We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CIA's best kept secret in Singapore...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Ranked #35 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“CIA's best kept secret in Singapore...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

CIA’s Best kept Secret!

MY stay at Crowne Plaza Hotel in Changi International Airport's (CIA) Terminal 3 was really nice and relaxing. This place has an ambience of peace and tranquility enhanced by the Balinese style fountains, water features and shocking red Anthurum flowers along the corridors to the rooms. The Fitness Center and 30m long swimming pool with lap and resort pool features is just splendid, and perfect for relaxation or a serious work out. All modern exercise machines in the Gym will get your muscles toned and trim. Lush foliage including yam plants with gigantic arrow head leaves makes you feel like you are in a tropical rainforest. It reminded me of the lush Brunei jungle, familier to many who went there during National Service for jungle training. Right next to the pool is the posh Club Lounge where complimentary canapes and cocktails are served in the evening, and also breakfast too. Try the Spa too for a massage or perhaps lavender skin scrub treatment. Being The Travelling Gourmet, I have to confess that I love the Azur restaurant with its azure coloured rectangular tiles on the pillars and on the walls of the 2 show kitchens. Cheerful Executive Chef Eric Neo's lunch and dinner buffet of local and international cuisine in Azur is excellent, with even live prawns served in true blue Cantonese "Drunken" style intoxicated with Brandy. Chef Eric is also the manager of Singapore's culinary team for international epicurean competitions. Needless to say, fresh oysters and crayfish are but some of the yummy goodies to taste for your hors’ d’oeuvres. There is also a pasta station and daily carvery item of roast beef with all the trimmings for example. With the sweet treats of fresh fruits, mini macarons and French pastries there is Haagen-Dazs ice cream with yum yum toppings! Rooms are spacious with a see through glass wall between the bathroom, bathtub and the bedroom, a feature that must surely be a hit with those of a romantic inclination! If you arrive in Singapore and are staying in this hotel, their Concierge has a special pass to meet and greet you INSIDE the airport and bring you straight through in to the hotel like a VIP. Also there is great shopping with NO GST in the Terminal 3 shops just a hop, skip and jump away. I like Candy Empire where there is everything to satisfy those with a sweet tooth. This place is perfect for relaxing and unwinding...like a secret hideaway oasis with no desert. Relax and enjoy....{:-)By Dr. Michael Lim The Travelling Gourmet, a well known Travel, Food & Wine Writer/Editor.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTravellingGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,134
    1,506
    302
    88
    69
See reviews for
861
1,385
537
950
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2009

After clearing Customs, we retrieved our luggage & went down to the lift for one floor up. Then took a left out the elevator towards Burger King. From there took the train to Terminal 3. Boom! Right there! We had the afternoon to explore Singapore & left very early out Terminal 3 the next morn which was about 2 min walk over. Perfect. Hotel was no 5 star but it was really nice & comfortable. Staff was terrific. A great location & thanks to TA, we made a great choice for a crazy early United flight home!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sassypants01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAKARTA
Level Contributor
171 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

I just had a one night transit at the Crown Plaza Changi. Basically just want a place to sleep before my flight early next morning.


Arriving

The hotel is conveniently connected to Terminal 3 via a covered walkway. Can basically push the baggage trolley directly to the hotel reception area after clearing immiration and customs. Check-in wasn't very fast with a bit of waiting because I asked for a quiet room. I was assigned to a room away from the runway since I asked for a quiet room.


The Room

First thing first, this hotel is more like a 4star than a 5-star. The room quality and furnishing reflects that. It's more IKEA style than luxurious. The decorative panels uses cheap wood. The flooring in the bathroom are tiles instead of marble. The glass panel walls on the bathroom has a cheesy orchid pattern on it. Regardless, the room is clean and functional. There's a bed, a good size working desk with ample power plugs to charge your stuff, LCD TV on the wall, a nice soaking tub ( but a bit small ), and rainforest shower with good water pressure. The room design adopts a open concept bathroom and you can "see thru" from the room to the bathroom. Privacy blinds are available in the bathroom if needed. An iPod station is conveniently provided for guests to hook up their iPods.

The room does comes with some annoying aspects. The light switches are hidden and there are many. There's no master switch to just turn off every light in the room. Lights have to be turned off individually and some of the switches are well hidden. There's no closet or cupboard, only a small area to hang your jacket. The airconditioning was very cold, blowing near freezing air directly into the bed and the provided thermostat was useless. In the end, I just switched it off. Probably a technician from the hotel could have fixed the problem but it was late at night so I didn't bother to call. It doesn't get too warm at night anyway. The bed mattress is quite hard and not exactly comfortable for me.

No complimentary mineral water provided at all. The only bottle of water provided in the room cost a ridiculous S$12/= a bottle. Fortunately, I took a few bottles from the airplane before I disembarked. For the room rate this hotel charges, it's kind of stingy. The view looking out to the changi airport tower was quite nice but due to the wierd design facade of the hotel, it was covered in metal grids. So it's as good as no view.


Service

I didn't ask for any service since it's only a one night transit. So can't comment much. There doesn't seem to be much staff at the hotel anyway. There are some cutting corners going on. Door key was just a card, without even a key holder which is the usual practise. When I checked out, the bill was given to me stapled instead of in an envelope which is the usual practice, a first for me. I had to request one. Perhaps the hotel is trying to save on envelopes?




Conclusion

For the price I paid at S$250/= just to stay one night, on hindsight, it's a lot to pay for the convenience and not a very good value. Perhaps a short 20 mins taxi ride to Marina bay will have landed me at a better hotel with better rooms at similar room rates. Overall, as a transit hotel, the crown Plaza Changi does delivers the basics, which is a good shower and a good night sleep but just don't expect much.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BENLEE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

Great room at a greater price!

The deluxe room was huge, the concept design is great, though i agree that the bed is too firm but still comfy.

The aircon blows in certain diirections and if you are sleeping on a particular side, it can get quite cold. It's a pity that you still need to pay for parking at $17.66 per day.

BUT, it doesn't matter as the duty manager, christine, has ensured that all my requests were met before we even arrive ie extra pillows, extra towels, room facing the runway which is not that noisy and my young son enjoyed the view of planes landing and taking off! (unless you're a light sleeper)..

Really enjoyed my stay and definitely value for money....will come back again to stay!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mum2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

We only stayed for one night en route from Vietnam back home to Perth and couldn't have picked a better hotel to finish off our short holiday. The location is actually next to Terminal 3 and you can catch a lift to lobby level. The scent of the hotel as we entered was refreshing and we new straightaway that we were in for a treat. At reception we were offerred an upgrade to Club status for a nominal fee. We accepted as the evening cocktails and snacks were about to start. A late checkout untill 3.30pm wasa arranged free of charge which was excellent as we were able to go into Orchard road for some shopping and return in time to have a shower and change for our 5.45pm flight. You get a plastic card which is used to mobilise the lift, get into the room and access the Club Lounge. The service by all staff was exceptionally attentive without going over the top. Nothing was too much trouble. The Club lounge had a great selection of drinks and snacks and the layout very comfortable and modern. The room we had was very comfortable and furnished in a modern manner and the bed was to die for, especially after just staying in a basic room in Vietnam. The hotel is concious of saving power with outside corridors which are not air-condtioned and natural light in the lobby instead of lighting using power. All in all a great 24 hours in a luxury hotel with exceptional service.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warnerbros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

The Crowne Plaza at Changi Airport provides a conveniently located smaller hotel suitably insulated for an airport hotel. The rooms are fresh and new and wonderfully laid out. The service is great and the food of a high quality. I would happily stop here on future visits to Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrientLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Firstly the good things - it is a newly built hotel with wonderful services and architecture. Rooms are large and with great facilities, the hotel is conveniently located.
The pool area is beautiful.

The downsides were:
1. Small ants on the floor of the room and bathroom;
2. The tiled floor was not exactly very clean - they way one would expect it to be in a Crowne Plaza:
3. I was NOT! greeted at the reception. In fact the lady at the reception did not even look up at me while I was standing there at the counter for couple of minutes. Very disappointing after long travels.
4. The hotel bar and restaurant were fairly deserted.
5. The internet (broadband) is slightly tricky and the reception failed to explain twice what must be done and how the charges are calculated. In fact the reception had attitude problems.
6. I also found the colour scheme in the decoration too dark, in fact it is nearly black with some patterns on it. I personally prefer lighter environments.

I would still recommend this hotel for a stay between long haul flights, however, it is not exactly great value for money and I was bothered by the ants and lack of cleanliness. However, I was too tired to change the room and make a fuss about it.

Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Madam888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#40 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
#87 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Changi Cove
#111 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Changi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Address: 75 Airport Boulevard | Changi Airport Terminal 3, Singapore 819664, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#19 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Changi Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the World's Best Airport Hotel by international travellers in the prestigious Skytrax World Airport Awards for 3 consecutive years (2015, 2016 and 2017), Crowne Plaza Changi Airport's modern architecture combined with hints of nature gives you a glimpse of what to expect in Singapore - a modern garden city. Just steps away from the departure and arrival hall, rejuvenate in the comforts of our calming room or visit our spa for a range of massage treatments. A cutting-edge air-conditioned linkbridge connects the hotel to world-class Changi Airport Terminal 3, with Terminal 1 accessible by SkyTrain and Terminal 2 accessible via a mezzanine link bridge. We are just 10 minutes from Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo and 25 minutes from the city by taxi or MRT. An award-winning airport hotel offering contemporary soundproofed rooms with comfortable beds and spacious modern bathrooms, it is the perfect hotel for a quick stopover between long-haul flights. Crowne Plaza Changi Airport is more a business hotel with a resort ambience. Discover the tropical resort hidden within the hotel with courtyard gardens, a landscaped pool area and peaceful garden views from the Lobby Lounge or al fresco courtyard. Immerse yourself in '70s glamour at bar'75 with intimate nooks for cocktails, dine Cantonese-style at Imperial Treasure or have a buffet of international delights from Azur. Host a tropical garden reception, conference or wedding in our seven meeting rooms and ballroom. Stunning design and the latest technology ensure a successful event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Southall Travel, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Singapore
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing