We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tragic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #264 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of this month, its crap.
So many great hotels at responsible prices in Singapore and I choose this one. :(
The service here at the Hotel Royal was something you would tolerate is you were staying in a war torn third world country, and even then your hope for more. Internet WiFi is a scam. Business center is a joke. Laundry service overpriced and under-serviced, and outsourced. I staying in a renovated room, however the bathroom was original, it was ok in terms of decor. Housekeeping doesn't replenish the minibar and take room service trays out when cleaning the room, they just clean around it.
Seems to me that this hotel caters [poorly] for inbound package tours from India, and mainland china. I would invite any of my enemies to stay at this hotel, next stop Syria.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miles_of_Smiles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

It's quite an old hotel with very old design style. Location wise its pretty ok as not too Far from the MRT.

Staff are not helpful at all.. I'm pretty amazed to see the amount of guest they are having even though with that kind of service.

Will not be going back..

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Done a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I took Singapore Stopover holiday package where I entered hotel at 7'o clock morning while got the room in 9:30 morning though their usual check-in time 3pm. When entered the room I was like wow as I was given suit and it has really big room. Room amenities are bit old but clean. Staffs are very cordial and friendly. Very near to Novena MRT station and bus stop is just in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilshadul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

This hotel is little know but one of the very good hotel in Singapore, especially the new building which is kind of apartment hotel is awesome. Brand new building with spacious room and kitchen ware in side is great place to be. How ever old building is not so attractive but you have Chinese heritage kind of special rooms which are very spacious with drawing room and a dining area. i got free upgrade to this special rooms both the time i stayed there once in new building which has one double and one single bed perfect for family. Location is NOVENA and all busy streets are around. Metro is just five minutes walk and there is food court serving reasonable food and beverages. Overall great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoldieMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Very slow check in. Inert staff. Pretty lazy service - after escalation to manager only you can get your tv operated after 1 full day. Room amenities are good. You can avail buses just infront of the hotel. MRT is also 5 min walk. Newton food court is 3 min. Breakfast spread is average and not value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gh0raghuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Hotel itself was ok but checking in was so slow we were kept waiting 45 minutes only 2 staff were on the desk and seemed to be unaware of how frustrated people were becoming There were only around 4 couples waiting and the couple in front of us were told their room was not ready , when finally it was our turn we were told the same , we could of understood it if it was before 2pm but it was 5pm and we were tired after a flight from Sydney , we only had 3 nights in Singapore so did not want to waste our time .The location of the hotel was someway out of the main area and we always had to travel by bus or MRT which luckily was just up the road and the bus stop was outside the hotel .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie20003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Hotel Royal Singapore though 4-star in rating but I would say its services and the amenities are already going down the drain. We spent 3 nights here last December 2013 for our annual family holiday, and I feel it was a total ripped off. Let's start with the most basic needs a traveller would have inside a hotel room after a long journey: a bottled water. The hotel does not offer a even a piece of a bottled water. When I complaint to the front desk regarding safe drinking water, all I was told was , "Singapore's tap water are safe to drink there fore you could drink form it or you could buy a bottled water in the nearby 7-11". No way they can make me drink from tap water I don't care even if it is the Buckingham Palace or the White House 's tap water they want me to drink. I will never gamble on my health!! Wow! A very hospitable gesture from someone in a hospitable industry. Thank you very much.
Second, in this day and age where internet connection is a as basic as offering soap and toilet paper when you checked in, guess what? They have the most expensive internet access rate, about SG$18 for about 10 hours!! Mygollywow, internet access should be part , hotel should not make money out of the basic needs of their guests, if they want repeat patronage of guests.

The rooms are big, however the old furniture and facilities - TV sets need fixing ( TV sets in our room and the room of my nieces have problems) .

Location wise it is near Orchard road about 10 mins bus ride or taxi ride. It situated in the more high end residential area of Singapore, thus it is quiet . There are 2 small malls nearby along Novena Rd where MRT Station (NS20) is located and along Thomson Rd . Hospitals are quite nearby as well. A bust stop is located in front of the hotel. Please note that Novena MRT station is nearer compared to Newton Station.

Over-all Price: Expensive. Services : Poor. Recommendation: Will never go back.

Room Tip: Just ask to be upgrade to De Luxe Room that way you could get a little bargain for what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Inier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#165 of 319 in Singapore
758 reviews
RELC International Hotel
#183 of 319 in Singapore
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#125 of 319 in Singapore
1,023 reviews
V Hotel Lavender
#147 of 319 in Singapore
3,772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #264 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £66 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing