We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hard to Beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal At Newton Hotel Singapore
Ranked #204 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Port Pirie, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were recipients of the Singapore Airlines Stopover Holiday offer on our way home from Thailand. Since our stay was only two days and one night, we really didn’t spend any time at the hotel. BTW the Stopover Holiday is not to be missed – we certainly received way more than our money’s worth – but back to the Hotel Royal.

A mere twenty minutes from the airport, it is not the most centrally located, but we worked out the outstanding public transport system in minutes with the efficient assistance of the young concierge, whose English was impeccable.
There is a bus stop (not one of the Hop On, Hop Off stops) right outside in both directions and an MRT station close by. Within just a few kilometres by bus (buy the travel card at Seven 11 – there is no small change on the buses) we were in the midst of the Orchard Road shopping malls. There are malls everywhere in Singapore and we found the availability of almost unlimited food and retail outlets more than overwhelming. We’d had enough by the end of day one and focussed on the rides, Chinatown, Clarke Quay, the Flyer and other attractions on day two using the topless bus as the main means of transport, spending fully twelve exhausting hours sightseeing.

The Royal was never far from anything and the sixteenth-floor top level room was overshadowed by all the neighbouring buildings. In all our Asian travels we have never found a bigger variety of guest supplies - even combs and toothbrushes were available. The water is proudly drinkable – so no free bottled water, but the usual tea and coffee station was prominent. A large flat screen TV with a wide range of programmes and in-house movies catered for the few spare moments we had. There were no maintenance issues and we wanted for nothing during our brief stay.

Breakfast was not included in our package, but was offered at a 50% discount, as was an additional meal. We had time for neither on this visit. The single disappointment was the lack of free Wi-Fi internet and business centre that also required payment. We heard that there was a pool in the building and there were probably many other facilities that we just didn’t have time to explore.

We found a bank nearby and ate at one of many local cuisine eateries in a small strip nearby. You really are spoilt for choice in Singapore!

Despite not being on the direct tourist bus route, we would certainly use this as a base for any future visit to the city.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ratfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    42
    34
    20
    17
See reviews for
41
36
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. We had to change rooms twice; the first time because of the rank smell of mildew on the carpet which even the porters noticed and the second time because of incessant construction noise. The hotel is undergoing major renovation on its upper floors from 9 to 5 pm daily. We are talking some serious hammering and drilling here. We found it inexcusable to charge 235 SPD per night for this service and so insisted upon and were moved to the 16th Floor (the highest floor) for our remaining two nights. The decor in this renovated room was better, and the carpet was new, but the amenities were the same. It was an upgrade but not by much. It was, however, clean and the maids were quite pleasant but overworked. The reception desk was always overrun with guests and the staff ranged from very inattentive to downright surly. Most spoke broken English and some gave out inaccurate information or could not answer basic questions. The Business Center--er--computer room is state of the art--for 1995. The restaurant is fair, and the wait staff was quite friendly and attentive. I noticed none of the problems cited in other reviews here. They were also kind enough to provide food bags and ice in glasses to take back to our room. The hostess and manager were nice as well. The restaurant manager upstairs in the buffet area was nice enough to reheat food for us that we had purchased elsewhere. The bellhops were very attentive but a bit pushy vying for tips by sending luggage in pairs. The hotel is a 5 to 10 minute walk from the Novena MRT (do not go to the Newton station, which is much farther). The lobby is old and worn and does not provide a cheerful welcome. The pool is substandard. Lots of families on holiday from Australia (not that this was a problem for me). But bear in mind that this is a Chinese run hotel, and so customer service is spotty and often woefully lacking, especially at the front desk as aforementioned.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRickS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

indonesia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Good hotel for family but poor services. It have a bus station infront of the hotel so you can go anywhere easily. No free wifi so you must pay for internet. They serve bussiness centre but the printer was out of order. The crew were too busy to serve the guest.

Room Tip: Choose non smoking floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleangelIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Staff friendly. Close to food court at Newton Circus, breakfast was.excellent. But was let down by dirty old hotel, Corridoor smelly with maintenance ongoing but worst of all the room was dirty, tv did not work. Nobody was bothered

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

The facility itself is not bad, but the experience with their Staff, and Manager was bad: We booked two rooms for two nights, and when we arrived at the reception we asked if we could extend our stay for one more night, and the experience was as follows:
-I was told that to save money I should use the internet (they would not honor the rate I paid) which was not bad until I had to pay 4 dollars, and spent half an hour trying in vein to book the rooms. The systems shows they had rooms, but would not allow me to reserve.
-I asked for the manager, and told him we are tired, and asked him to help me with the reservation, and he told me I have to call Expedia Customer Service!
-When I finally got tired of arguing with him, I asked him a simple question: Do you have rooms for us or not, and then he had to go inside, and come back to tell me NO!
-He did not offer to help us locate another room in a sister hotel or otherwise, and when my wife suggested we find alternative place altogether he had to remind us that we prepaid our rooms (so we are stuck).
-They had us pay for a third person, although we had prepaid that, until I found my Expedia printout and showed it to him, even then he told me that he will have to check their email from Expedia before he can refund my credit card!
I felt that the Manager made no effort what so ever to help us, and I managed to find a room elsewhere on my own. We do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nader R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Booked in through company. Fairly convenient location however service dreadful . Rooms aged with strong smell of mould . Noisy and on top of all that people tried to enter room twice middle of
Night . Restaurant very basics more akin a canteen

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattpaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Stayed in this hotel during the week of lunar new year. Room assigned to us (good for 3) was very nice, spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathroom has a bathtub/shower and plenty of toiletries. However, there was no free bottled water in the ref. We were surprised that there was an ironing board and flat iron, an umbrella, plenty of clothes hangers, 2 extra pillows and even a shoe brush in the closet. Location was also good, very near the MRT and there is a bus station right in front of the hotel which will take guests to Orchard Road. Taxis are also plenty outside the hotel. The front desk was also very helpful in providing directions. Overall, our stay here was pleasant and maybe we'll stay here again when in Singapore.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Singapore
Hotel Royal Singapore
#237 of 308 in Singapore
3.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Royal at Queens
Hotel Royal at Queens
#171 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.7 mi away
Value Hotel Thomson
Value Hotel Thomson
#192 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
VIP Hotel
VIP Hotel
#191 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#162 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Elizabeth Hotel by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal At Newton Hotel Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal At Newton Hotel Singapore

Property: Royal At Newton Hotel Singapore
Address: 36 Newton Road Hotel Royal, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal At Newton Hotel Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal At Newton Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing