We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hive Singapore Hostel
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was very helpful, the location not bad with a great connection with the MRT, and the price was very nice for being Singapore.
There was breakfast included, good wifi and free coffee all day long.
Probably one of the best hostels i have been in south east asia.
If i ever go back to singapore, i know were i will sleep.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Thecatalanboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    199
    72
    18
    3
See reviews for
48
55
109
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Caloocan, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on 6-female dorm. PROs (1) staffs are friendly and accommodating (2) very near Boon Keng MRT station and one SBS bus transit station (3) free breakfast from 7:30-10:30 (4) free wifi with strong signal (since my room is in the 1st floor near the reception area). My complaints are: (1) AC in our room is so weak, I thought that I am in a fan room, (2) toilets needs to be cleaned often, I have done it twice myself during my stay before I can use it (3) they ran out of adapter plugs. over-all, it's an average lodging, not for the sensitive type.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wobee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The receptionists are very helpful and polite.
The place is quite close to the MRT station.
Clean bath rooms.
The entertainment room is quite good.

I will be back to this hostel next time in Singapore.

Thumbs up guys!

Room Tip: Marigold is very quiet room indeed. I don't think it is a good idea to stay in the room near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tienecro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for 3 days (paid for 4 nights to reserve a bed during my late check-in- they weren't full when I checked-in so I was surprised they didn't deduct the 1 night fee unlike in other hostels).

The signage was dull. Even cab drivers had hard time finding the place unless you tell them it's located in the intersection of this and that street.

Aircon is turned off after 6 or 7am and should be turned on at 6 or 7pm but unfortunately, the hostel attendants didn't turn it on automatically in our room. I had to call the attention of the receptionist to every night, turn on our A/C in the room (not to mention that our room was on the 2nd floor of this building and the reception is at the OTHER building).

Wifi connection gets poor at night when all guests use it at the same time.

There are no personal lamps for each bed which was hard for those who arrive late at night.

Bathrooms and toilets needed a lot of cleaning (most of them). Since there's a n ample amount of toilets and bathrooms/showers, guests can simply choose a cleaner one on each floor.

Breakfast was awesome though except that bread always needed to be "replenished". Cereals and jams were excellent for me. Except that there was no free drinking water even for breakfast. I had to buy a $2 bottled water from the reception.

It's quite far from the "nearest" bus stop or MRT.

Hostel is right beside the road (intersections) so expect noise from the vehicles esp. at night.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are better than 1st floor rooms. There's ample amount of toilets and showers. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShinCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

we stayed for 4 night (20-24 may) 4 person,
good staff, near MRT station boon keng ,easy to make reservation, can pay cash or credit card, fortunetly we havn't problem when we stay,cheapest + free breakfast :) we happy overall

Room Tip: choosing donwstairs bed,better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EndriGooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biarritz, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Hive Backpackers Hostel in Singapore for 3 nights and well, to be honest, do not expect more than what you pay for !
We stayed in a dorm, it was all right (12 beds in the room) and luckily it had A/C.
To me there is not enough showers (2 for 12 people) but they are clean - same with restrooms.
The place is definitely not great but you don't go to Singapore to stay in your room and it is very well located - close to the MTR and to Little India.
Breakfast is included: cereals, bread, jam, butter, coffee and tea - good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nalita13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently (May 5) for 2 nights. The location is easy to find since it is along the road and only a few minutes walk from Boon Keng MRT station. Lots of cheap places to eat nearby even at night.

Traveled with my family (3 members) and we stayed in a 4 bedded private room with window- Rose. There was a problem with the aircon - not much air coming out. An electric fan would have done a better job, so we requested to transfer to another room - Vanda room which was originally for 6 people. The same poor airconditioning but the room came with a fan so we used the AC and fan. Beds and pillow were comfy.

The breakfast includes cereal, bread with different spreads to choose from, tea, and coffee. The tea and coffee are free all day.

I wish the toilets and showers were cleaned more often.

Wifi connection is free and fast!

What I didn't like was the guy who barged into the room without knocking on the morning upon our checkout. He turned off the aircon and left. What if I was changing my clothes that time,that would have been an awkward situation! So next time,please knock and wait for the guest to open the door for you.

Overall,it was a good stay considering the budget and location.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Perry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#53 of 230 in Singapore
293 reviews
Little India
Bunc Hostel
Bunc Hostel
#43 of 230 in Singapore
485 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#18 of 230 in Singapore
487 reviews
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#152 of 230 in Singapore
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hive Singapore Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hive Singapore Hostel

Property: The Hive Singapore Hostel
Address: 624 Serangoon Road The Hive, Singapore 218223, Singapore (Formerly The Hive Backpackers Hostel)
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hive Singapore Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Before we tell you more about us, you have to read this: _________________________________________________ FREE WIFI - Connections are strong and stable in all corners of The Hive all the time FREE BREAKFAST - Unlimited Toast, jam spread, milk and cereals FREE LUGGAGE STORAGE - Safe keep your backpacks with us after check-out FREE COFFEE & TEA WHOLE DAY - a way to say "Thank you" to our guests FREE LAUNDRY SERVICES - no charge to use our washing machines & dryer between 1900 to 0700 hrs FREE MAP - helping you to get around easier FREE OVERSEAS CALL - always helping you to feel at home LESS than five minutes walk to nearest MRT station NO CURFEW - armed with our hostel access card, you can enter our hostel anytime COMPETITIVE RATES - beating off many competitions FAMILY / GROUP FRIENDLY - with so many dorm configurations, you'll find something just for you TV ROOM WITH CABLE TV - if you like to stay in, you can enjoy HBO movies, basketball, football, Formula One, Tennis and more XBOX KINECT & BOARD GAMES - more to do if you want to stay away from the scorching sun SPACIOUS LOUNGE - what many hostels are unable to provide, we have a huge lounge just for everything BRANDED MATTRESS - providing you a good quality and comfortable sleep after a long day CLEAN LINENS - cleanliness will bring you back to us again ......and lots more for you to experience when you stay at The Hive. Established since December 2004, The Hive is one of the pioneer hostels in Singapore. We enjoyed a long history of providing our guests with affordable accommodation and excellent service. With such a rich history behind us, there is only one characteristic about us: CHANGE. The Hive is always improving to provide better for our guests and their feedbacks are our best testimonials. Located in the centre of Singapore, we are every reason a traveller should stay with us. Boon Keng MRT Station, which is just less than five minutes away from our hostel, has a direct train to most tourist attractions. We have a more welcoming atmosphere, a big communal lounge great for interaction, cable channels offering The Premier League, Champions League, F1, tennis - something the hotels are lacking. Surely the next best alternative to hotels??? The Hive is also the place for a family/group stay-over. Groupacking...why travel in pairs when it's much more fun in groups? Start packing for your next Groupacking trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Hive Singapore Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hive Backpackers Hotel Singapore
The Hive Singapore Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing