We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a funky room with a view”
Review of Hotel Re!

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Re!
Ranked #146 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Clean, friendly and well situated, overlooking a large green space, unusual for Singapore, minutes walk from the MRT transport system and has a shuttle bus to and from. The rooms are modern, everything works properly, there is free fast wireless internet and a plasma tv. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scratchitoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

633 - 639 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2009

We chose Hotel Re! based on the excellent reviews posted earlier. We are so glad we stayed @ Re! for the following reasons: 1) Booking office accommodated our request for rebooking to get a lower rate, no questions asked. 2) Upon arrival, I reminded the receptionist that we wanted a double bed. She put us in a deluxe room, with bathtub, @ no extra cost. 3) Toiletries provided are L'Occitane, an expensive brand. 4) The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were fluffy. 5) Wi-fi is free and fast. 6) The TV is LCD, though there are just a few English channels. 7) Local calls are free. 8) They have free shuttle buses to specific points within the area (Outram MRT station, Clarke Quay, etc.). 9) The hotel is just a 5-minute walk to the Outram MRT station. Though it is near a busy road, the noise did not reach our room on the 6th floor. We were able to sleep soundly at night. 10) The lift is spacious and clean. 11) The lobby and other decors are funky. 12) You can borrow umbrellas in case there is rain. They lent us one on our first day when it rained hard.

One minor blemish is that the restaurant does not operate 24 hours. We almost did not make it when we went for a late dinner at 10 PM. They still accommodated us though. Another complaint is that our bath robes were not replaced daily. You have to explicitly put the robes on the tub to remind the housekeeping staff that you want the towels and robes replaced. Once, we forgot to do so because we were in a hurry to go out. We left our robe on the bed. When we got back, we found the same robe folded on our bed.

However, these are just small issues that can be easily attended to by the hotel, should their attention be called. Overall, we had a fantastic time and would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabbychicmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We absolutely loved the hotel. It's trendy, retro and stylish. The hotel is on top of a big hill, which I belive is apart of a Park, which makes it even more beautiful. The hotel opened in May of 2008 I believe, and used to be a school for children - like a private school, so the rooms are smaller. But the hotel and rooms were very clean and they provided all the tolletries. The bed and pillows were super comfy. The service was great, they were all very nice. And the shuttle was a plus. They were kind enough to hold a couple of our luggages as we wanted to travel to Kuala Lumpur, and then pick them back up on our way to the airport. Stay here and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrequentFlyer_CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Our family of 4 stayed at the Hotel Re for 3 nights in February. Though there were no interconnecting rooms available so we had 2 rooms next door to each other. Yes, the rooms are small, (shoe boxes really) and yes our rooms were yellow with fushia cupboards and gold tiles in the bath room - but this was more than made up for by the cleanliness of the room and the friendly service from all the staff especially the concierge. Location wise the nearest MRT station is just at the bottom of the hill and a short walk away - one stop away from the cable cars to Sentosa Island! Chinatown is a short walk away too and the river and Clarke Quay only a 10 minute walk as well. But let's face it taxis are cheap in Singapore and the trains are air conditioned, clean and on time - the location was not an issue for us. We often visit Singapore as a close family member lives there and we would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Re again!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank em_be53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2009

Sensational hotel. Loved every minute we stayed there. The decor is awesome, the staff friendly...

I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pevans182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2009

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnor27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

Booking was made online so I wasn't sure what to expect. My only impressions of Re were from photos and reviews on the Net.

Wasn't too hard to locate (most taxi drivers know the area but not the exact location of the hotel since its was still quite new). The location might not seem the greatest but you can take short walk by the park to get to Outram MRT.

Check-in went pretty smooth and they gave me an upgrade (superior to deluxe) when my preferred room wasn't available but they offered to change my room again as soon as one was. Room was still quite small, but clean and comfortable. Like the entire hotel, the room design was interesting and I didn't mind the bright colours and silhouette art on the wall.

Service was good during my stay. Everyone was friendly and showed no reluctance in my requests. Housekeeping did a good job, room service was quick and the guy at concierge even got the shuttle bus to send me to Cineleisure when a cab was not available although generally, calling up a cab is not a problem - usually just a 5 min wait. My favourite though was the bartender - friendly guy, made good conversation while I waited at the bar for friends and did his job very well. I forgot his name but thumbs up to him.

The cafe/restaurant didn't seem to be operational all the time and I was also informed that spa services were only available through bookings. Neither mattered to me though. Only drawback was that I found the price a bit steep. Re does not provide as many facilities as other hotels for that price, but I liked that fact that it was new, things were clean and the staff effective.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgarces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
hotel clover 33 Jalan Sultan
#147 of 317 in Singapore
209 reviews
Hotel YAN
#61 of 317 in Singapore
455 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 317 in Singapore
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
The Sultan
The Sultan
#175 of 317 in Singapore
303 reviews
Naumi Liora
#105 of 317 in Singapore
946 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#137 of 317 in Singapore
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Re!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Re!

Address: 175A Chin Swee Road, Singapore 169879, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £65 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Re! 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you step into Hotel Re!, a modern retro themed boutique hotel, you are lost in swirls of vivacious colours and psychedelic furnishings tempered with a sleek modern touch. With numerous themed boutique hotels in the metropolis, this 12-storey, 140-room boutique hotel is a wondrous surprise waiting to be discovered. All guestrooms in this boutique hotel are furnished with retro inspired furniture and complimented with ultra modern technologyfor that for that unique Hotel Re! touch. Each floor in this boutique hotel has its own colour theme and all the rooms on the floor resonates with the designated colour and decor. Glittery mosaic-tiled bathrooms in all rooms are the finishing flourish to our distinctive boutique hotel is offering. Situated at the base of Pearl's Hill, along Chin Swee Road, Hotel Re! encloses guests in a serene and and scenic environment whilst being just a stone's throw away from attractions like Chinatown, Clarke Quay and the famous shopping district, Orchard Road. Major tourist attractions in the city are easily accessible from the hotel's convenient location to allowing guests to move around the city at their own leisure pace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Re! reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Re Hotel Singapore
Hotel Re! Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing