We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (7,069)
Filter reviews
7,069 results
Traveller rating
2,113
3,820
974
111
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,113
3,820
974
111
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little india bugis junction sim lim square free wifi bugis area rooms are small bus stop walking distance mrt stations central location hawker centre food court local food location is great short stay clean hotel late check
Filter
Updating list...
2,344 - 2,349 of 7,069 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

As a stopover hotel this is a good choice. Well placed for walking to attractions and several shopping centres. Also very close to Singapore's transport (MRT) train station. Rooms are simple but have all you need. Restaurant serves Singaporean 'tapas' style dishes which are varied and just right if you want a tasty snack. Lots of local cafe close by. Late checkout till 6pm cost us more but was worth it. They have several free extras at the moment such as bike hire and free MRT card to use - though you have to put money on it.

Room tip: All are OK
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HafodBlueMountains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at ibis Singapore on Bencoolen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear HafodBlueMountains,

It is heartening to read your positive stay experience at the ibis Bencoolen during your recent stopover in Singapore. We are in a great location close to major attractions and within walking distance to Bugis Street, Orchard Road, Little India, Arab Street and more. Our team work very hard to enhance guest experience and I hope all the additional facilities come in handy to you. Please do not hesitate to contact me when you are returning for another great stay!

Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed for 4 nights with spouse. The hotel gets a thumbs up because of its great location and the extraordinary service. Check-in and Check-out were both fast. Room is small but cozy. You get what is promised. The staff is very helpful. Special mention and Thanks to Bala for being ever available...There is a 7/11 next door that remains open all day around. Would love to come back again!

Room tip: Rooms on the higher floors provide a good view of the city
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PhaniParankusham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at ibis Singapore on Bencoolen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear PhaniParankusham,

It is indeed delightful to hear that you found our hotel proximity to the train station and shopping mall highly convenient. Likewise, we are glad that our room and facilities suited your needs and that the service levels were to your expectations. I appreciate your kind compliments to our staff, Bala who has provided you and your spouse a great stay. Thank you for your review and I do hope that you will return in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at ibis Singapore on Bencoolen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 15 July 2014

A great location,close to Bugis street,5 minute walk to Bras Basah MRT,easy walk to Sun City.Taxis are plentiful and very reasonably priced,take a trip to Smith st,great hawker food or to Gluttons on Marina Bay great food and watch the night time laser show.

Room tip: The room was a little on the small size,but the rest of the hotel amenities made up for it.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at ibis Singapore on Bencoolen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear David,
It is indeed delightful to hear that our hotel location and proximity to the train stations, nearby shopping malls and attractions served your needs well and overall you had a relax stay at the ibis Bencoolen.
Thank you again for your review and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Had opted this hotel due to the location and because of Accor silver member. However, regretted to stay at this property due to the staff attitude.

Being silver card holder, the reception gave us a voucher entitling us to have a complimentary drinks from the bar, however, while approaching the bar the staff refused to offer alcohol (brandy), saying it is not included, later after complaining the reception and after 15mts of drama the staff gave a glass with hardly 10ml spirit, not sure which one, due to their attitude I did not touch the drink.

The complimentary welcome drink is been offered by the hotel, but by the actions of the staff I felt as if they are doing some great favor by offering 10ml of liquor to a member

Other than this, the rates are higher, that is with almost all hotels in Singapore. Our rates were not included with B/F, but there are plenty of food places near by.

Tap water is drinkable, as per the hotel, hence, no free water was offered.

Free wifi, coffee/tea maker, iron board were available in the room.

Location was good, except the staff attitude, no other disappointment.

For sure will not return to this property as there are plenty of good hotels near by with better rates and customer service. Being a accor silver member, if the staff behave such rude manner, what more we can say..

Room tip: high floor rooms
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibisBencoolen, Quality Services at ibis Singapore on Bencoolen Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Ajesh K,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location and facilities, it is disheartening to learn that you did not enjoy our offer of a complimentary welcome drink. At ibis Bencoolen, we value our members and choose to go the extra step and offer the 4 star welcome beverages. We normally receive very good feedback from our members on this, so I am sorry if this left you unsatisfied for any reason.
As you can appreciate, we need to ensure consistency and a level of control when offering such added extras to our valued members. As noted on our drink vouchers, holders are entitled to certain house pour spirits as well as beer, wine and non-alcoholic options. Although your brandy was not included in this offer, I am glad my team chose to appease you and offer it anyway.
Once again we are sorry you felt our service was not up to standard, but thank you for sharing your feedback.
Kind regards,
Alison-Quality Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews