We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
28
65
36
10
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
65
36
10
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslittle india mrt stationno liftbugis streetfree wifiair conditionerbackpackersmustafa
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2014 via mobile

Location: Close proximity to Little India Station | there are plenty of shops around the hostel and a 5-min walk to the infamous Little India Area.

Amenities: Average- Quite Small area for hanging around at Ground Floor but the rooftop deck is good area to meet people as they tend to stay there. Average communal showers and toilet. There are tea/coffee making facilities in each floor and it is very neat and clean

Room: Quite cramped especially the dorm beds but you do not expect much on this area. A little privacy like curtain per bed would be ideal as there is very little privacy between beds. No mini light so everytime you open the light everyone will be disturbed. Need to pay for the towels so its not included on what you pay. Don't go to top floors room as there were no lifts/elevator. It was quite a hike.

Price: A little bit pricey on a hostel terms but should be alright as location compensates due to less walking distance to key trabportations

Services: Average. Staff are good but not that accommodating as expected. They can answer questions but do not do alot of recommendations for tours so be prepared to reseach some places.

Overall, it was an average stay and we just slept there. We always end up arriving at late night so we havent stayed much in the hostel. Would I come back for seconds? Ill probably try on other ones but would consider this again if i ran out of options

Stayed: September 2014, travelled solo
Thank Kaiser A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

For this particular Singapore trip, we decided to stay at the G4 station backpacker hotel. This is due to the stronger Singapore Dollar Compared to the Ringgit. We made the booking about 2 months in advance.
Upon arrival, as we were traveling in a group of 14 people, the lobby is pack when we got into the lobby area. The check-in process was quick, except that since we were in a group we had to divide the rooms accordingly. (Note: since this is a backpacker hotel, any leftover beds in the room would be rented out and you have to share with other backpacker.) Since we are still at the lobby, you have to pay a SGD 20 (refundable deposit) for each excess key card. If you need a towel, you can rent it for SGD 1.50 per towel. Each person will get a room key and a locker key.
They include breakfast for the rooms. The breakfast include bread and toast with butter, jam, nutella and kaya. There's also biscuits and 3 in 1 oats. There are hot water to make coffee , tea and orange juice. Each day they will change the breakfast a little but basically its basic breakfast.
The rooms are located on the second, third, fourth and fifth floors. There are no elevators. The rooms are equipped with air condition. We stayed in a Quad sharing room, so there are two double decker beds with two double decker Lockers. Since we get the lower beds, we also got the two lower lockers. The locker would fit a 20 inch travelling bag. It may fit a 24 in luggage but then we would suggest you slide it under the bed. Each bed will be given a pillow and a blanket. Other than that, there's not much space to move about in the room. There are no TV in the rooms. All of the TV is available at the lobby.
Each floor will have their own toilet and bath outside the rooms. As for us on the fourth floor, there are 2 toilets and two showers. There are two wash basins outside the toilets. All showers are equipped with hot and cold water. There are liquid soap plus shampoo dispenser in each shower. There are also a hot water flask and mugs with 3 in 1 coffee available at the pantry, next to the showers area.
This is a non smoking building as is all of the buildings in Singapore. For smokers, you have to smoke at the sidewalk in front of the hotel or you can go the the 5th floor and exit to the roof to smoke.
For Lunch and dinner, there are plenty of restaurants around the hotel and most of it will close at about 11.00pm. Most of the restaurants are Halal certified. The Hotel lobby also sells mineral drinking water (500ml) and other sodas for SGD1.00. There are also a Rex Cinema showing local favorite movies.
The closest MRT station is Little India and you can also walk to Bugis street (10-15 minutes walk).

Room Tip: For the elderly and the physically challenged, please request for the lower floor.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZAKZabha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our first time hostel experience in G4 was great! My bf wasn’t a fan of hostel before cus he hated to share the bathroom with other strangers. But after researching we decided to spend our 4 nights here since it was a good price even for a private bedroom in the city.

There’s no lift but stairs, but it’s a good exercise for us when we return from a heavy dinner/ mid-night snack time. If you have heavy luggage I would not recommend this.

Our double bed room was quite small & no TV, but with a large storage and clean bed & felt sheets – it wasn’t a problem for us cus we only had 2 backpacks. We were just too tired every time when we returned to the hostel we just jumped on the bed and slept. Some reviewers complained about the tiny rooms weren’t worth for the money – Well, with this cheap price did they expect to have a queen size bed like the 5 stars hotels??
The bathroom was shared with other travelers on the same floor. Both shower and toilet area were very clean and roomy –no hair in the drainer and bad smell. The staff cleaned the bathroom every morning so if you want to have a nice and cleanest shower you can wait until noon. There were only a few people during our stay so most of the time we were like having our own private bathroom :)

Location was prefect! Just 3 mins walk from Little Indian MRT. We skipped all the free breakfast because there was just too much food you could find across the street. Whether if it is early morning or mid night, you can just fill up yourself downstairs at the restaurants, cross the underpass to Tekka Market, or find a 7-11 around the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcfishball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Before I arrived to this hotel, I was imagine a small terrible dirty rooms ... not mention its location in the middle of Little India.

But, I was amazed that the hotel was clean, cozy, and located around many public facilities such as food courts, Little India MRT's stations, 7-Eleven Minimart, and Indian's theatre.

The hotel was full facilited with outdoor toilets and bathrooms, self laundry, and free PC connected with internet ... it was also wifi free in all the area ...

A simple self service breakfast with bread and eggs make it a suitable affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LexiPranata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This is the second hostel we stayed with my friends. And so far, this is the best deal and find we got with the rest of the backpackers hostel we've tried.

Very friendly frontdesk/reception (he is actually CUTE). Accommodating at all times. They observed cleanliness too which is a big deal for me! Thumbs up!

We checked-out early and we were able to leave our belongings in their storage room. Amazing! They even offered us to stay in their entertainment room while waiting for our flight back home (killing time).

Desktop computers are also available if you wish to go online. Of course, they do have WIFI too!

I will be back again to stay here when I visit Singapore for shopping! Nice place to stay!

Room Tip: If you are four in a group, they have big rooms for you.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xerendipity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews