We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I adore this place and the staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Ranked #35 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I adore this place and the staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I have now made it a habit to check-in to this hotel when I am transiting Singapore. The hotel is still new and has a very chic decor. The staff are very keen to assist you and extremely courteous. Overall a satisfied customer.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rtfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,134
    1,506
    302
    88
    69
See reviews for
861
1,385
537
950
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southeast Florida
Level Contributor
175 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Yes, the Hotel was at the airport. Yes the planes made a dull sound you could hear as a whisper from room 830.

Did that matter? Not in the least!

I was hesitant after reading some so-so reviews of this hotel and given it was an airport hotel, would I find it an overly used dump?

Instead my expectations were exceeded beyond measure and now I would stay at this property EVERY time I visit Singapore.

First, the location. It is within a few minutes of ANY gate at ANY terminal of Changi, (Except the budget terminal, sorry folks but there is a shuttle from there to the main terminals sooo) thanks to the Sky Train. You don't leave the air conditioned comfort of the airport, which is a good thing since humidity is off the scale in SG, as is the temperature most days.

The architecture reminds me of the Beijing Olympic stadium known as the Birds Nest. There is an artistic facade fronting the actual building. The lobby is very open and easy to access from the airport entrances (On 2 floors, no less). If the first surprise is the convenience of access, the second is the building hallway construction. I say it's a very green hotel, because all of the rooms are outdoor access facing. Once your elevator leaves the first two floors of the main areas, your in a steam bath until you reach that air conditioned guest room.

The room was airy, spacious, and had a nice spacious marble bathroom with large stand up shower as well as a tub. The bathroom is 3/4 glassed in and has a white roll-down shade to create privacy from the bedroom view. I found the bed comfortable, the room easy to appreciate, and the floor to ceiling glassed wall facing the airport a stunning view. It was hypnotic watching small to supersized planes take off and land from your bed, then close the drapes and privacy is complete. The room was quiet. I said that the planes made a mere whisper. Aside from that, you could not hear your neighbors at all.

The hotels 2nd floor restaurant Azur served a fine buffet breakfast. I was pleased with it's quality every morning.

The hotel gym was large, had updated equipment, and a view of a 3rd floor garden.

Also on the 3rd floor was the pool and Club lounge. The pool was a work of art. It had large planters spaced to create a maze you could float thru as the pool surrounded them. In between these mazes, strategic benches abounded with water jets against your back rest. There was also a separate area of water containment that the pool overflowed into which was the 2nd and 1st floor lobby skylight. You looked up and saw water overhead. That was nice. The club lounge was awesome. It featured comfort, spaciousness, was never crowded, and offered continental breakfast and nightly snacks. All of the staff were supremely helpful. including Rome, who was always on top of his game with Service. Thanks Rome for your consistent service!

Another fantastic attribute was the SMRT, the SG metro that docked in the basement of the airport. From the lobby, you could be on a train to downtown or other areas served in less then 5 minutes, All areas were very accessible for handicapped and elevators were always in service.

The 1st floor had a Chinese restaurant, which we ate in once, but with so many,many economical options for food in SG, we did not eat there again.

My favorite local restaurant was actually an outdoor food court in Bedok, just past the left side of the main food areas, that had the best Mutton Curry rice around. At about 2$, the price was more than right, it was unreal. The beer as well there was without markup, as it was less than supermarket price. We found so many economical food outlets, but none had the simplicity and availability of this one.

A word of caution; If your going to Sentosa island because you think it's still an island, don't bother. It's now more of an amusement park, and the beaches are shrunken, the crowds unreal, and there is a charge to walk there of 1 SGD (Please, why?) I was curious why the Merlion was so huge there and you had to pay to walk on the island and see it, when you could always see the one downtown, but lo and behold, some rich person built a hotel around the downtown Merlion and now you cannot see it at all, which is a shame as it was an attraction free to all. Plus the one in Sentosa doesn't squirt into the water like the downtown one used to.

The entire stay at the Crowne Plaza was terrific. The only issue I had was so minor, it was ridiculous. I expected a nice cookie each night as a Platinum Member and didn't get one. Once I mentioned it to Rome in the Club Lounge, and asked if he could have them serve them the last two nights at turn down time, 5 cookies blasted my door down a few moments later and each of the remaining nights, I had my cookie. As I said, minor, but it was worth mentioning for the service comment :-)

Checkout was painless, but there is a caveat to leaving SG before 6am. I had an early flight, and when I went to the Skytrain to terminal one from terminal three where the hotel was located, it was closed. A shuttle bus runs instead outside the nearest door. Be prepared, as everything else in Changi is huge, the shuttle bus is a micro-bus, which barely holds luggage. This is not a Hotel problem, but if they could pass onto the airport authority that the Shuttle Bus is a joke by being so small, maybe a large one could be offered.

Summary - I have stayed in SG at the Stamford and the Mandarin, While they had location to downtown on their side, their properties are awful compared to the many and desirable things about the Crowne Plaza at Changi. I would recommend it always and plan to stay there myself from this point forward!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Club Room or Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitedNewPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2011

I deceided to use this hotel after a flight cancellation in Singapore. I rang through from the terminal information to ask if a room was available and they said yes. I arrived at reception only to be told that the room wasnow not available. After complaining to the manager a room mysteriously appeared. I was then sold a joint breakfast and internet package. I then spent 30-40 mins onto the tech support trying to get the internet connection up and running with no success. I complained to the manager again who then informed that the internet had a problem in the hotel for the last few days! So why did they not tell me this on arrival! Appology was very poor! This is very unusual for Singapore!

Check out queues also bad with 5-6 deepe and only 2 out of six desks open. Overall poor service.

I took this hotel to save time on going into town but ended up loosing more time in poor service..

I am amazed that a business hotel has such poor Internet! No Wifi in the rooms only cable that did not work!

Room Tip: Take a taxi into town for a good hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2011

We stopped over in this hotel after spending 3 weeks in Nepal, trekking. We have stayed in quite a few crowne plaza's around the world and i thought this one was by far the best. If this hotel was in the city centre it would certainly be an Intercontinental (the 5* class hotels in the IHG chain). The ease of access from the airport is great, with us just having to grab the inter terminal shuttle. Even though it is smack in the middle of the airport the engine noise from the planes is barely noticable.
Although we didnt have time to use any of the facilities (Gym or pool), we did have a look round them and from what we saw they looked good. There is a good selection of fine dining areas and if your not bothered about that and just want to grab something quick then a 5 minute walk into the terminal will get you to the food courts.

Room Tip: Go club level if you have time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireKiwi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We stayed at the Crown Plaza for 1 night on a stop over from Brisbane to London, hotel is located in Terminal 3, so once you clear customs, follow the signs marked crown plaza hotel. Hotel is very clean, tidy and staff are really freindly, if you are Priority Club Gold Member, be sure to ask about the club lounge, as the staff don't offer this unless you ask, it cost SGD 80.00 /night, but includes, Breakfast, all your soft drinks all day, then between 17.30 & 19.30, beers and food, well worth the money. also located at the hotel/airport is the tube station, which is very easy to use and extremely cheap. Overall a perfect place to stop off.

Room Tip: Perfect Stop Off Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robclifford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We were in transit from Langkawi to Riyadh and did not want to stay in the city so decided to stay at the airport. The hotel is only 2 minutes from any terminal by monorail so with young children this was much appreciated. The hotel itself is really cool in design - its corridors and public areas are inside but outside in concept so you really do not feel like you are staying couped up in an airport. The rooms are spacious and the bathrooms really great in size and layout. We ate in the restaurant and it was fabulous - the best truffle mash we've ever had! Steven (GM) and his team went out of their way to make our welcome personal and our stay very comfortable. If you only have a few hours in transit in Singapore this is the place to stay overnight!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_Birkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

We were on transit and the hotel was incredibly convenient especially as we had an early morning flight from Terminal 3. The room was comfortable and clean. The only issue was with the staff at reception. Having grown accustomed to Singaporean efficiency, it was a little disappointing that they kept insisting we did not have breakfast included in the room. We had prepaid for both the room and breakfast and ended up having to raise this on 3 separate occasions with different staff. It was clearly stated in our hotel voucher that breakfast was included. We've had better service at fast food joints. Thankfully, when they attempted to charge us for breakfast on check out, the manager happened to be close by and intervened. Apart from hassles with reception staff, the stay was pleasant and restful. The concierge was helpful with our bags and even transferred them onto an airport trolley.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank platypi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#40 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
#87 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Changi Cove
#111 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Changi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Address: 75 Airport Boulevard | Changi Airport Terminal 3, Singapore 819664, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Changi Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the World's Best Airport Hotel by international travellers in the prestigious Skytrax World Airport Awards for 3 consecutive years (2015, 2016 and 2017), Crowne Plaza Changi Airport's modern architecture combined with hints of nature gives you a glimpse of what to expect in Singapore - a modern garden city. Just steps away from the departure and arrival hall, rejuvenate in the comforts of our calming room or visit our spa for a range of massage treatments. A cutting-edge air-conditioned linkbridge connects the hotel to world-class Changi Airport Terminal 3, with Terminal 1 accessible by SkyTrain and Terminal 2 accessible via a mezzanine link bridge. We are just 10 minutes from Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo and 25 minutes from the city by taxi or MRT. An award-winning airport hotel offering contemporary soundproofed rooms with comfortable beds and spacious modern bathrooms, it is the perfect hotel for a quick stopover between long-haul flights. Crowne Plaza Changi Airport is more a business hotel with a resort ambience. Discover the tropical resort hidden within the hotel with courtyard gardens, a landscaped pool area and peaceful garden views from the Lobby Lounge or al fresco courtyard. Immerse yourself in '70s glamour at bar'75 with intimate nooks for cocktails, dine Cantonese-style at Imperial Treasure or have a buffet of international delights from Azur. Host a tropical garden reception, conference or wedding in our seven meeting rooms and ballroom. Stunning design and the latest technology ensure a successful event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, IHG, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Singapore
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing