We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No blankets : what's that ??? Oh sorry, you have to pay for it.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Superb Hub @ Bugis City

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Singapore
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Ranked #165 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Riyadh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“No blankets : what's that ??? Oh sorry, you have to pay for it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

55 SGD = 34 € for having a 6 sqm room : shared bathroom, no blankets, no towel, no soap, no shampoo
You have to pay 1 SGD for having a towel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Micki83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
9
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Before writing reviewing, it's important to mention that Singapore is a completely different kettle of fish to the rest of South East Asia both in terms of room size and price. So yes the rooms at Superb Hostel are small, but there is a lot to keep you busy in Singapore, so the likelihood is that you will only be using it to sleep in anyway!! The bathroom is shared and the first and second floors have toilet and shower combo cubicles, with the top floor having more spacious showers, with no toilets.

Ron was very helpful throughout our stay, giving directions when asked and also allowing us to use the laundry facilities at a reduced rate (I researched Laundrette's in Singapore and they weren't cheap, so this was a godsend since we had a lot of washing to do!)

The hostel is located in a good area, around a 5 minute walk to Bugis MRT station and within walking distance of the Raffles complex and Little India (highly recommend going to Mogul's in Little India - the Samosa's are superb!) If, like us, you don't mind a walk, the Marina is only a 20/30 min walk and, as Singapore lacks the heavy bike traffic, feels like a safe walk in comparison to other big Asian cities.

Overall, nothing to complain about here when compared with other Hostels, would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

I stayed there during my Malaysia and Singapore trip. The Hotel is conveniently located from major attractions of the city. The Service is not so good but location compensates for it. In an all you can stay there if you want no frills hotel with value for money.

Room Tip: I stayed there during my Malaysia Singapore Trip, The hotel is conveniently located from major attra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muneeb529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

We stayed there in 2008 and the place was a gem. Today, it is very much ran down (e.g. damp on the walls) and the rooms are separated by a very thin wall that does not even go up to the roof, so you can hear the noise from the neighbors. In addition, construction work is being done in the place and in the surroundings (without prior notice by email) so impossible to sleep after 8am. We had to leave earlier than expected, as we were so disappointed, and were not reimbursed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

My friend and I checked in here after we arrived in Singapore at about 1am. Mr Tang checked us in as soon as we arrived and he was very friendly. He gave us lots of advice about the places to eat and see nearby.

Our room was a twin room. It was pretty small, but had everything we needed - mattress, pillow, table, chair, fan, air-conditioning and blanket. It was all very clean. The showers on the top level were great. There were also computers with the internet available to use. However, the toilet was tiny and had a shower above it which was a bit weird - and they were smelly. I tried to avoid these as much as possible!

Overall, it was just what we needed after our long flight, but I wouldn't recommend it for any stay longer than one night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VeeTee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

The Hostel / Hotel is perfectly located in the "Arabic" part of the city. Nice bars and restaurants are just around the corner. I booked a single room for 50 S$ per night. After arriving there I recognized that the single room is a very small chamber with walls only up to 2 meters and not till the roof. It means that you have a doorm feeling because you here everything around you. Also the promised Internet WIFI was available but not really working. Overall I recommend a doorm in a cheaper place. Its the same...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hennack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Very budget hotel. Only if you need to stay for a night and dont want to spend money on a 4 star hotel. Rooms cant accommodate 2 adults and 2 kids comfortably. Also they do not have a rrestaurant in the hotel. You have to use the one next door for breakfast. Breakfast is very poor. More Indian than continental.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Kampong Glam
The Ardennes Hotel
The Ardennes Hotel
#177 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Kampong Glam
Village Hotel Bugis by Far East Hospitality
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#117 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kampong Glam
ABC Hostel
ABC Hostel
#217 of 309 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Kampong Glam
Superb Hostel
Superb Hostel
#132 of 226 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Kampong Glam
Adamson Inn
Adamson Inn
#7 of 77 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Superb Hub @ Bugis City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superb Hub @ Bugis City

Property: Superb Hub @ Bugis City
Address: 148 Arab Street, Singapore 199831, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Kampong Glam , Rochor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 226 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Superb Hub @ Bugis City Hotel Singapore
Superb Hub @ Bugis City Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing