We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed with their good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Value Hotel Thomson
Ranked #202 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed here for four nights. Very impressed with their service. The staff were always friendly and accommodating. They are very fast in checkin and very helpful in our needs. They provide us a free WiFi through out our stay.

Hotel is one of the budget in the area. It's located around 10-15 minutes walking from Novena MRT station.
We booked a double room and although it is small, it is clean & modern and air con worked well in our room.
Overall good value for money. Would definitely choose this hotel again. Would highly recommend to anyone who wants a good value accommodation in Singapore.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times since it opened and I have to admit that our most recent stay was not as good as previous visits. We found the hotel noisy with children running up and down the corridor- this could have been because we were on the swimming pool level.
Also our room was not very clean- the floor left our feet dirty and the bathroom floor hadn't been cleaned properly also. The bathroom needed some basic maintenance because a leaking pipe was making the bathroom smell.
Having said that, the hotel is reasonably priced- the beds are comfortable and the sheets were clean. We have always stayed in rooms with windows but don't bother with breakfast as there is a lot of choice at Novena mall at the mrt. When we first stayed there was no wifi for guests, now the hotel had free wifi so that was great.
I would give it 3.5 stars if I could- "good" rather than "very good"

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rowan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Although a budget hotel but Value Thomson @ Balestier road Singapore is very presentable. When you only there for business and need a place to stay, choose this hotel. Clean, good internet and adequate in room facilities.
You can also use the pool when you have the time in the morning - very nicely set.

Room Tip: Choose higher floor for less noise. Don't share a room with your colleague - could get very crow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great roof top pool, room was small but didn't need much bigger. Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't eat in the hotel. Easy access to tube/bus/cab etc…. No complaints really…. Singapore is an amazing city. Value for money on this hotel is great too

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We are still here at Value Hotel Thomson for a few more days and finding it to be a good choice. It actually turned out fine after we upgraded to rooms with a window for an extra SGD10.00 per night, Breakfast comes with the room so that makes it pretty convenient. Room is clean, right for one person, two might be tight. Housekeeping is quick to respond when I call. Most people at the reception desk were also quick to respond to questions and needs. Wifi was the only inconvenient thing at the hotel. I would rather have free wifi instead of the daily wifi tickets we have to get at the front desk. Thankfully, most staff were very accommodating, polite and helpful. Hanny Teng is one wonderful example of a friendly and helpful person at the hotel. Thanks, Value Hotel Thomson, for a pleasant stay in Singapore.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HappyPinoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

On my second trip to Singapore I preferred Value Thomson, as earlier I used to stay in Value Nice and their approach was quite pleasant. Value Thomson is their biggest hotel and better than the other two hotels. When you loom for a budget option with 3* facilities , Thomson is a very good option ; rooms are quite clean and neat, staffs are supportive. It was during the formula season and rates were little higher than the normal any way its good for those who are exploring the city by their own by bus/metro.

Room Tip: Superior room will be fine...Base rooms are non window I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nomadicstories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I would recommend the Thomson to any budget conscience traveler, clean, new, comfy bed & pillows, great pool, friendly & helpful staff.. We booked the superior room with a window in a quiet area of the hotel.. They delivered.. Very happy we stayed here.. great value..

Room Tip: Book a superior room with window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BB123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
0.8 mi away
Value Hotel Balestier
Value Hotel Balestier
#180 of 317 in Singapore
662 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#185 of 317 in Singapore
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
ibis Singapore Novena
ibis Singapore Novena
#101 of 317 in Singapore
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Value Hotel Nice
Value Hotel Nice
#188 of 317 in Singapore
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
Aqueen Hotel Balestier
#117 of 317 in Singapore
366 reviews
1.6 mi away
Arton Boutique Hotel
Arton Boutique Hotel
#164 of 317 in Singapore
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Thomson

Address: 592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £51 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Hotel Thomson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Value Hotel Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Thomson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing