We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect hotel to close hospital” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Value Hotel Thomson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Value Hotel Thomson
Ranked #192 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect hotel to close hospital”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

To visit my sister in the hospital because of treatment, I need a hotel that is located close to the hospital.
The hotel is located very close to the hospital, only need walk. They have standard room, but clean, just a bit noisy from the outside or the next room. And small bathroom. Need walk to find a restaurant. Far from MRT, but they have suttle bus. But overall is a nice hotel

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeW-MeoW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    628
    389
    121
    75
See reviews for
172
219
114
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Not the cheapest hotel in Singapore and we certainly didn't get much value. My wife and I stayed for two nights and although we plan to GJ back to Singapore in definitely won't be here!!!!

Easier to start with the positives (there were 2) front desk print out for free and there is a luggage store which is also free.

Room was tiny with no windows, which we weren't that bothered about as we weren't planning on spending a lot of time in the room. However, there was no draws for clothes and the 'wardrobe' was only about 3 feet high and hardly fit any clothes.

The 'bathroom' was no more then a wet room and when you had a shower everything got soaked and made the room dangerous. The towels that were provided had holes and threadbare at best.

The hotel was noisy all the time we were there, including over night, and to top it all off when I asked where the toilet in the lobby was I was informed it was outside in the car park!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yac3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Singapore hotels

Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked the Value Hotel Thomson online because of my office mate's recommendation. We however had a different experience in the hotel.

The cons:
- The room was really small and claustrophobic. Barely had room for our luggage.
- Very few English channels.
- Far from the MRT, nearest was Novena station which was 20 minutes walk from the hotel
- The room is not well lit. Even if all the lights are turned on, it is still dark.
- Noisy hallway... Bad sleep quality... you can hear the footsteps of the people going in and out of their rooms.
- The worst part is that the bathroom stinks. Its as if there was something clogging the sink and the stink is overwhelming. Whenever we would use the bathroom even after it has just been cleaned it smelled like something is rotten. It was dreading every time. The shower head was also moldy. The design was also bad. You wet the whole bathroom including the toilet bowl after showering. (please see the picture).
- When we asked for help regarding booking us a taxi (when checking out), the girl in the reception frowned. Its as if it was too hard to call a cab. She doesn't look happy to get our request. That was POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE. She was not very accommodating and doesn't look happy to see people. She made us feel that she was not happy to see customers. Please have your frontdesk people undergo a re-orientation on customer service. THEY SURELY NEED IT!

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It was really disappointing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows. Otherwise the already small room would appear claustrophobic
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Buchi_Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Korea
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel last minute before i go to singapore with my family it was nice if i only travel alone... but not for the family... because even for the 2 person the room still feel lil bit small... its located beside 7eleven and balestier ctr bus station

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MinienMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Had to book hotel in Singapore in last minute because of some changed plans, so I just chose cheap hotel that is enough for us just to sleep and stretch our legs.
But...we couldn't even get some sleep there. Been a while since the last time I visited Singapore and I wasn't sure that is it the typical room you can get for $100 in Singapore, or is it just a very very bad hotel?

Hotel has 'haunted' atmosphere, it was very noisy in the hallway, I could hear people walking and talking while I was trying to sleep. The bathroom is super small and bad design. when I tried to brush my teeth I accidentally hit the shower and got rain on. Ridiculous.

The only good thing I can say is fast check in and fast check out. Avoid if possible.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marthiany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is located in the corner of thompson road close to bus station and 10 minutes leisure walk to Novena MRT station. And if you are Catholic, the Famous Novena Catholic Church is also nearby.

The hotel is clean, the check in/out is fast and the room is comfortable although the bath room is quite small. We took the room with the window. Although slightly more expensive,perhaps this will be beter than the room without the window.

The breakfast is reasonably price but variety of food is quite boring. Local food such as duck rice is conveniently located opposite the hotel.

We definetely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivyanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Masqat, Oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel with as 3.5 Star rating ,i wonder how this rating happened , they not even have their own restaurant they have out sourced arrangement with a Cafeteria near by , they provided me room without window , tiny rooms with out cupboards or mini bar( Refrigerator), i don't know this is Singapore Standard then i up graded the room with window , I stayed 6 Nights few days they provided thorn and stained bed sheets and matters , Hotel staffs were really good and hotel is located conveniently , Swimming polls are fairly good .

Room Tip: i don't suggest this hotel to family traveler , May be good for Solo
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shibu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Balestier
#158 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Value Hotel Nice
#189 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Kampong Glam
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
Santa Grand Hotel Bugis
#118 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#123 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#92 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#161 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Thomson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Thomson

Property: Value Hotel Thomson
Address: 592 Balestier Road, Singapore 329901, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Value Hotel Thomson 2.5*
Number of rooms: 366
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Value Hotel Thomson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Thomson Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing