We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
Ranked #119 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I was looking for a budget hotel and found Aqueen Hotel had the best value for money. Aqueen had the best price, location, customer service in my opinion. In comparison, the 2 stars hotels mostly in geyland had bad reviews such as no windows or able to control aircon. Aqueen had the best reviews which made my decision that much easier to pick it. The room was very clean & comfortable, the staff from reception to cleaners were all very polite and friendly. You could control the aircon temp. The hotel is a $8-$10 taxi ride to casino sands & most other places. The hotel is opposite the Shaw plaza so cinema, fast food & shops are just a 2min walk away. The best part is the price difference between Aqueen (3 stars) and other 2 stars was under $200 singapore dollars for 8 nights ($25 per night). I will definetly return to Aqueen on my next visit from Melbourne.

Room Tip: price for a double room is about $40 extra per night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dineshanarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

242 - 248 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

Very comfortable and clean hotel, was very nice. I made a reservation for a single room and was very pleased. 10 minutes to MRT. Recommend for solo travel. Very comfortable and clean hotel, was very nice. I made a reservation for a single room and was very pleased. 10 minutes to MRT. Recommend for solo travel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konstantinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

This is my second time in this hotel. Well...everything still ok.The receptionist was more service mind. There are free wifi. Room is small but clean. Good for someone who want to save money.Anyway, There are Boon tong kee chicken rice near by.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank anyamagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

The hotel is quiet away from the main hustle bustle of the city; hence most tourist destinations far away. The rooms are minuscule (matchbox sized). No windows in the room. If you spread your hands wide you can almost touch the walls. There is no combo deal for a room + breakfast. The hotel staff is courteous. The rooms though small are clean & well maintained. The overall ambiance of the hotel & the decor is good. Overall : Recommended for business travelers.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very cramped without windows one may feel claustrophobic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aayushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I found this on booking.com for a great price (not that it is expensive in the first place) and was pleasantly surprised. You never expect the photos to look anywhere near the real thing, but this one came pretty close. Internet is free. Coffee and table available. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. I was alone, so it was nice and cosy. I am also small in size so bigger and taller people may have a problem with the compact bathroom. But this is pretty much a norm in small Singapore hotels. The area is quaint with a food court nearby. The MRT is a bit of a walk though. The A/C hummed a bit, but it was already cool from the general AC outside so I switched it off at night. But all in all a pleasant experience especially if in Singapore for a short work trip when you don't want to pay a bomb.

Room Tip: try the higher floors for less noise from the road below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yazz444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I stayed for 2 days in this hotel in august2012.
New and clean hotel. Officers have good service mind but very small room.
Good security to access your floor with private card in elevator.
Near Shaw Plaza bus station on balestier rd.
Transportation by bus is easier than MRT
24hr. Shop & restaurant on road.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pancheewan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Aqueen at the end of July 2012. Singapore is expensive but Aqueen is the best value for money in the range of budget hotels. Accept that all the budget hotels in SIng will have small rooms and crazy space in the toilet/bathroom. Outside of that the rooms are clean and the sheets crisp. The staff I found to be friendly and helpful. There are a number of basic restaurants within 100 metre range outside of the hotel. We are vegetarian so we had to hunt further afield, but veg restaurants there are aplenty in Sing. I highly recommend buying an ezlink (if you are staying in Sing for 3 days or more or are a regular visitor) U can use them for Busses and MRT and the cost per trip appears much reduced on the card in comparison to pay per trip by cash. The bus and MRT system is world class, so the remoteness of Aqueen will be a small issue if you wish to travel a fair bit during the the day.
One negative about Aqueen. If you stay in the queen rooms (double) they are situated next to the lifts and the lift has an unusually noisy clanking sound each time it stops at a floor. I also had a bit of an issue with the noise of the geyser filling up at night. For someone sensitive to noise this might be an issue. It was not a big deal for me although not ideal. The information counter at the airport advised Aqueen immediately when I asked about budget hotels, so I dont think you will be wide off the mark if you choose Aqueen.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rover910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#103 of 319 in Singapore
400 reviews
Aqueen Hotel Jalan Besar
#141 of 319 in Singapore
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqueen Hotel Lavender
#162 of 319 in Singapore
833 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#134 of 319 in Singapore
485 reviews
Value Hotel Balestier
#183 of 319 in Singapore
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aqueen Hotel Balestier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aqueen Hotel Balestier

Address: 387 Balestier Road, Singapore 329795, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#72 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £51 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aqueen Hotel Balestier 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer executive class hospitality to business & leisure travelers. We strive to deliver comfort, warmth, friendly service & genuine quality to all our guests. We are located close to the Central Business District & are conveniently served by the Mass Rapid Transit network. We are also near convention venues such as Singapore Expo and the Suntec Convention Centre. The Hotel is surrounded by Singapore's famous eating places as well as cultural historical sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aqueen Hotel Balestier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqueen Hotel Balestier Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing