We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly, clean, steal of a deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Ranked #141 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly, clean, steal of a deal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2011

This was my first experience in a hostel and I gotta say, it was great. I had zero expectations, only needing a bed for a night, and was pleasantly surprised that it was comfortable and stress free.

I was tired of lugging around my overnight backpack and stumbled across this hostel, it was what it was. Inexpensive, clean, free wifi, electrical outlets everywhere for secure charging of my phone, small locker, key code for the street level and inside doors (not the room doors, those are open), air conditioning was a bonus and appreciated.

Oh, if there is one thing I can say, the A/C was quite chilly & I hadn't prepared for that, fortunately they provide you with a big, thick, long towel, aside from the blanket. It came in handy.

Overall I'd recommend this spot to anyone.

What's nearby: Tons of food, shopping and historical buildings. Enjoy!

And remember, when you travel, please be considerate & kind to everyone. We are all connected. Peace, Love and Happiness to all beings :)

Helpful?
3 Thank SaraLovesYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    58
    75
    21
    32
See reviews for
16
58
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Garden Grove, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

I stayed in a private double bed room for 6 nights. I chose this hotel because it was cheap, and very conveniently located in the middle of Chinatown near the subway. At this price I had very low expectations. But there were a couple concerns: The hostel has a major ant problem. There were trails of ants in my room, the bathrooms and common rooms. They were always crawling on me, and even got into my luggage. The second concern was the major noise issue. There's a loud karaoke bar under the hostel which is always noisy late into the night. There's also a mosque right in front of the hostel. The prayer calls are blasted over loudspeakers which will wake you up at 5:50am every morning. Earplugs are a must! Even then I still never slept well. There was free wifi which was very slow and too weak to reach most rooms.

The room itself was very tiny- literally the size of my bed plus 3 extra feet to walk in and put your luggage down. It was very dumpy which sections of carpet missing, no TV. No real windows- the old windows are permanently shut and sealed off with plexiglass. At least the aircon worked great. Overall if you really need to sleep cheap and are willing to rough it, then I would stay here. Just be sure you know what you're getting into.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ndkingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Normal hostel in Chinatown.
Sometimes seems it lacks soul from stuff (in comparison with other hostels).
And it is not smoke-free - it was not so pleasant to go through a narrow corridor of smokers.

It's popular and was fully booked for my 3rd night - that's why I had to move to Beary Good Hostel - the one closer to MRT a business card of which I found in a locker of Backpackers Inn :)

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PavelNosikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2010

We arrived at 3am hoping to get a room were lucky to get one were greeted by genuine gangsters who exited the bar they were slightly confrontational andcwe felt uncomfortable as One muttered something underbreath and other asked us questions and they shook are hands. We found this hostel in a dangerous area the Room was ok and owner was alright. We are 19 year old blokes an felt uncomfortable wouldn't reccomend to people on there own or any girls

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidtheDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

We booked this place through hostel-bookers, it cost us $50 singapore / GBP 24. Which frankly was over, over, over priced for the dingy little hole that it was.

The place was cramped full of clutter and was dirty. We booked a double room, the room was tiny and litereally only contained a bed. The sheets were dirty and the room stank of stagnant smoke. The bed was also very uncomfy.

I almost got flattened by the wardrobe too - as it was leaning precariously forward!

We felt very sorry for the people in the "dorms" - the dorm beds were bunk beds crammed in a corridor / tiny long thing room - with no door for noise or privacy! Also the manager (a friendly big guy) slept there too and was the worlds loudest snorer - we again felt very sorry for the people in the "dorm" - at least we could shut a bit of the noise out in our cubicle of a double!

Nothing good to say about the rooms, the only positives were the free internet and the friendly manager - All in all one to STEER CLEAR of.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixieknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#48 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#125 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#96 of 223 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn Chinatown

Property: Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Address: 27-30A Mosque St | Chinatown, Singapore 059508, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inn Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Backpackers Inn Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Hotel Singapore
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing