We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uninspiring uncaring service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yan Ting

Yan Ting
Ranked #348 of 10,417 Restaurants in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$50
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Singaporean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Orchard Road
Description: Located at Level 1U at The St. Regis Singapore, Yan Ting is the choice of world and business elite, a dining venue for guests to bring their most treasured family and respected business associates. Helmed by the St. Regis team of masterchefs, Yan Ting showcases exquisite yet hearty Cantonese fine dining that will allure palates to satisfy even the most discerning gastronomes, presenting cuisine that are faithful to the traditional cooking techniques of Cantonese cuisine characterised by the immense diversity of ingredients used and the philosophy of bringing out the natural flavours of the freshest ingredients. The ideal place for joyous gatherings, celebrations and entertaining, Yan Ting has been artistically designed with contemporary architectural style and modern sophistication to create an intimate, graceful and tranquil atmosphere where diners will receive the uncompromising service standards of the St. Regis.
Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Uninspiring uncaring service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Third time here for dinner
Waiters are unrefined and have obviously never been properly trained They all looked like they were owed wages A lot of standing around instead of service
One waitress tried to help but she cant be everywhere
All guests reached for their own condiments poured their own beverages
Captain/management was non existent
Definitely not worthy of St Regis name
At USD100 per person without alcohol, discerning diners have an abundance of alternatives in this Orchard Road area

Helpful?
Thank 2012Jaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSRSManagement, Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage at Yan Ting, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear 2012Jaime,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback. We do have to apologise for the inconvenience you had experienced. Please be assured that necessary trainings and amends will be in place to ensure that guests’ dining experience will be beyond expectations.

We hope you will consider Yan Ting again.

Yours sincerely
Oscar Perez
Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    43
    15
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Great Food, Great Service!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

First time to Yan Ting, and we were very impressed with the food, service (great young waiter who was very attentative) and the restaurant is decorated beautifully.

We were travelling with our 9 year old daughter so we also had to accommodate for her taste as well which was no problem.

Yan Ting has now scored a spot on our regular restaurant list on our return trips to Singapore

See you again soon!!!!!!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DaisyO2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSRSManagement, Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage at Yan Ting, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear DaisyO2014,

Thank you for choosing Yan Ting and thank you for your kind words on the restaurant’s grand decorations and attentive service staff.

We cannot wait to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely
Oscar Perez
Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
167 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Dim Sum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

Yan Ting has came up a few times in our search for the best dim sum in Singapore. We arrived at the restaurant and were lucky to get a table without a reservation. It seemed like the restaurant is really popular on weekends. It could be due to their dim sum brunch promotion which has two seatings. The restaurant is decorated in understated elegance and the ambience was really good - minus the occasional loud mouth customers sitting nearby.
We ordered the usual suspects - Char Siew Rice Rolls, Steamed Pork Ribs, Har Gao, Siew Mai with Black Truffle, Carrot Cake, Chicken Feet and Pig's Trotters in Vinegar. I must say the taste and quality of food is really one of the best we have had. The Har Gao was stuffed full of prawns and not the frozen ones, mind you. The Siew Mai with Black Truffle were some of the best I have had. But I must say the black truffle tasted more like minced black mushroom. Couldn't taste the fragrance of truffle. For someone who doesn't like and never tasted chicken feet, I decided to give a try this time. The chicken feet was surprisingly tender and succulent. The gelatinous texture tells me it must be good for my skin cos that's collagen! I can live with this!
The disappointments though, have to be the carrot cake and the steamed pork ribs. The carrot cake was too mushy. It lacks taste and texture. The steamed pork ribs on the other hand tasted funny. Maybe frozen pork not thawed well?
The price of eating in a luxury hotel is of course not cheap. But if you compare the average pricing vs quality for dim sum in Singapore, Yan Ting is still affordable and gives good value. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Webbywabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSRSManagement, Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage at Yan Ting, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear Webbywabbit,

Thank you for taking the time to share your dining experience at Yan Ting with your fellow gourmands. Thank you also for your glowing praise. We truly appreciate your generosity, and we cannot wait to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Oscar Perez
Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Chinese Lunar New Year Dinner 2014”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Food was worst than Cze Char. Duck was hard n cold n salty plus sweet. Portion was tiny. 70 plus tables were squashed in the ballroom under bright light. It felt like a canteen cum communal wedding. The blasting of a singer at the tiny stage felt like "GER TAI" for the 7th month Ghost festival. For $1288plus plus and renders such lowly services from a 6 star hotel is truly unbelievable n disgusting. plus we were hosting stable of overseas guests. it was embarrassing!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Angeline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSRSManagement, Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage at Yan Ting, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Angeline M,

We do apologise that your Chinese Lunar New Year dining experience at our John Jacob Ballroom was not to your exacting expectation. We have noted your invaluable feedback, and we assure you that the necessary amends will be in place.

It is truly unbecoming of a luxury hotel like ours, and it is certainly no excuse for such unfortunate incidents. We will definitely into ways to improve the experience.

We hope you will come back and dine with us again at Yan Ting.

Yours sincerely
Oscar Perez
Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very Nicely Decorated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

The Yan Ting is very nicely decorated.It has very luxurious details and ornaments on everything at the restaurant. The dessert takeaway has an average average but has a very aromatic smell.

Helpful?
Thank Raymond H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSRSManagement, Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage at Yan Ting, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear raymondhong,

Thank you for your kind words, and thank you also for taking the time to share your dining experience at Yan Ting with your fellow diners. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely
Oscar Perez
Executive Assistant Manager, Food & Beverage
The St. Regis Singapore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yan Ting also viewed

Singapore, Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Yan Ting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing