We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap comfortable place for a shorter stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Ranked #141 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap comfortable place for a shorter stay”
Reviewed 24 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and kind of liked the place. The doorms are not really rooms, more separated by a single wall and curtains. But despies that the place is clean and most of the times quiet. We got a doorm closest to the kitchen making it sometimes noisy but mostly after 9 am making it fell ok. Only two toilets to share among about 25 people but it worked out fine and their really clean. I would recommend the place fop a cheap budget stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yasminarafat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    58
    75
    21
    32
See reviews for
16
58
52
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

i booked for the private double room, and i got a very clean room. it has a clean pantry and bathroom. and it also has a washing & drying machine, so you can wash your own clothes for free! (detergent provided). the only minus about this hostel was the pillow which was not comfortable.. i wish they upgrade the pillows hence it will be a perfect visit. overall i will come again to this hostel.

Room Tip: i'd say choose the double private room... :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yasmina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stayed here for a week and thought very highly of the place. The facilities are very good. Showers with soap and kitchen with enough facilities to prepare small meals, also drinking water and washer/drier. We really felt at home here. There is a house keeper who comes in everyday and cleans the shared kitchens and bathrooms replenishing water etc. We had a private double room it was small but clean. Also the wifi connection is brilliant, great if you have lot to organise. Staff are really friendly and always happy to help resolve any issues. Great location, mrt right round the corner which will take you everywhere and for next to nothing. There are a couple of karaoke bars down stairs which are loud but also really quite amusing. Would definitely return. Thank you for a really pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victim225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Excellent if you want to just stay there overnight and go out in the morning to explore Singapore and return back in the evening!
They have a nice kitchen with drinking water (don't have to spend extra money on buying bottled water).
Also soap and shower gel provided.
You can also wash your clothes for free.
There is also a computer with free internet!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side to avoid noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank vardezila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldsmar, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I stayed here and enjoyed the perfect location! Being in the Chinatown area has great shopping, nightlife and a safe environment. The rooms were very clean and spacious. The bathrooms were great and so was the kitchen. I highly recommend this Inn. Plus the Cow and Coolies karaoke bar next door was a great place to hang out with the locals!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiverDerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

this is my second time stay here. and still fascinating. specially the receptionist very nice. but yep for only 25 dollar what do u expect? u stay with a budget wat you pay

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kakek_ganas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

This was my first experience staying at a dorm. I had one private room with 3 beds shared with my other 2 friends. The room was quite small, but hey,what could you expect with only SGD 20/night?...This room was only meant to sleep at night as I spent almost the whole day outside the hostel
My rooms was at 3rd floor. There are two shared bathrooms, small kitchen, and internet room on this floor. The air con was misserable at the first night, but they fixed it immediately the next day.
Bottom line is this hostel is good, but I think I will try another hostel if I happen go back to Singapore :D

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diyahsusanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Chinatown
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
The Bohemian Chic Hostel
#53 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Chinatown
Beary Best! by a Beary Good Hostel!
Chinatown
Beds and Dreams Inn @ ChinaTown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
iStay.inn Singapore
iStay.inn Singapore
#148 of 225 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Chinatown
5footway.inn Project Chinatown 1
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#90 of 225 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn Chinatown

Property: Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Address: 30 Mosque Street 27 | Chinatown, Singapore 059508, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 225 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inn Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Backpackers Inn Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Hotel Singapore
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing