We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable with home's feeling! Backpackers FIRST choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable with home's feeling! Backpackers FIRST choice!”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I went for a vacation in last month July 2012 and i think i really did the best choice of picking The Hive as my accommodation in Singapore!
1. Clean- Everything is just like new!
2. Comfortable- What can i describe about it only a word "HOME", It gives me home's feeling
3. Friendly staff- The staffs are so kind and polite!
Definitely i will pick The Hive again in my next vacation in Singapore! :D

Room Tip: Reserve early please! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicklausloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Hey hey Nicklausloo,


Thanks for the many compliments. We will give the team a pat on the back for a job well done.

We will be going through an extensive renovation very very soon. Things are only going to get better here at The Hive. Stay tuned!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    199
    72
    18
    3
See reviews for
48
55
109
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gerringong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This has everything you want from a backpackers. Clean, friendly staff with good english speaking skills, free wifi and computer services and close to transport. Would definitely stay here again next time I pass through Singapore and recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Hey Ben!

Thanks for the review!

We are glad you liked it here. It 's only going to get better!

Take care wherever you are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bandung
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It's our first trip to Singapore, so this makes it our first time to stay at a hostel in Singapore. For us, it's quite a cozy place. We came too early to the place but they let us stay in the tv room, which has sofas so we can actually have a rest there. They also let us the bathroom to take a shower. The single room was pretty good actually, I really had a good night sleep. To me, the only drawback for this place is that they don't let us left our luggage for free after we checked out so we had to carry our bags when we explored the country.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisaBandung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Hey nisaBandung,

There must have been a miscommunication somewhere. We have always welcome our guests to leave their luggage with us should they have a late transport out of Singapore. Our lobby is almost filled with luggage every day. I am very sorry about what happen. It must have been a some misunderstanding.

But yes, thank you for your other feedback. We hope everything's good with you. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

shared the twin room (SGD55 per night) with my friend when she came over to visit me in Singapore. it's a cosy little hostel, lounge, breakfast area, bedrooms and washrooms are decent and well maintained. Staff are nice and friendly.

To set your expectations right - the bedrooms are really small, there are only beds, a little shelf, small wall mirror and small table. thankfully it's air conditioned :) well, the room was better than i expected. it's a hostel anyway, so cant expect to have it look like a hotel right?

We had to share a common washroom, which is pretty clean. Just bear in mind that the cleanliness of the washroom depends largely on the other hostel mates as well... so it might not be that clean all the time.

The location is strategic as you can find lots of local delicacies within walking distance. the hostel is also at walking distance from Boon Keng MRT station and Lavender MRT station.

In general I am not a hostel person but my experience at the Hive was a pretty good one. i will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlottesze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Hey Charlottesze,

Thank you for your kind words.

Yes, we admit that our rooms are a little bare but that's going to change for sure! We will be looking into placing some furniture into the room so that there's a space for something. We hear you! =D

Hostelling is a experience and we are glad you liked it on your first trial. There are many funky and awesome hostels around the world which we aspire to be like so if you do have the chance during your travels, try hostelling again. There are no-so-good places too but hey, that's the kind of adventure money can't buy.

In any case, thank you for your time to review us. Take care and we hope to be of service to you again. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. It cost us $55 SND per night. The breakfast, while just bread and spread, was decent. The room was small, but the AC worked well, and it was easy enough to sleep. You can hear everything and everyone that goes past your door as it is paper thin.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wellingtonviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Hi wellingtonviking,

Thank you for your feedback.

Being decent is average for us. We will definitely work towards providing an improved breakfast offering.

As you may have read from our other responses, we will be going through a major renovation very soon and that means a better Hive to serve our guests.

Take care wherever you are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

It was our second time staying at The Hive. We booked a double room for 3 nights. Our room was situated on the first floor, next to the main road.

Pros:
1. The Hive's location is near the MRT station less than 10mins walk.
2. Lots of food choices nearby and convenience store too.
3. Security has improved with the access key card system.

Cons:
1. The curtain was thin and it did not block out the street lights entirely and you can hear the traffic on the road too. We know that there are some rooms that do not have windows too.
2. Staff not very knowledgable of the surrounding areas. We drove this time to SG and we asked where we could park our car overnight. There are street parking bays just right outside the road of the hostel and you only need to purchase the coupons from 7-11. Street parking is different on different streets however it is free to park on Jalan Seranggoon after 5/6pm (I forgot) until the next morning 8am. The staff, however, directed us to a covered parking area which reserves overnight parking for residents only. They also told us that the street parking was difficult and a hassle. We parked for three nights without any problems.
3. Breakfast was limited.
4. Email communication with the staff was a headache too. Different staff replied our emails almost each time and we had to repeat all over again what we wanted.
5. Bathroom and toilet were nightmare. Yes, people said that for the price you pay, this is what to be expected of a hostel. But that does not justify that cleanliness can be overlooked and the faulty doors not repaired.
6. The room itself was bare minimum. No closet/wardrobe. Just a double bed, with a small side table, a book shelf and a rail of hooks to hang your towels.

We have stayed here in 2010 and we came back here because we had a not bad experience previously. This is probably the last time we're coming back here. The hotels along Balestier Road cost SGD20 more for a double room but the facilities are far better.

Do look at other hostels before making your choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road but with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellycmc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear ellycmc7,

We hear your comments about the insufficient information about the parking facilities. Rest assure we will update all our staff regarding the parking facilities.

We are also working on a new website where our availability can be viewed instantly from our website so it cuts down on the time our guests spend exchanging emails. We apologise for the inconvenience you experienced.

We do not wish to find excuses for the failure to rectify the faulty toilet doors. However, we would like to inform that we will embark on an extensive renovation this year. We seek everyone's patience as we move ahead to make The Hive our pride and joy.

We also hear your feedback about the lack of storage facilities within the room. That will be one of the things in our list of must-do during our renovation.

Once again, we really appreciate the time taken to critic us so that we can be a better hostel for whoever that walk through our doors.

Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

My friends and I took a room for three for 4 days. Our expectations based from the reviews we read, which actually made us decide to choose this place, weren't exactly met. Our room is not that big, no closets, no other appliances, just a plain and simple bedroom. One of the things we didn't like was that our room has that distinct smell probably because the inn is located around Little India area. Moreover, the aircon in our room is quite old, not properly functioning and worst, leaking. Some of our stuff got wet and there's no rug or any cloth provided to at least dry up the water on the floor. We also find it hard to lock and maneuver the doorknob in such a way that it consumes a lot of time for us to find the right click or glide to lock it.

It's really disappointing on my part since I actually reserved (exchanged emails) several months ago for this room. They could've given us a much better room since we reserved early. They gave us the farthest room on the second floor facing the busy street. The hallways are not well lit giving it a creepy kind of scene most especially that we go home late evenings. The bathrooms on the 2nd floor are also basic and nothing special. We have to fall in line since it is a common CR for around 3-4 rooms on the area/wing.

We've actually decided to move out and check-in in nearby hostels or area (having also great reviews). But we chose to stay because of the hassles and inconveniences of transferring. On the other hand, the good news is their price is actually one of the cheapest amongst the other hostels/backpackers' place considering that it's actually strategically located near MRT BoonKeng. They also provide free breakfast (toasts, jams, cereals,etc) for everyone. Wifi is also functioning well. They have this huge common area and a play room that is a plus for a backpackers' inn. And they also kept our luggage safe and free of charge while we still roam around the city since our flight is still on the late evening.

Overall, I can say that for the value of money, this is a right place for budget travellers. However, you may want to check out other places that competitively offers the same or better services vis-a-vis price. I'll probably try a much better environment/area like Chinatown next time I'll go in Singapore.

Room Tip: Maybe, show room first. Try to avoid the 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KPbolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spens12, Owner at The Hive Singapore Hostel, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Hey kpbolt,

It is with mixed feelings I am replying to you.

I am very glad that you wrote from a very objective position. You were fair in your judgment.

Our rooms are very basic, no-frills if that's what they call it. We hear you. We will definitely consider having some storage facility when we embark on our next phase of change.

Frankly, the reservation of a specific room is subject to availability. We will definitely let out the best rooms first but sometimes when we have extension of stays for example, it is not possible to keep certain room blockings. I hope you can understand.

We note the lighting feedback and will work on it.

Thank you also for highlighting what we have done well. We really appreciate the affirmation and will definitely work towards making The Hive a better place for all.

Wherever you are, take care! You might want to follow us on Facebook so you can keep track of our changes. =)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#53 of 231 in Singapore
293 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#46 of 231 in Singapore
488 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#21 of 231 in Singapore
488 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#142 of 231 in Singapore
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hive Singapore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hive Singapore Hostel

Property: The Hive Singapore Hostel
Address: 624 Serangoon Road The Hive, Singapore 218223, Singapore (Formerly The Hive Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 231 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hive Singapore Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Before we tell you more about us, you have to read this: _________________________________________________ FREE WIFI - Connections are strong and stable in all corners of The Hive all the time FREE BREAKFAST - Unlimited Toast, jam spread, milk and cereals FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE - Safe keep your backpacks with us after check-out FREE COFFEE & TEA WHOLE DAY - a way to say "Thank you" to our guests FREE LAUNDRY SERVICES - no charge to use our washing machines & dryer between 1900 to 0700 hrs FREE MAP - helping you to get around easier FREE OVERSEAS CALL - always helping you to feel at home LESS than five minutes walk to nearest MRT station NO CURFEW - armed with our hostel access card, you can enter our hostel anytime COMPETITIVE RATES - beating off many competitions FAMILY / GROUP FRIENDLY - with so many dorm configurations, you'll find something just for you TV ROOM WITH CABLE TV - if you like to stay in, you can enjoy HBO movies, basketball, football, Formula One, Tennis and more XBOX KINECT & BOARD GAMES - more to do if you want to stay away from the scorching sun SPACIOUS LOUNGE - what many hostels are unable to provide, we have a huge lounge just for everything BRANDED MATTRESS - providing you a good quality and comfortable sleep after a long day CLEAN LINENS - cleanliness will bring you back to us again ......and lots more for you to experience when you stay at The Hive. Established since December 2004, The Hive is one of the pioneer hostels in Singapore. We enjoyed a long history of providing our guests with affordable accommodation and excellent service. With such a rich history behind us, there is only one characteristic about us: CHANGE. The Hive is always improving to provide better for our guests and their feedbacks are our best testimonials. Located in the centre of Singapore, we are every reason a traveller should stay with us. Boon Keng MRT Station, which is just less than five minutes away from our hostel, has a direct train to most tourist attractions. We have a more welcoming atmosphere, a big communal lounge great for interaction, cable channels offering The Premier League, Champions League, F1, tennis - something the hotels are lacking. Surely the next best alternative to hotels??? The Hive is also the place for a family/group stay-over. Groupacking...why travel in pairs when it's much more fun in groups? Start packing for your next Groupacking trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Hive Singapore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hive Backpackers Hotel Singapore
The Hive Singapore Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing