We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most "luxurious" of all Hotel 81s!”
Review of Hotel 81-Tristar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 81-Tristar
Ranked #215 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Sandakan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Most "luxurious" of all Hotel 81s!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here a 2nd time in 18 months due to good memories, and also due to the fact we needed a bigger room for a family. The rooms here are spacious by Singapore standards, not just Hotel 81's! The Family Rooms are even more so.

I also liked this hotel due to its proximity to:
(1) a hawker centre, where one has a wide variety of food to choose from, at the lowest prices in a relatively expensive country as Singapore;
(2) a proper supermarket (NTUC Fairprice) on neighbouring Joo Chiat Road, at Joo Chiat Complex, where most things needed can be bought
(3) public transport - buses to Orchard Rd, Chinatown, Vivocity, Ang Mo Kio (from there one can catch another bus to the Zoo or River/Night Safari)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaddyistheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    106
    83
    25
    14
See reviews for
78
51
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights here with friends. The room was quite surprisingly better than I thought after reading the reviews on trip advisor. Or maybe I was just lucky enough to get a good room ;) Pretty good housekeeping service for a 3 star. Conveniently had a 24-hr mart and a 24-hr food court open right next to it.

Only thing is they could do some MAJOR upgrading with the bathrooms. Shower curtains and tiles in bathroom were kinda gross. They could do some major uplifting in bathrooms and the hotel would be perfect enough.We got new towels everyday.So that's good.

MRT station was only a 10-minute-malk. Bus stop that goes to goes to tourisy places like bus no.7 to orchard rd and bus no.30 to Harbour Front were just like a 2 minute walk from the hotel. Be sure to take Singapore Post exit at the Paya Lebar MRT station. Also good is you don't have to change MRTs line when going to tourisy places like Botanical Gardens and Harbour Front/VivoCity(which is where Sentosa Island connection is). Getting to Marina Bay just needed one MRT change. So the Paya Lebar MRT is well connected to all the tourisy places.

At check-in staff wasn't the warmest. He had a k-pop hairstyle and did not greet us. But 2 malay ladies staff and another Chinese guy during other shift was kind and friendly. They could call a cab for you upon request or you could also hail a cab outside the hotel. But we relied mostly on MRT and bus getting us around as Singapore public transport is good.

Room Tip: We stayed on 4th Floor. Room that I got was spacious enough. We booked a big room. Forgot what categ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia786S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Location is ok and easy to get food as the food court is just next to hotel. Need to walk about 10 mins to the train station. Room is simple but a bit for the bathroom. Most of the tourists stay here. Easy to get taxi if you need. The front desk is helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindylsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

we stay for 4 nights last May 21-25at hotel 81 tristar. Although the hotel is little far airport, the room is clean, air con is good and WiFi is working good.
Mr Ramon/ Ellvis was very accommodating. I ask them directions on how to go to places by public transportation and by mrt, they entertain us and gave a good directions. Our stayed in this hotel so far is good and they are affordable. Below this hotel is restaurant that has a variety of food to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The room was surprisingly big and very comfortable with all the necessary amenities of a first class hotel and rates was reasonable. The staff service was excellent, very polite and helpful. The location of this hotel is near food stalls and MRT which makes it very convenient to travel around. Central location meant taxi fare also quite reasonable. Good wifi service even within the room and they offered me even without having to ask. Good job guys.

Room Tip: Book online for the best deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I always book this hotel just to relax with my fiancée. There's a swimming pool open for 24 hours where we chill out till 2-3am with no disturbance. Good food can be found almost at every angle downstairs. Value for money. Nothing extravagant but better than other hotel 81.

Room Tip: Ask for Level 3 cos that's where the swimming pool is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanialAlCapone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel may not be of a very high standard, but it's very conveniently located especially if you're Malay. It's close by to the food stalls and within walking distance to the shops that sells traditional Malay clothes. My family always stay here whenever we go to Singapore. We were there for 9 nights. The air con was cold, the room was clean and the toilet was clean. Only the bath may need abit of work. The staff were friendly. Can't complain, you get what you paid for.

Room Tip: The west side rooms are quieter. Level 3 rooms are good, nice and cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shakster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#236 of 315 in Singapore
70 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#206 of 315 in Singapore
142 reviews
Joo Chiat
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
The Fragrance Hotel (Joo Chiat)
#146 of 315 in Singapore
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#132 of 315 in Singapore
342 reviews
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#104 of 315 in Singapore
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 81-Tristar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 81-Tristar

Property: Hotel 81-Tristar
Address: 1 Onan Road Tristar Inn, Singapore 424780, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 315 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 81-Tristar 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 81-Tristar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 81-Tristar Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing