We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget stay in Chinatown, Singapore”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Backpackers Inn Chinatown
Ranked #130 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Normal hostel in Chinatown.
Sometimes seems it lacks soul from stuff (in comparison with other hostels).
And it is not smoke-free - it was not so pleasant to go through a narrow corridor of smokers.

It's popular and was fully booked for my 3rd night - that's why I had to move to Beary Good Hostel - the one closer to MRT a business card of which I found in a locker of Backpackers Inn :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavelNosikov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2010

We arrived at 3am hoping to get a room were lucky to get one were greeted by genuine gangsters who exited the bar they were slightly confrontational andcwe felt uncomfortable as One muttered something underbreath and other asked us questions and they shook are hands. We found this hostel in a dangerous area the Room was ok and owner was alright. We are 19 year old blokes an felt uncomfortable wouldn't reccomend to people on there own or any girls

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidtheDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2009

We booked this place through hostel-bookers, it cost us $50 singapore / GBP 24. Which frankly was over, over, over priced for the dingy little hole that it was.

The place was cramped full of clutter and was dirty. We booked a double room, the room was tiny and litereally only contained a bed. The sheets were dirty and the room stank of stagnant smoke. The bed was also very uncomfy.

I almost got flattened by the wardrobe too - as it was leaning precariously forward!

We felt very sorry for the people in the "dorms" - the dorm beds were bunk beds crammed in a corridor / tiny long thing room - with no door for noise or privacy! Also the manager (a friendly big guy) slept there too and was the worlds loudest snorer - we again felt very sorry for the people in the "dorm" - at least we could shut a bit of the noise out in our cubicle of a double!

Nothing good to say about the rooms, the only positives were the free internet and the friendly manager - All in all one to STEER CLEAR of.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pixieknix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018
Thank nurulmaulidya79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Eti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gergy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Steffi_On_Tour_2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
New Society Backpackers' Hotel
#152 of 247 in Singapore
61 reviews
The Hive Singapore Hostel
#42 of 247 in Singapore
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Fernloft China Town
Fernloft China Town
#120 of 247 in Singapore
83 reviews
Kampong Glam
Five Stones Hostel
Five Stones Hostel
#35 of 247 in Singapore
512 reviews
Little India
Footprints Hostel
Footprints Hostel
#63 of 247 in Singapore
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Inn Chinatown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Inn Chinatown

Address: 30 Mosque Street 27 | Chinatown, Singapore 059508, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Chinatown
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 247 Speciality Lodging in Singapore
Price Range: £14 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Backpackers Inn Chinatown 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Backpackers Inn Chinatown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Hotel Singapore
Backpackers Inn Chinatown Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing