We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good safe introduction to hawker food”

Makansutra Glutton's Bay
Ranked #27 of 275 Quick Bites in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Neighbourhood: Marina Centre
Description: Surrounded by retro-inspired push-carts and offering a spectacular view of the Marina Bay skyline, this open-air, moon-lit food centre is a hotspot for visitors and the sleepless in Singapore.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

We tend to be cautious diners and have usually avoided eating street food in Asia. Singapore was where we were urged to be braver as the hygiene standards are good and we thought it would be fun to try the experience. Glutton's Bay was buzzing when we arrived at 8pm and we had to hunt down a seat. The fact that it was obviously so popular gave us confidence and we shared a table with some local businessmen. All the stalls were busy.
We both had Hiananese Chicken rice which came as a set for $18 with broth and green veg. The lime juice was a little watery and not as good as the one we had the next day from a less touristy location. But overall this was a great introduction for the street-food timid and we would have gone back a second time if we had been staying longer.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UnaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,040)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

76 - 80 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2018

Standard of food have dropped over the years. It's overpriced and the flavour of the food is not what it used to be. Tried the satay but it was so hard. Hawker centers in the heartland has more selection of food and the prices are so much better. Not going there anymore.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank laksa88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I think this is more of a tourist spot rather than a foodie heaven . The Penang satay Were hard bullets . And I had tummy troubles,after the oyster omelette . But a good location for seeing the light show on the harbour .

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Ewa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

There is a wide selection of food - great variety with BBQ chicken wings, satay, sting ray and more. Great outdoor place but prepare to share tables during peak hrs

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Blahagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Singapore food Hawkers have long been corralled into outdoor eating areas and this one at the water’s edge at Marina Bay is just great. Expect bright lights and a row of food vendors cooking in front of you. Everything from Malay to Chinese and Thai. Life’s made easier by sample dishes and photographs to help you order. Dishes come in small (S$ 5-10), med, large and priced accordingly. Buy your mains from one, veg at another, drinks at a third or split up and surprise each other. Don’t be fooled by the name “black carrot cake” , this is no pud but a fiery egg based veg dish laced with chilli paste.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank LizhLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Makansutra Glutton's Bay also viewed

 

Been to Makansutra Glutton's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing