We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel 81 Rochor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 81 Rochor
Ranked #193 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
1 review
“Very good service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel in May 2014 and was satisifed with the good service. A few names to worth mention are James, John and John Shaikh and one more lady(forgot her name) who were quite helpful with all the queries I had.

- Helpful staff
- Clean rooms
- Good location with close proximity to MRT and Bus stations,

Regards,
Dinesh.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    67
    58
    20
    17
See reviews for
42
48
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Reasonable hotel for a reasonable price by Singapore standards at a central location in Little India . If you are looking for a place to sleep after a busy day of sightseeing, it's ok. Staff are very pleasant, particularly Sheik was very helpful. If you are looking for a room with amenities of North American standards, you need to spend a fair bit more to stay in Marina Bay area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbhathal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

When I was staying at Hotel 81 Rochor with my wife, we were very pleased that John Shaik one of the Recepcionist agent had helped us to explain about the places to visit and he also explained about some tips to do.
I think he needs to get some aplauses from the management.
Eventhough we found a little cokcroach in the room that make my wife screamed, we have found everthing else was great, the location is also only 5 minutes walking distance to MRT station, to Bugis Village, Bugis Junction & even more closer to one of electronic centre Sim Lim Square.

Room Tip: Choose the room that is closer to the lift to make it easier to go in and out anytime. None of room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singapore81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The staff is kind and helpfull especially shaik amd john. The room is clean. Cozy place. Very recomend to stay in here. Near from mrt and easy to find this hotel. Its okay to stay in here with children because its safe.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadyapratiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

First, we would like to say thank you for every single time I came to stay this hotel I always have great times. Friendly hotel staffs are helpfull and they were welcoming us delightly. Especially, Shaik and David who were helping us to prepare triple rooms since we were always travelling with big families. We have been stayed in this hotel 4 times in a year. Strategic place help us a lot for finding food stalls and shopping centre. About 5 - 10 minutes to walk at Bugis MRT station. Just enjoy and have fun here..

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
199 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We spent three nights at Hotel 81 Rochor, and thought that the accommodations were good for a night's rest, but there just isn't much about the room that would compel you to spend anymore time in it.

The rooms are small but clean. The washrooms are "asian style" (no separation between toilet and shower) so things do get wet if you don't strategically aim the water nozzle while showering. The room has a window in it, but unfortunately you can't see outside because the glass is patterned and prevents you from looking out -- this is probably the biggest issue we had with the room because you felt boxed in.

The location is okay -- close to Little India -- but in retrospect, we would've chosen another location such as the Hotel 81 in Chinatown or Bencoolen because these were just a little closer to the "action".

Overall, for the price that you pay for the room, it is a decent value...you just won't want to spend anymore time in there than necessary.

Room Tip: Stay at Hotel 81 Bencoolen or Chinatown...the location for these are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richardsmyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

In little india if you want to spend a nice a quiet time here.
Good and serious stuff. Close to Bugis shopping area where you can go shopping or simply for a nice walk.
Its on the corner of little India, close to the main streets.Recomended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank J.Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#153 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Hotel 81 Selegie
#203 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Hotel 81-Bugis
#234 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#169 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Little India
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
Sandpiper Hotel Singapore
#162 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Hotel 81 - Elegance
#224 of 306 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81 Rochor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81 Rochor

Property: Hotel 81 Rochor
Address: 5 Jalan Besar Ban Hong Leong Building, Singapore 208785, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81 Rochor 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 81 Rochor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81 Rochor Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing