We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Internet is $2 per 15 minutes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Royal Singapore
Ranked #241 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Internet is $2 per 15 minutes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The only thing that saves this hotel in my review is the spacious room. But again I am not sure it worth the price.

You don't get internet, breakfast wasn't included despite the price. Pool is a concrete hole with broken chairs around and to reach it you got to walk through the lobby in your swimming trunks.

Next time we will choose something else. Oh and aircon was unstoppable, but okay, that happens.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    232
    243
    97
    74
See reviews for
192
111
53
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
293 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was here on the Singapore Airlines Stopover Offer - so I didn't have much of a choice of hotels.
The place is quite central from what I could see. Check-in took forever at 5.00pm in the evening (these things happen). They offer you a coffee on arrival - sweet gesture.
The room is the outstanding feature very big and very comfortable.
What I didn't like was their outlandish rates for the use of the internet.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobYourUncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George Town, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Hotel Royal is a nice hotel. I like old refurbished hotels because they have spacious room (unlike the new hotel). I have place for my luggage, a nice wardrobe with ironing board. and umbrella! Everything is similar to one of the 5 stars hotel i have stayed in Singapore before. The only disadvantage is its location. It is 10 min walk away from Novena MRT station. Overall excellent!!

Room Tip: Family room is spacious for 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IvySoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here because it was close to our son's apartment. One of the things we liked was the older style nothing sterile. The staff were helpful the breakfast was very good.our room was very acceptable and kept very clean. We will stay there again this year

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Senseijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived after booking for two adults and 2 children online. The booking came up with max 3 per room.
When we arrived they were very accommodating upgrading our room at no extra price and giving us an extra portable bed.
The kids lived coming back to the pool. Staff were very accommodating.
Definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelled7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel at the beginning of this month, its crap.
So many great hotels at responsible prices in Singapore and I choose this one. :(
The service here at the Hotel Royal was something you would tolerate is you were staying in a war torn third world country, and even then your hope for more. Internet WiFi is a scam. Business center is a joke. Laundry service overpriced and under-serviced, and outsourced. I staying in a renovated room, however the bathroom was original, it was ok in terms of decor. Housekeeping doesn't replenish the minibar and take room service trays out when cleaning the room, they just clean around it.
Seems to me that this hotel caters [poorly] for inbound package tours from India, and mainland china. I would invite any of my enemies to stay at this hotel, next stop Syria.

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miles_of_Smiles_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

It's quite an old hotel with very old design style. Location wise its pretty ok as not too Far from the MRT.

Staff are not helpful at all.. I'm pretty amazed to see the amount of guest they are having even though with that kind of service.

Will not be going back..

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Done a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel Royal at Queens
#164 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Hotel Boss
#137 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,443 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Link Hotel
Link Hotel
#149 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
V Hotel Lavender
#150 of 306 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,504 reviews
Furama RiverFront
#111 of 306 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Singapore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Singapore

Property: Hotel Royal Singapore
Address: 36 Newton Road, Singapore 307964, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Royal Singapore 3.5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the upscale neighborhood, Hotel Royal is centrally located with only 5 minutes drive away from the shopping and entertainment haven of Orchard Road. A short walk will bring you to 3 major shopping centres and Novena MRT Station. Newton Food Centre is about 800m away from Hotel Royal where one can enjoy Singapore fabulous local food. With the prime location, the refurbished rooms and our continued emphasis on service excellence, Hotel Royal strives to provide you “Every Room A Home” feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal Singapore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing