We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome”
Review of Lotus at Joo Chiat

Lotus at Joo Chiat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lotus at Joo Chiat
Ranked #125 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I spent one week in the 4 bedroom suite with my colleagues for a business trip. It is a well-maintained heritage building. The suite is clean and spacious, you can find anything you need there, give you a homely feel.
There will be a welcome hamper on your dining table with some sort of biscuit, coffee/tea sachet, noodle cup and etc. Toiletries also provided, but unlike hotel, they won't provide room service everyday. So you might not get refill on it.
Breakfast is very simple, just toast and drinks. But the staff is nice and polite, except for the security guard. Car park provided, but if you don drive, you can also take LRT which the station is 10 minutes walking distance. Ask for the map from their staff, it is quite useful.
The room is not cheap, you may find yourself a hotel rather than Lotus Joo Chiat if you only stay for a couple days. Overall, I would said that it will be great for longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stef_nsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
1
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed over 2 months at this place and we are very pleased with the staff and the accommodation. Great place for kids and its a friendly community with a lot of people making it their long stay residence for over 5 years. The office staff were particularly fantastic meeting our needs and prompt with any breakdown. Its got shops for food just outside and bus service to the nearby MRT. I would really recommend anyone to stay here and we miss the place after moving out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prakash28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2013

My family and I stayed at the Lotus at Joo Chiat for nearly the whole of 2012 and we loved every minute of it! The heritage buildings are well maintained and our 3 bed apartment was spacious and very well serviced. The pool is just right for the condo and the local joo-chiat area is vibrant with plenty of great food restaurants and entertainment. Excellent accommodation within a stones throw of the beach and the city, I thoroughly reccommend Lotus at Joo Chiat for short or long stay. My sincere thanks to Robin, Pamela, Rhea, Mr Teo - Love your work and look forward to seeing you guys in the not too distant future - I miss the pool!

Oliver Looker

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
156 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We are locals, but needed a place to stay for 2 months and when we first found out there was a serviced apartment in Joo Chiat, it was with reluctance that we went to view it. Joo Chiat is known to the locals for its abundant food, but also notoriously renowned for its lack of parking spaces, the narrow roads with cars parked on both sides, and at the moment, has quite a few spots of construction, including one directly opposite Lotus. It is also a rather busy place, especially so at night, as the locals descend upon the food places here.

But Lotus turned out to be a pleasant surprise and it literally feels like you have stepped into an oasis as you enter the gates. One minute you are standing on a busy road where you have Fei Fei Wantan Mee and cars and trucks whizzing by and construction happening at the same time, and the next minute, you are standing in a perfect, tranquil, quiet courtyard with a small but welcoming swimming pool, deck chairs and some lovely peranakan styled apartments and shophouses. Every guest that we have had remarks on how unbelievably quiet this place is given the noise levels on the outside.

If you are worried about the construction, fear not. The sound somehow does not penetrate the oasis much and even if it bothers you, closing the windows cuts off most of the sound.

Facilities and apartment - there is a small gym but decently equipped, a swimming pool and a small breakfast area. Beautifully maintained courtyard where the kids can play. The apartments are spacious, very well ventilated, and equipped with the usual cutlery, toaster, rice cooker, microwave oven, oven, washing machine and dryer. It surprisingly did not include a dishwasher but that was ok for us.

Location - for those who do not drive, this is a little off the main roads, but there are public buses available. If you take a 5 minute walk down to Still Road which is the main road, there will be a lot more transportation choices.

Food - if you want to try local fanfare, this is the ideal location to stay! Without fighting for car parks in Joo Chiat, you can literally walk down the road, and try many of Singapore's famous eating places. You have wonton mee, kuay teow, peranakan food, glutinous rice dumplings, duck rice, chicken rice, fishball noodle, steamboat, vietnamese, seafood, dessert places - all within walking distances and all of superior quality.

Breakfast is included and while its very simple food (toast, coffee, tea, cereal), it is still convenient for those who need to grab and go and eating next to lovely koi fish makes it a great start to the day.

We simply loved staying here mostly because of the staff. Every single one of them, from the reception staff to maintenance crew to cleaning help, smiles and greets you every day. Nothing is too much trouble. If there were problems - for e.g our wireless was down for a little bit and we had a leaky tap - it was fixed immediately and with a smile. All the staff knew every guest. I have not even once mentioned which apartment i stayed in to any of the staff, and they would appear on my doorstep with the item requested.

Simply lovely and highly recommended especially if you have a large family and would like a serviced apartment styled accommodation while you visit Singapore. Better still if you are a local foodie! We miss this place after staying there for 2 months!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carrotnose_snowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We are just completing a week's stay at Lotus Sanctuary, in a 4 bedroom apartment. This is such a great spot. Excellent service, high security, friendly atmosphere and only a few minutes to the heart of the city. And if food is your thing, you have come to the right spot. Loo Chiat is the home of the famous Paranakan food, all with a minute or two's stroll.
Spacious, air conditioned, fully equipped, super clean. Not cheap, but worth the expense.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I lived at Lotus for nearly six years, in three different types of apartments.

I stayed in the fully serviced apartments twice, for a month at a time. I lived at a shophouse for about three and a half years, and a penthouse apartment for 20 months.

Overall, it is a great place to stay, short or long term. It is a good local/neighbourhood location, away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD and Orchard areas. Joo Chiat is a unique neighbourhood that is slowly gentrifying, with a wide array of eating and entertainment choices.

Lotus has a friendly character, and the staff friendly and helpful - even the grumpy uncle security guard.

Plenty of parking, and good access to the airport, ECP, PIE and Nicoll to get to the city.

The food place across the road - Fei Fei - offers the best wanton mee in Singapore.

Downsides: virtually no locals, and many of the expats that stay there are insular and pretentious. If you don't have kids, the incessant screaming of the free range toddlers can grate - and if you are on the ground floor, be prepared for children to wander in as if they own the place. If you do have kids, there are lots of others for them to play with!

Room Tip: Avoid the apartments at the pool end, quite noisy, especially with the 24 hr coffee shop across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SingMoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent 8 nights here in August 2012- our family with another family. The accommodation itself is really wonderful both outside and inside with gorgeous garden. Carefully renovated, beautifully maintained, it has a uniquely Peranakan feel. There is a great play area with Little Tikes toys (castle, house, cars) for our 2 & 3 year old kids with plenty of room for them to run around. However, there is no fence around the pool so we did need to keep an eye out for the children.

In the 4 bedroom Penang suite where we stayed, the ceilings are high so it has an air of spacious living. The welcome hamper was a nice touch. All items are listed and priced so you know how much everything is if you break or lose it (e.g. coat hangers are $3 each). The breakfast was not exciting (especially for being in food-loving Singapore) but given this is not a huge hotel with a large turnover of guests, it's also understandable. Though we consciously tried to be careful about air conditioner usage, we still exceeded the daily limit and had to pay extra at the end of our stay.

I removed my wedding ring to apply sunscreen on the kids and left it on an outside chair. I was devastated that when I rang the office, the ring wasn't found. But thankfully, the CCTV verified that an external contractor took it so it was returned to me. I'm very thankful for such great security in place.

This place is located around 10 min walk to Eunos MRT, 8 minutes to the bus station, 5 min to some great restaurants along Joo Chiat Rd and is less than S$10 taxi ride to East Coast Parkway which is fantastic for seafood, bike riding and enjoying the beach.

If I had any suggestions to make- selling washing powder at the office would be handy (cos for short term stays like ours, we wouldn't go through a box), fitting each apartment with a first aid kit, providing cloths in the kitchen to wipe down bench tops.

Though expensive, it was a very special home to return home to each night in Singapore and the pool was a lovely place to relax. Thank you to all the staff at Lotus @Joo Chiat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amaziah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#134 of 312 in Singapore
362 reviews
Joo Chiat
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
Santa Grand Hotel East Coast
#113 of 312 in Singapore
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#92 of 312 in Singapore
372 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#248 of 312 in Singapore
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus at Joo Chiat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus at Joo Chiat

Property: Lotus at Joo Chiat
Address: 11 Everitt Road, Singapore 427806, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 227 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reflecting the cultural heritage of the Peranakan (Straits Chinese) community, Lotus at Joo Chiat is situated right in its heartland, Katong. The painstakingly restored conservation shophouses and apartments offer our guests the opportunity to experience a unique stay with a personal touch and hospitality. Lotus at Joo Chiat also features 23-serviced apartment (studio-4 bedrooms) for minimum bookings of 7 nights for each stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lotus At Joo Chiat Hotel Singapore
Lotus At Joo Chiat Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing