We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Ranked #64 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Was in Singapore for 2 days and chose to stay on the Ibis. I booked it really cheap on a sale and was hoping I was going to get good value for money. On arriving to the hotel it is very modern, restaurant and lobby downstairs very clean and immediately I knew it would be a good stay. I went to my room, it was smallish but more than comfortable with all the mod cons and a really comfortable bed. I had a room which looked out over the city which was nice. The food at the restaurant was nice - was a little expensive. They had free wifi and ipads in the lobby for guests to use if they brought nothing wifi compatible with them... Bus stop right outside and Bugis MRT station only a 5 minute walk away. From the airport on the MRT it took about 20 mins to get to Bugis station. To get to the sights like Marina Bay it is a short ride on the MRT. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rl_referre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear rl_referre,
I am glad that your stay was an enjoyable one and we are able to meet your expectations.
During your next visit, feel free to approach our front desk and they will be more than happy to show you around the city.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to ibis Bencoolen soon.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,851
    3,510
    899
    100
    44
See reviews for
1,281
2,274
900
1,133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (652)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Check in June 1, what a convinent place to stay in. There is a bus stop just right in front of the hotel. The concept was simple and I do support for green environment which can only service the room just after check out. Chemical = Harm full (I love my planet). I was given a room on 5th floor. Haha Haha the 'guan yin' temple is right facing me. The only need to brief out is the shower hose in the room is time to change a new one. Why not, the room attendant try to report and fix it by the engineering. So far, room was clean and up to standard. The mattress is soft enough. The breakfast, WOW a lot of variety to pick up what to eat. Well, I do come back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mei-659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Mei,
I appreciate your comments very much and pleased to know that your overall stay was a great one.
Thank you for joining us to support our sustainable program and I look forward to welcoming you back at the ibis Bencoolen soon.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed in Singapore in early June 2014. Room was a bit small but everything else was fantastic. For $168 per night, we got free wi-fi, a phone with 3GB of 3G to use for phoning Singapore and numbers in multiple other countries (for free) and free access to California gym. Room was clean and well serviced. Air-conditioning was excellent with thermostat control. Location is pretty good - about 5 mins walk to Bugis MRT and Bugis shopping centre. About 15-20 mins walk to Dhoby Ghaut. A few minutes walk to the local hawker food centre. Will definitely stay here again.

Reuben (manager - I think..) was very friendly and allowed us to check out at 8pm for our late flight back to Sydney. It was really appreciated and was nice to see such excellent and friendly service. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We were on the 10th floor - it was quiet for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaurizioL1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent comments, MaurizioL. I am grateful and happy to learn that you had a great stay with us.
It is my pleasure to hear that the “3G Smartphone” which gives you access to unlimited internet and unlimited local and international calls to selected countries is a plus point to you.
I do hope that you enjoyed the gym session at the California Fitness Centre that includes a full access to all gym equipments and classes.
Last but not least, I will share your comment with our Duty Manager, Ruben for his hospitality and service, I’m sure that he must be very happy reading your comment.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We had a 2-day, 1-night stopover in Singapore, as always when we come back from Europe to New Zealand. I think we have now found our ideal place to stay. It's a standard Ibis, but clean and in a great, central location. The reception staff, though, make the difference, as they are invariably nice and helpful. The only weak point is the breakfast, as the room is very busy and noisy, like a school canteen! The buffet is ok but nothing fancy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max_1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear max_1966,
I am glad to hear that ibis Bencoolen has now became your ideal place to stay in Singapore.
Thank you for your kind comments to our team, I am sure that this will motivate them greatly.
On behalf of the Team, it is our privilege to assist you, and I thank you for recognizing the team’s efforts on a public forum like this.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel is in a very handy area of Singapore. Staff are friendly and willing to assist in any way.
My room and bathroom was spotlesly clean.
I stayed there for 3 nights and if I was to go to Singapore again I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.
There was plenty of variety at breakfast, I don't think anyone can complain (and I'm a fussy eater!)
Overall, a very pleasant experience and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelling_boy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Travelling_boy1969,
It is wonderful to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location, friendly service, clean room as well as the great selection of buffet breakfast, which consist of a mixture of western and local delicacies.
Thank you for highly recommending the ibis Bencoolen and I am delighted to know that you will be returning for another excellent stay!
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed again for 3 nights at the Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen; this time twin sharing a room with a work colleague on the 16th floor. Compared with my previous 2010 stay at this hotel, I noted that there was an ironing board and iron in our room and the small fridge also worked well. Our booking included breakfast. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the airconditioning efficient (after a few hours), so both my colleague and myself slept well. The room included USB ports on the bedhead for charging, which helps when there are two people in the room. The shower included a single shampoo/shower gel dispenser, although one cake of soap was also provided each day.

The room was on the opposite (i.e. south east facing) side of the hotel to my previous stay and, being on the 16th floor, we had a good view from our room.

First, some great positives:
* As many reviewers have noted the location of this Ibis is fabulous. It is a very short, level walk to Bugis Junction and there are two hawkers food markets within 100 metres of the hotel for travellers who wish to experience inexpensive lunches and dinners,
* The selection of hot breakfast items was again excellent,
* The free wi-fi in the rooms seemed to be relatively fast, and
* Check in and check out was fast and efficient.

A few minor quibbles for travellers to note:
* No hand towels were provided in the bathroom,
* The luggage storage is quite limited for two suitcases - fortunately the beds have clear space under them and I ended putting my travel pack under my bed so we could more around the room without tripping over our luggage,
* The housekeeping staff put (and kept returning) the room bin to a very narrow slot between the clothes hanging doorless "closet" and the "bookcase" where the kettle is. We moved the bin to the other side of "closet" so our shirts would not be splashed by tea bags being put in the bin, but housekeeping kept putting it back,
* While free tea and coffee is provided the supplies were somewhat miserly - only two coffee sachets and two tea bags each day. Luckily one of us drank tea and the other coffee,
* The four lifts still serve every floor so sometimes there can be quite a wait for a lift. This could be easily be addressed by making at least one lift an "express" lift to service floors 10 and above, and
* The hotel had run out of the EZ link cards which are advertised on the website as being included in the room, so we had to purchase these at Bugis MRT station.

At about $200AUD (including breakfast for 2 people) we thought the Ibis Bencoolen is excellent value and I would be very happy to stay here again.

TC

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThinController
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear TC,
I am glad to hear that you had yet another great stay with us since 2010 and I very much appreciate that you note the changes of the in-room facilities as well as the extra benefits we offered.
We are in the midst of changing all our beds to the ibis Sweet bed which, you will find the mattress much softer and extra room for luggage storage under the bed.
Thank you for bringing to our attention your experience with our housekeeping service, rest assured that I will highlight this matter to our Housekeeping team for their immediate follow up.
Pertaining to your comment on the EZ-link card, I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy the service as we were overwhelmed by rising demands; we have doubled up the orders and I hope that you will be able to enjoy it during your next visit.
Once again, thank you for your great review and I look forward to welcoming you back at the ibis Bencoolen soon!
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel G Singapore
Hotel G Singapore
#68 of 312 in Singapore
568 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel YAN
Hotel YAN
#61 of 312 in Singapore
360 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis Singapore Novena
ibis Singapore Novena
#98 of 312 in Singapore
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boss
Hotel Boss
#150 of 312 in Singapore
1,630 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Singapore Clarke Quay
0.8 mi away
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#12 of 312 in Singapore
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen

Property: Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen
Address: 170 Bencoolen Street, Singapore 189657, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Singapore
#37 Business Hotel in Singapore
#38 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen 3*
Number of rooms: 538
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal hotel location in Singapore next to Singapore shopping & business centers with an 8-minute walk to Bugis MRT. TASTE Restaurant serves international cuisine and local Singapore dishes daily. Best Economy Hotel in Asia Pacific by TTG in 2009-12. Certificate of Excellence awarded by Tripadvisor in 2012-15. FREE WiFi access, international adaptors, USB chargers, complimentary access to 2,300 newspapers, free use of a bamboo bicycle and Reloadable EZ-link card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Singapore on Bencoolen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Singapore On Bencoolen Hotel Singapore
Accor Singapore On Bencoolen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing