We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for your money since Singapore is expensive!”
Review of Haising Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haising Hotel
Ranked #225 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
karachi
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Good value for your money since Singapore is expensive!”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

$50per night without windows or $55 with windows for a single person , you can't get a better hotel and location than Haising near Jalan Besar. If you want to spend 8-10 hours outdoors exploring the city and will be there for a two-three hour rest in between or 6-7 hour night sleep later, then this hotel is perfect for this. A small private washroom+working aircon+one clean bed and small space for your belongings etc. It is exactly what it claims for in its description : no extra bells and whistles.

pros:
Great location. Bugis mrt/little india mrt, bus stops, street markets, massage parlors, internet cafes,restaurants and malls like Sim Lim Square are a few steps away.Security is 24/7. cameras are installed. You can go out of the hotel at any time of the date be it early morning or late night, no restrictions imposed whatsoever.

cons:
I can't think of none. Just for the sake of writing a review, there is a construction work going on for "downtown line mrt" it won't even concern you if you are spending most of your time away from your hotel but still a little bit hammering going on......

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    13
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
5
4
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Plus
- Friendly staff
- Storage available
- Amazing value for money
- Clean
- Shops/Malls/restaurants nearby (try the Indian restaurant next to it!)
- Wifi even on the 4th floor

Minus
- No elevator (wasn't an issue for me even on the 4th floor)
- Small single room (it's not as if you'd be spending your day in the room)

I stayed at the Haising hotel for 3 nights. Conveniently located near Bugis station, you can reach the city center (City Hall) in 15 mns by foot. Singapore is small so you can go out and still walk home late at night (25 mns from Clark Quay, 35 from Marina bay, etc.).

You can leave your key at the counter when you leave so as not to lose it. There is always someone in the lobby to open the door for you at night.

I had a single room on the 4th floor. As I'm quite sensitive to sound, I asked for a room without windows. Works great! Most people would think the room is small, but I didn't really care as I wanted a clean bed, a shower and an aircon to sleep at night. The room was VERY clean and the staff comes everyday at 4-5 pm to clean it thoroughly, including changing sheets/towels.

Wifi is of course available, and there are 2 power plugs in the single room - one UK style, and one US/JPN style.

Can't think of anything negative honestly. Great value for money!

From a French person on a short trip to Sg.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vagou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed there for business stay of 5 nights.
Rooms are really tiny and get cleaned (fresh towels) every day. If you are travelling with 2 and a lot of luggage you might have a problem.
There is no lift up the stairs, but free wifi in your room. Also hot shower & A/C
No breakfast is served but you are close to shops and malls to get a bite any time of the day.
The price for a double bed room, with window (can can`t noisy out on the streets/traffic) was SGD $65 on a weekday, SGD $75 weekend.

Room Tip: 414 is with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank belgajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

As an earlier reviewer said, you get what you pay for.

I'm a no-frills traveler and the Haising has everything I require. The bed is flat, comfortable and scrupulously clean (I know, I've seen them scrubbing mattresses on more than one occasion).

The shower is en-suite (don't share a room with someone you don't know REALLY well), hot and powerful.

The room is clean and well aired.

The air-con works well.

The TV has a couple of channels in English, Malay or Mandarin.

There is a kettle with free instant coffee.

The whole hotel has free WIFI.

There is a desktop computer with printer in the lobby.

They will collect you from the airport (but there is a good MRT link if you don't have much baggage)..

They have a big store room so you can leave your baggage after check out. If you have a really late flight, they have a bathroom out the back so you can shower before you fly.

The flights of stairs are a chore, and would be particularly unpleasant if you were lugging a heavy suitcase. However, if you specify a first floor room they will try and reserve you one.

Rooms with a window are extra and not worth the money, all you see is the facade of the building in front or the facade of the building behind. PLUS, they get all the noise from the street and Jalan Besar is always heaving.

There isn't room to swing a cat.

The beds do touch the walls on three sides. But, if like me, you come to Singapore to SEE Singapore rather than lie about your hotel room then it ticks all the boxes.

Plus, it's less than a five minute walk to either Bugis MRT (green line), Little India (purple) OR the Queen Street Bus terminal (Where the Malaysian buses stop if you arrive over land).
There is also Sim Lim Square (electronics), Little India (culture), Bugis Street (tourist), and Bugis Junction (shopping, food, cinema).

I've stayed here on more than one occasion, with partners, family and friends. If all you need is somewhere central to shower and sleep then this is as good as any and better than lots.

Room Tip: Two flights of stairs to the first floor! Rooms at the back are quieter. Rooms higher up are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nurhazlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I have travelled to a lot of places and we were actually staying somewhere else but we lost our key so just walked the streets until we found a hotel we could afford.

The room cost S$70 and was up 4 flights of stairs (no lift). When we walked in there was enough room for a double bed, and nothing else. There was a cupboard with a toilet and a shower in it but MY GOD I WOULD NOT SHOWER IN THERE!!!

The bottom sheet was covered in Urine stains (i don't know if the sheets had been changed or not) and so i put the top sheet down on top of that to sleep on. The top sheet was covered in blood stains.

There was no window either, and no electricity or clock so we had no idea what time it was but when the next door room turned on the TV we woke up and left very very quickly. The TV was so loud I swear I don't understand how it could be so loud coming through a wall?!!?

anyway... AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

if you want somewhere cheap to stay but still want your own room... go to a hostel... most hotels have double rooms or private singles.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ltravel212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Colnbrook
Level Contributor
244 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2008

The staff at reception are relatively nice and can offer lots of information about the area.
I opted for a single room with a window. However the window was of little use - as it just looked onto the other side of the hotel - so nothing exciting to view.
The rooms are very small, and barely enough space to open a suit-case. There is no wardrobe - but you are provided with a few hanging hooks on the back of the door.
The en-suite facilities are small but functional and the air-con is a much needed component.
Laundry costs $10 to do.
Be aware the hotel is close to a Mosque and their prayers over the tannoy start at 4-5am in the morning - so you'll definitely wake up with that.
Other than that - nice small convenient hotel.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Room size - but you're made aware of that on the hotel web site
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T_Virdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Asphodel Inn Singapore
#274 of 312 in Singapore
120 reviews
City Inn Mackenzie
#154 of 312 in Singapore
304 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Rochor
Hotel 81 Rochor
#196 of 312 in Singapore
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#250 of 312 in Singapore
130 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#99 of 312 in Singapore
489 reviews
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#165 of 312 in Singapore
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haising Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haising Hotel

Property: Haising Hotel
Address: 37 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208801, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Haising Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Haising Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haising Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing