We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy”

Newton Hawker Centre
Ranked #547 of 13,789 Restaurants in Singapore
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Neighbourhood: Newton Circus
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

Go to Mike with red hair... Delicious... Cannot recommend highly enough.. Chilli crab so good and a very good price!! Kids here on holiday and couldn't wait to go back.. Also stall next the lady who sells drinks so so nice

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank lindamE2328EU
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 253 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016

What a selection - food in Singapore is very safe to eat as very strict guidelines apply. Great selection of food in Hawkers markets. Find a table and note the number on table. Order and pay for food from the many different little food stalls providing table number - When food or drinks are ready stall worker brings to table.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Lizzy_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 July 2016

took a few Aussies for dinner to sample the array of local and regional fare available.
A bit of a disappointment unfortunately.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank rselva2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Took the train to Newton station to have chilli crab on our last day, had to be done. Getting of the train you come out by a roundabout in a nothing looking part of town. Thanks to Google maps for showing the way as it looked like there was nothing there. After locating the area, a triangle of seating and small cooking shacks we went around to view the variety on display. We decided on 31 Heng Heng BBQ. The place was spotlessly clean and the crabs were top quality, heavy and fresh. We ordered a $38 crab and some fried rice. What can I say but it was the best crab I have had, so much meat it easily fed two of us. The sauce was medium hot but you could go either way by request.
Highly Recommended.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nicholas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

When I first came to Singapore I visited many Hawker centres, then I visited Newton to see what the hype was about. Sadly, I was met with pushy vendors, expensive prices, disposable plates, small serves compared to the many other "non-tourist" hawker centres. Get a bus further up Bukit Timah Rd to Adam road and try the hawker there - it's so much better.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank DaveWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Newton Hawker Centre also viewed

 
Singapore, Singapore
 

Been to Newton Hawker Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.