We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotels in Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Ranked #35 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 February 2010

I have stayed in Crowne Plaza twice now and I’m a bit puzzled by the review on Tripadvisor complaining about the airport noise. First time I could not hear a hiss in my room. This time I probably heard one plain taking off. My door was facing the runway so obviously the doors are the weakest point. It the reviews complaining the noise are about the noise one can hears in the open air corridors of the hotel that I can understand. Crowne Plaza is the best airport hotel where I have ever stayed in – and is as well one of the best hotels in Singapore.

Location

Next to Terminal 3 and right next to the Skytrain Crowne Plaza is ideally located which ever terminal (T1, T2 or T3) you arrive in or leave from. Skytrain whisks you between terminals in a matter of minutes.

Hotel building

The building is architecturally interesting but at the same time very well functioning. There are nine floors and once you exit the elevator you are in an open air corridor. Rooms are in “shafts” rising from the pool level (level 3). In one shaft there are two or more rooms. The shafts are linked to each other by these open air corridors or bridges. The external cladding is interesting as well: a mesh surrounding the building resembles either twisted propellers of frangipani flowers which eve way you want to look at them. During daylight hours the mesh reflects shadows in your room making it an interesting play of lights and shadows inside the room. The first time I stayed in Crowne Plaza the building had just been opened and already then I wondered how the external mesh could withstand the tropical heat and humidity. A year later and it can be seen that it doesn’t do it well. Some of the flower petals have already been broken and instead of brilliant white some are already growing moss. However this has nothing to do with the hotel interior or the service.

Room

I booked an Executive Club Room but was upgraded to a Suite room (as a courtesy to a returning customer). The room was huge: big living room, bed room with a walk in closet and a huge bathroom. In standard rooms the trick is the glass bathroom with frangipani flowers covering it. Suite room was much more saddle but equally interesting. All walls were covered with light wood panels giving the room both Scandinavian (and I’m not talking about Ikea here) and modernized 50’s look and feel. In Suite room the trick was how the designed had played with mirrors. When you closed the sliding doors between living room and bedroom, and if you did not know, it was hard to tell that there are more rooms. The same applies to the sliding door between bed room and bathroom.

Pool

Even though the swimming pool is rather shallow it’s one of the most interesting pools I have seen. You can swim between the huge planters housing palm trees. Now that the palm trees and other plants have grown it’s like swimming in a jungle river. There are two whirl pools between the planters – yet again finding those is obviously a planned trick. From pool level you can see down to the lobby level through glass bottom “water feature” extending the whole length of the pool.

As a summary:

Crowne Plaza Changi is the best airport hotel I have ever stayed at. And definitely more interesting as a building than an average hotel anywhere. I have stayed in at numerous Singapore hotels and I have not yet found one that matches Crowne Plaza. The MRT is located under the hotel hence the city it’s within easy access as well. The hotel could therefore be used as base for more than one night’s stay for exploring Singapore.

  • Stayed: January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Timo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,905 - 3,911 of 4,715 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2010

We stayed in Crowne Plaza at Changi Airport for a night on our way from Auckland to Bali in Jan 2010. Crowne Plaza Changi is an excellent airport hotel with spacious and modern, comfortable rooms. We stayed at a room not overlooking the tarmac and did not have any problems with noise whatsoever. The hotel is easy Access from terminal 3, and of coursw all ter 3 terminals are connected by a free short skytrin ride.
We experienced the Crowne Plaza to have exceptionally kind and helpful staff and excellent service. Overall, The crowne Plaza Changi was a pleasant stopover surprise .

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Apart from the absolutely rip off prices for the mini bar, I have nothing negative to say about this hotel.
Obviously as it is above the airport buildings, it is well situated for accommodating air travelers and if you are a plane spotter you get a perfect view of the runways and planes landing and taking off.
I did not find there was any aircraft noise that was unduly irritating.
MRT was very close by and a very easy walk to the hotel with trolleys and bags.
The bathroom is in a glass cubicle in the bedroom and had a shower, bath, sink and wc.
There is a large safe in the room and windows are fixed closed so the air-conditioning was on all the time due to the heat.
The room I stayed was accessed off an outdoor communal corridor and it was immaculately made up, as was the bathroom.
Room and furnishings were a very contemporary design.
The foyer is large and somewhat impersonal and there is a large bar area, that because so many people are waiting with luggage is reminiscent of an airport lounge, but then I suppose that’s what it is really.
Arriving by taxi, was an interesting experience as the taxi had 3 attempts driving past the entrance which is on one side of a dual carriageway, before she found the actual entrance to the hotel. The slip road to the hotel is about 200-300 or so metres before the building, which is a very obvious structure with the multi coloured sculptural panels all around it
All in all an OK experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LezGoLezGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2010

If you transit via Singapore you should STAY at Crowne Plaza Changi.
I booked a club room, been upgraded to suite club room... WOW!
The lounge is NICE, drinks and food GREAT and staff... WOW!
Polite, eficient, helpfull. More then i expected.
I loved my first 2 nights stay on my way to BKK that i stayed again on my way back. Then i left to Jakarta and Bali. When i came back from Bali on my way to Tokyo i booked there again!
When a problem occured with my internet check-in with United Airline they took care of everything. Been contacted by UAL customer service director and been transfer to Singapore Airline flight!!! By the way... SIA has a check-in counter in the Hotel lobby! The concierge was very helpfull with stuff that i had to ship in Canada... he tooke care of everthing.
Get out the plane get in your room.
Get out your room with no lugguage and get in the plane!

Great!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichelAlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed here on a stop over from Europe. We were exhausted upon arrival and decidied to book in to get some rest. The pool area is great- perfect for refresh and relax. Our room was a twin room - great big size, huge bathroom, lots of space for cases and amentities area, very very very conmfortable beds, room service was fantastic when so tired and staff friendly and courteous. Don't bother waiting for tranist lounges etc....this is a great place and well worth it....

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristyA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Traveling from the east coast of the USA on United means arriving in Singapore past midnight. After flying for most of a day, priorities were shower and sleep. Twenty-five minutes after leaving the plane, I was walking into my room at the Crowne Plaza Changi. It is located in Terminal 3 (where United arrives) and only a couple of minutes walk from the arrival hall. Modern design that still looks new, it is a good solution if one does want to make the approx 30 minute ride into the city (plus there are taxi surcharges past midnight) when arriving late night/early morning and a bit cheaper than paying for a downtown hotel for only a partial night stay. Clean room, good service, and allows one to leisurely get going around the check out time (If one is a Priority Club Rewards member, there were complimentary bottles of water in the room plus late check out until 2pm - Usually noon).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelerVA51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

The Crowne Plaza is accessible from the airport by the free skytrains. The room we had was fantastic. Huge bedroom, huge bathroom, a very comfortable bed and very clean. We had both the buffet dinner and buffet breakfast in Azura restaurant and there was a huge selection each time. Drinks were very expensive though. The cheapest glass of wine was $16 and there was only and about 1 1/2 inches in bottom of glass. While the hotel is out of the hub of the city, you can catch the MRT very cheaply, which will take you anywhere you want to go. Buy a tourist pass for the day for Singapore $8 (Unfortunately not available from MRT station at airport). You have unlimited travel for the day on all trains and buses. Staff at the hotel were all very polite.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Capri by Fraser Changi City
#49 of 317 in Singapore
1,357 reviews
Park Avenue Changi Hotel
#90 of 317 in Singapore
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Changi Cove Singapore
#98 of 317 in Singapore
345 reviews
InterContinental Singapore
#7 of 317 in Singapore
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Changi Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Changi Airport

Address: 75 Airport Boulevard | Changi Airport Terminal 3, Singapore 819664, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Singapore
#15 Business Hotel in Singapore
#16 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#18 Spa Hotel in Singapore
#35 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £127 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Changi Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 563
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted the World's Best Airport Hotel by international travellers in the prestigious Skytrax World Airport Awards for 3 consecutive years (2015, 2016 and 2017), Crowne Plaza Changi Airport's modern architecture combined with hints of nature gives you a glimpse of what to expect in Singapore - a modern garden city. Just steps away from the departure and arrival hall, rejuvenate in the comforts of our calming room or visit our spa for a range of massage treatments. A cutting-edge air-conditioned linkbridge connects the hotel to world-class Changi Airport Terminal 3, with Terminal 1 accessible by SkyTrain and Terminal 2 accessible via a mezzanine link bridge. We are just 10 minutes from Changi Business Park, Singapore Expo and 25 minutes from the city by taxi or MRT. An award-winning airport hotel offering contemporary soundproofed rooms with comfortable beds and spacious modern bathrooms, it is the perfect hotel for a quick stopover between long-haul flights. Crowne Plaza Changi Airport is more a business hotel with a resort ambience. Discover the tropical resort hidden within the hotel with courtyard gardens, a landscaped pool area and peaceful garden views from the Lobby Lounge or al fresco courtyard. Immerse yourself in '70s glamour at bar'75 with intimate nooks for cocktails, dine Cantonese-style at Imperial Treasure or have a buffet of international delights from Azur. Host a tropical garden reception, conference or wedding in our seven meeting rooms and ballroom. Stunning design and the latest technology ensure a successful event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Changi Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Singapore
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing