We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Ranked #34 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced and disappointed”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ok, first the good: It is easy to find and incredibly convenient to terminal. The rooms are fantastically designed, the “hotel staff” were efficient and the bed was very comfortable. That's where the good ends....

Expect to pay for internet. However, there was no guarantee from front desk that the WIFI would work in the room (and it did not), only wired was guaranteed in room. This is unacceptable in this day of tablets and smart phones. The lobby bar had free internet if you had an IHG member card which I did (or presumably if you bought a drink?). My co-worker could not retrieve her IHG card number from phone unless she had internet which meant she had to either buy internet (to get free internet) or walk out to the terminal to get her IHG card info and then walk back in to use the in free lobby internet. Isn’t there an easier way?

BTW, You can get free Changi Airport WIFI in the airport terminal.

I am so sorry I went to the restaurant. We went to the “very upscale” buffet. The selection looked great, but the freshness of the food was marginal. The price was ridiculously high. I wished I had gone anywhere else. Finally, the wait staff were rude and continued to interrupt even after I asked him to please step back unless we requested assistance.

This is a very fancy hotel but falls short in my final tally. I don't mind spending $300+ USD for a great hotel but in my opinion this one is overpriced for what you get. If you are a newbie to international travel and you want "easy" at any expense, or if you absolutely need to be located at the airport this place could be what you are looking for.

Unless I were pressed for a hotel at the airport, the city is close and easy to get to, I'd recommend staying in town and away from this Crown Plaza. I would only stay here if no other choice and I certainly would not eat dinner here again.

If you can stay inside security at the terminal and you want a clean basic hotel for transit, try the Ambassador Transit Hotel. The Ambassador is not the same high end hotel like Crown, but a great room for a fraction of the cost.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WMLY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear WMLY,

I would like to thank you for your detailed feedback on your experience at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. I appreciate the time taken to let us know how your stay was like.

I am sorry to hear that our buffet spread from Azur Restaurant and service provided by our restaurant staff did not meet your expectations. We are looking into this and would like to invite you to email us at carrie.sim@ihg.com with further details of your experience.

We are constantly striving to provide our guests with better service and facilities and your feedback is absolutely valuable to us.

I have also noted your feedback regarding our internet fees and will ensure that the relevant departments will be forwarded your feedback.

Once again, we would like to thank you for the time taken to share your honest feedback with us on TripAdvisor and hope you will give us a chance to create a better experience for our guests.

Sincerely,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,278 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,245
    1,560
    310
    91
    72
See reviews for
896
1,452
566
985
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (840)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Hotel is good if you have a lengthy stopover as it connected to the airport. The staff a very friendly and extremely helpful (upgraded to a suite free of charge). The rooms are a good size, modern and comfortable. Also good to relax by the pool while waiting for your next flight!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaynebytrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Shaynebytrade,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We strive to provide our guests with the restoration they need to travel for success. I'm very delighted to hear that you were able to benefit from our comfortable rooms, seamless connectivity and proximity to Changi Airport Terminal 3 to rest and relax before your next flight.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stopover in Singapore.

Cheers,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel is very easy to find. We arrived around 10pm and the check in was smooth, efficient and pleasant. Other hotels could learn from the two girls at reception. We went straight to the bar where the complimentary glass of house wine was served immediately. The modern room and bathroom were all that we needed for an overnight stay.
Highly recommended as an overnight hotel if you are on the way to Bintan Island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear winnoSydneyAustralia,

Thank you choosing Crowne Plaza Changi Airport! We really appreciate the time you've taken to write this review on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad you found our our rooms comfortable during your stay with us. As an airport hotel, it is of utmost importance to us that our guests are able to rest and rejuvenate with a good nights sleep before their next flight.

Thank you again for your positive feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Singapore!

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
69 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Best possible score for location, cleanliness, food, and service (with a smile). Rooms are huge and comfortable. Only gripe is the noise from the planes in the morning, but I had requested a high floor with a runway view, so maybe it wasn't as soundproof as I had expected. Pool looked inviting, but I didn't have the chance to use it.

Room Tip: Runway side rooms are noisy in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear tulipjones,

Thank you for your honest feedback on your stay with us at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport.

I'm pleased to hear that you found the hotel gorgeous, clean, rooms were spacious and that service was great. It's amazing to hear from a satisfied guests and we appreciate the time you've taken to share about your experience on TripAdvisor.

I understand that you experienced noise while you stayed in our runway view rooms. Our runway facing rooms do experience a certain level of aircraft noise as compared to our other rooms and I'd recommend requesting for a quiet room on your next stay with us.

If you would like to send us further feedback, do feel free to email us at carrie.sim@ihg.com.

Once again we'd like to thank you for your precious feedback and we will be working hard to present our guests with a better experience.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Hotel is very handy for transit, as it's at terminal 3 with free sky train from other terminals. Friendly, efficient staff. Good size room, with desk, sofa, plenty of bench space for suitcases and large bathroom. You can take an airport trolley on the sky train there and hotel will give you one on check out, if you ask, to go back to airport. Allow plenty of time - Singapore Airport is huge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear milo52,

Thank you for your review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We strive to provide our guests with the restoration they need to travel for success. I'm very delighted to hear that you were able to benefit from our comfortable rooms, seamless connectivity and proximity to Changi Airport Terminal 3 to rest and relax before your flight.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stopover in Singapore.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here because my connecting flight was re-timed to 7am. It was super convenient being right at the airport. The room was large and comfortable and clean. I requested a runway view room and despite the aircraft being just 100 m away there was very little noise. The staff were attentive and offered me a take away breakfast which was ready when I checked out. Internet was provided in the room but not WiFi, LAN cable connection only and I couldn't use it. I'd stay here again, only if I needed to be at the airport early, better priced options in the city. Request a runway view room here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spikeyspikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear spikeyspikey,

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Changi Airport. We appreciate the time you've taken to share your honest feedback on TripAdvisor.

I'm glad that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location and accessibility to get some much needed rest before your connecting flight at 7am. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your runway view room.

Thank you for sharing your feedback on internet access. Your feedback will be sent to the relevant departments and we'll work harder on presenting all our guests with a better stay experience.

We hope to welcome you back again on your next stopover in Singapore.

Best Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I arrived in the middle of the afternoon expecting it to be really difficult to find this hotel (the online airport map suggested I could get easily confused & lost) Well what a surprise, it couldn't have been any easier!

On arriving at the hotel & crossing the 'bridge' I found it a bit awkward navigating my way to the elevator with an airport trolley to go down one level to check-in, to then have to go back in the elevator to the room. The reception team where extremely helpful & informative. When I returned the following week, they remembered my name! Very impressive.

I was lucky to have been ungraded into a suite. Such a lovely, bright & cheery room. Everything you could want was in there with the exception of a bathing suit! I'd left mine behind & was disappointed I couldn't go for a dip to loosen the muscles after such a long flight.

When I returned the following week, I was impressed with the reception team remembering my name but not so with their Bar'75. Just as I was about to order a snack some rather in-appropriate music came blaring through the speakers. Now, I'm not easily offended but the swearing & suggestions made in a couple of tracks made me blush! The waiter didn't seem to care when I mentioned it to him (I was the only guest in the bar). I simply finished my drink & left. No wonder the bar was empty if that's the kind of music they play!.

But, that won't stop me from returning later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sproutie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SINCP, Public Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Changi Airport, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear sproutie07,

Thank you for your balanced and honest review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport!

I'm pleased to hear that you had an easy time getting to the hotel from the airport and enjoyed your suite! It is a pity you were unable to have a dip in our outdoor landscaped pool. We hope you'll have the opportunity to stay with us again and enjoy the pool.

We're always trying to improve on our guest experience and I'd like to apologise that the music at bar '75 was not in great taste. I'd like to invite you to email carrie.sim@ihg.com with more details of your experience at the bar. We'll definitely like to look into the music at the bar and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Carrie Sim
Marketing Communications Executive
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#44 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Changi Cove Singapore
#107 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Changi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Address: 75 Airport Boulevard | Changi Airport Terminal 3, Singapore 819664, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#34 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Changi Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the World's Best Airport Hotel by international travellers in the prestigious Skytrax World Airport Awards for 3 consecutive years (2015, 2016 and 2017), Crowne Plaza Changi Airport's modern architecture combined with hints of nature gives you a glimpse of what to expect in Singapore - a modern garden city. Just steps away from the departure and arrival hall, rejuvenate in the comforts of our calming room or visit our spa for a range of massage treatments. A cutting-edge air-conditioned linkbridge connects the hotel to world-class Changi Airport Terminal 3, with Terminal 1 accessible by SkyTrain and Terminal 2 accessible via a mezzanine link bridge. We are just 10 minutes from Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo and 25 minutes from the city by taxi or MRT. An award-winning airport hotel offering contemporary soundproofed rooms with comfortable beds and spacious modern bathrooms, it is the perfect hotel for a quick stopover between long-haul flights. Crowne Plaza Changi Airport is more a business hotel with a resort ambience. Discover the tropical resort hidden within the hotel with courtyard gardens, a landscaped pool area and peaceful garden views from the Lobby Lounge or al fresco courtyard. Immerse yourself in '70s glamour at bar'75 with intimate nooks for cocktails, dine Cantonese-style at Imperial Treasure or have a buffet of international delights from Azur. Host a tropical garden reception, conference or wedding in our seven meeting rooms and ballroom. Stunning design and the latest technology ensure a successful event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Singapore
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing