again, we apologise for your unpleasant experience, and sincerely hope to have the opportunity to have you dine at Marriott Cafe again.

Yours Sincerely,
Kolin Kohn
Restaurant Manager
Marriott Cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    182
    68
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Menu of Great Choice, Attentive Service in Relaxed Athmosphere”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just passed by the large outside terrace, coming from the MRT-underground and - as I was seeking a more clement temperature - then entered the inside restaurant, could see the chefs prepare the meals in a very modern kitchen (no smell though!) to find myself in a cosy environment, luxurious but not excessive with clients chatting along in a relaxed manner.
One has a great choice of dishes. I had a very tasty local dish, well presented and nicely served on a banana leaf. I appreciated the very discreet and attentive way I was served by the waiters and waitresses. Warmly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank waldo1236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the marriott hotel and had drinks and a meal on the terrace. The drinks were cold and tasty. A small selection on the menu for food but what we got was very good. My husband had the chicken and I had the fish. It was very tasty and served within 20 mins of ordering. I would recommend it to anyone staying in Singapore. The ambience and service was also very good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank eganmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yes Oh Yes!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My favorite buffet restaurant in Singapore. Splendid spread, excellent taste, warm service.
Been her many times but my last visit on 5/23 was extra special as I had a post-bday dinner with my friend.

As usual, food was excellent. But the staff- MYRNA made it all the more special when she presented us with a cute bday cupcake. That was really such a sweet gesture.

We will definitely be back,

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bluelilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in Singapore to see the world go by!”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My family and i visit the cafe every time we are in Singapore. The Cafe has great food and a fabulous ambiance. One can sit and look at the world go by. The whole feel of the city is experienced while you sit and sip on mimosas!

Very nice and friendly staff! Whether you want just have a coffee or a full meal, they extend the same courtesies and never hurry you up!

A Singapore must do!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PDinodia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marriott Cafe also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Marriott Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing