We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for its price and rooms”
Review of Haising Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Haising Hotel
Ranked #220 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Haising hotel is located at Jalan Besar which is a quiet vicinity and probably has cheaper accommodations than other areas like Little India,Chinatown,Orchard Road.i stayed there in March this year.rooms are very small but clean with attached toilet,aircondition,free wifi,window.price is reasonable for Singapore(you dont want to spend all your money on overpriced hotels in Singapore).nearest MRT is Bugis station and its a 10-15 minutes walk from the hotel.recommended.

**Try the Egg Prata with gravy at the roadside Indian restaurant next door from Haising.mouth watering taste!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candlemass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

Pros:
-good location
-friendly front desk staff
-good wifi
-very good communication for reservation
-good price for Singapore
-clean towels daily

Cons:
-very small rooms (but you knew that -- it's Singapore)
-very stained top sheets upon our check in (replaced apologetically with brand new ones)
-a few small cockroaches
-mouse droppings
-A/C only works when you are in room, so very warm upon returning each time

Room Tip: There is subway construction in front of the hotel, so perhaps you want to avoid a room in the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

$50per night without windows or $55 with windows for a single person , you can't get a better hotel and location than Haising near Jalan Besar. If you want to spend 8-10 hours outdoors exploring the city and will be there for a two-three hour rest in between or 6-7 hour night sleep later, then this hotel is perfect for this. A small private washroom+working aircon+one clean bed and small space for your belongings etc. It is exactly what it claims for in its description : no extra bells and whistles.

pros:
Great location. Bugis mrt/little india mrt, bus stops, street markets, massage parlors, internet cafes,restaurants and malls like Sim Lim Square are a few steps away.Security is 24/7. cameras are installed. You can go out of the hotel at any time of the date be it early morning or late night, no restrictions imposed whatsoever.

cons:
I can't think of none. Just for the sake of writing a review, there is a construction work going on for "downtown line mrt" it won't even concern you if you are spending most of your time away from your hotel but still a little bit hammering going on......

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelersing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Plus
- Friendly staff
- Storage available
- Amazing value for money
- Clean
- Shops/Malls/restaurants nearby (try the Indian restaurant next to it!)
- Wifi even on the 4th floor

Minus
- No elevator (wasn't an issue for me even on the 4th floor)
- Small single room (it's not as if you'd be spending your day in the room)

I stayed at the Haising hotel for 3 nights. Conveniently located near Bugis station, you can reach the city center (City Hall) in 15 mns by foot. Singapore is small so you can go out and still walk home late at night (25 mns from Clark Quay, 35 from Marina bay, etc.).

You can leave your key at the counter when you leave so as not to lose it. There is always someone in the lobby to open the door for you at night.

I had a single room on the 4th floor. As I'm quite sensitive to sound, I asked for a room without windows. Works great! Most people would think the room is small, but I didn't really care as I wanted a clean bed, a shower and an aircon to sleep at night. The room was VERY clean and the staff comes everyday at 4-5 pm to clean it thoroughly, including changing sheets/towels.

Wifi is of course available, and there are 2 power plugs in the single room - one UK style, and one US/JPN style.

Can't think of anything negative honestly. Great value for money!

From a French person on a short trip to Sg.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vagou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Stayed there for business stay of 5 nights.
Rooms are really tiny and get cleaned (fresh towels) every day. If you are travelling with 2 and a lot of luggage you might have a problem.
There is no lift up the stairs, but free wifi in your room. Also hot shower & A/C
No breakfast is served but you are close to shops and malls to get a bite any time of the day.
The price for a double bed room, with window (can can`t noisy out on the streets/traffic) was SGD $65 on a weekday, SGD $75 weekend.

Room Tip: 414 is with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank belgajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

As an earlier reviewer said, you get what you pay for.

I'm a no-frills traveler and the Haising has everything I require. The bed is flat, comfortable and scrupulously clean (I know, I've seen them scrubbing mattresses on more than one occasion).

The shower is en-suite (don't share a room with someone you don't know REALLY well), hot and powerful.

The room is clean and well aired.

The air-con works well.

The TV has a couple of channels in English, Malay or Mandarin.

There is a kettle with free instant coffee.

The whole hotel has free WIFI.

There is a desktop computer with printer in the lobby.

They will collect you from the airport (but there is a good MRT link if you don't have much baggage)..

They have a big store room so you can leave your baggage after check out. If you have a really late flight, they have a bathroom out the back so you can shower before you fly.

The flights of stairs are a chore, and would be particularly unpleasant if you were lugging a heavy suitcase. However, if you specify a first floor room they will try and reserve you one.

Rooms with a window are extra and not worth the money, all you see is the facade of the building in front or the facade of the building behind. PLUS, they get all the noise from the street and Jalan Besar is always heaving.

There isn't room to swing a cat.

The beds do touch the walls on three sides. But, if like me, you come to Singapore to SEE Singapore rather than lie about your hotel room then it ticks all the boxes.

Plus, it's less than a five minute walk to either Bugis MRT (green line), Little India (purple) OR the Queen Street Bus terminal (Where the Malaysian buses stop if you arrive over land).
There is also Sim Lim Square (electronics), Little India (culture), Bugis Street (tourist), and Bugis Junction (shopping, food, cinema).

I've stayed here on more than one occasion, with partners, family and friends. If all you need is somewhere central to shower and sleep then this is as good as any and better than lots.

Room Tip: Two flights of stairs to the first floor! Rooms at the back are quieter. Rooms higher up are quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nurhazlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I have travelled to a lot of places and we were actually staying somewhere else but we lost our key so just walked the streets until we found a hotel we could afford.

The room cost S$70 and was up 4 flights of stairs (no lift). When we walked in there was enough room for a double bed, and nothing else. There was a cupboard with a toilet and a shower in it but MY GOD I WOULD NOT SHOWER IN THERE!!!

The bottom sheet was covered in Urine stains (i don't know if the sheets had been changed or not) and so i put the top sheet down on top of that to sleep on. The top sheet was covered in blood stains.

There was no window either, and no electricity or clock so we had no idea what time it was but when the next door room turned on the TV we woke up and left very very quickly. The TV was so loud I swear I don't understand how it could be so loud coming through a wall?!!?

anyway... AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

if you want somewhere cheap to stay but still want your own room... go to a hostel... most hotels have double rooms or private singles.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lemd1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Penta Hotel
#246 of 319 in Singapore
74 reviews
Little India
Hotel 81 Dickson
Hotel 81 Dickson
#175 of 319 in Singapore
1,231 reviews
Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
Santa Grand Hotel Little India
#165 of 319 in Singapore
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Little India
Perak Hotel
Perak Hotel
#167 of 319 in Singapore
575 reviews
Little India
Tai Hoe
Tai Hoe
#124 of 319 in Singapore
527 reviews
Marina Bay
Marina Bay Sands
Marina Bay Sands
#37 of 319 in Singapore
23,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haising Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haising Hotel

Address: 37 Jalan Besar, Singapore 208801, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Little India , Rochor
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £34 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Haising Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HostelWorld so you can book your Haising Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haising Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing