We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first and my last”
Review of Value Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Value Hotel Nice
Ranked #210 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Having stayed in Value Hotel Balestier and Value Hotel Thomson with a great satisfaction, this particular Value Hotel is total disappointment! Even the front office doesn't give an impression that it's a hotel. But the staff was friendly and accommodating.

The positive points:
1. Location.
2. The Internet connection was pretty good.
3. Staff

Negative points:
1. The air conditioner annoyed me very much. It's such a JOKE!!! We had to ask the front office SEVERAL times to make our room cooler (because it's centralized, guests cannot select their own desired temperature!!). And guess what, it was still warm!! And the air conditioner looks VERY dirty, too
2. The room is unbelievably small. The "windows" are very dusty.
3. Bathroom is incredibly small, too! They do not provide toilet rolls and hand soaps.

Unless all of the hotels in Singapore are fully booked, I do not recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mypreciouskids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear mypreciouskids ,

Warmest Greetings From Value Hotel Nice !

We have read your experience with astonishment and concern .

While taking our positives in pride , we will look very seriously at the
negatives and aim to rectify these situation as soon as possible .

Having had an opportunity to look into your feedback we can see the
carelessness in handling your booking and complaint .
We are very grateful for your feedback .
Here at Value Hotel Nice we take all comments .

Thus , we would be grateful if you could contact us direct to discuss and
once again we are sincerely sorry for the inconvenience caused to you .

Thank you for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation choice.

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

138 - 144 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

This hotel is just small. The room is the smallest I've ever been in. So is the bathroom. No wardrobes, no space for hanging your clothes. I was expecting a bit more but I just found something fair for such a crowded city as Singapore. Fair... but small.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank a_mayoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear a_mayoral ,

Warmest Greetings From Value Hotel Nice !

We are very grateful for your feedback .

We regret that Value Hotel Nice is a small concept hotel .
But it will always be our pleasure to be your chosen hotel .

We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .
We were pleased that you have shared your experience and your opinion of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We have booked this hotel as we were arriving in Singapore at 4 AM and didn't want to pay full night's price in a hotel we were staying for the rest of our stay. Value Hotel Nice is on Balestier Rd and is about 1.2 km walk from the Novena MRT, you can also take a bus. We came by taxi early morning and got a twin room number 3 which was on ground floor with no windows. This didn't bother us as we only wanted to go to bed and sleep. The AC was good but a bit noisy, again no problem with earplugs. The bed was comfy as we are used to hard beds. There was free bottled water, kettle, 2 x 3in1 coffee and 3in1 tea satchels provided, also bathroom had free toiletries which was surprising in such a budget hotel.
I have to say the room was smallest I have ever seen, much smaller then any of our bedrooms back home. The bathroom had a shower which was right next to the toilet so after you had a shower the entire bathroom, toilet including, was wet. It wasn't a problem for us as we had shower after we woke up and checked out but I would have hated to have the toilet and the washing basin wet every time we took a shower. Also there was no space at all for suitcases.
I could hear people slamming door in the morning even with earplugs in, maybe there should be a sign on every door saying PLEASE SHUT THE DOOR QUIETLY as people do not realize how noisy it is to slam the door behind them.
Saying all this, the room was very clean and good for one night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Good Day Janulik ,

Warmest Greetings From Value Hotel Nice !

We have read your experience and we are very grateful for your feedback .

Value Hotel Nice prides itself for being a low cost small
concept hotel that offer excellent value for money accommodation .

We will look at all the negatives seriously and aim to rectify these situation as soon as possible . Here at Value Hotel Nice we take all comments with high regard .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation choice.

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I'm really happy, the room are little but clean and the service is super and for 24 hours, you can arrive in the center (Orchard)with the bus in 10 min and you spend less than 2 dollars. The director KELWE is soo friendly, gentle and a cool person, Singapore is in my heart! I feeling to raccomand it!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kikkola Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Kikkola Z ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

It was our pleasure to have you and to be able to serve you and to have you as our guest .

We admit that we're very fortunate to have friendly , caring and cool front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

We were coach to understand that every Guest in Value Hotel Nice is a Valued Guest , and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay .
We are very happy that you experienced exceptional services as intended by our management and staff .

We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the very opinions of our guest .
We were pleased that you have shared your experience and your opinion of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We booked this hotel for 5 nights during a stay in Sinagore. The reception staff were really helpful and the room was nice enough but its small. By the time two of you are in the room with your bags there isnt much space left. Therefore we moved to their sister hotel up the road where the rooms are much bigger for not that big a difference in price. We would have stayed at the one hotel had it been for 2 nights but for 5 nights it was a bit too tight. Thanks to the reception staff for understanding our desire to move.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky08Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Vicky08Uk ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

It was our pleasure to have you and to be able to serve you and to have you as our guest .

We regret that Value Hotel Nice is just a small hotel .

We admit that we're very fortunate to have helpful and understanding front office staffs
to assist you to transfer to our other suitable accommodation for you .

We were coached to understand every Guest's needs and desires .
We were very happy that you have experienced the exceptional services as intended by our management and staff .

We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the very opinions of our guest .
We were pleased that you have shared your experience and your opinion of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Wife and I had to leave Indonesia 31 Mar 13 then come back to renew visa on arrival, so just needed a cheap place in Singapore to spend the night. Found this hotel on Air Asia website and booked online there. Very clean place and affordable. Easy to get to from the airport by MRT and bus. Take MRT from the airport to Novena NS20. Come out of the station, Novena Square, and cross Thomson St using ped overpass to bus stop. Take bus 21 or 131 it will go down Thomson and make a right turn on Balestier. Tell friendly courteous bus driver you want to get off at bus stop near 302 and there you are ! Bus ride is only 5-10 min. Friendly courteous hotel staff will check you in. Stayed in 402 . . had a window, everything new, very clean. To return to airport, cross Balestier, turn right walk half block to bus stop, catch 21 or 131. It will go down to Thomson Rd and make a left turn. Tell friendly courteous bus driver you want off at Novena MRT. Bus stops right in front of Novena MRT. Happy traveling !

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raymond Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Dear Raymond Y ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

It was our pleasure to have you and to be able to serve you .

Value Hotel Nice truly prides itself for offering excellent value for money
accommodation and our ever tireless house keeping staffs are to be praise .

We're very fortunate to have friendly and courteous front office staffs .

Every Guest in Value Hotel Nice is a Valued Guest , and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay .
We are very happy that you experienced exceptional services as intended by our management and staff .

We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .
We were pleased that you have shared your experience and your opinion of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Location and surrounding area:

1) The hotel is located along the busy Balestier Road. There is a bus stand located a few door steps from the hotel. To get to the nearest MRT station (i.e. Newton Station), take bus 124. Bus 124 also takes you to Orchard Road. However, most of the time we took cab instead because we found it more convenient.

2) There is one 24-hour Chinese Dumpling store and a convenience store located just right beside the hotel. If you walk about 500M to your right from the hotel, you can find a Hainanese chicken rice restaurant named 'Loy Kee Best Chicken Rice' which serves decent chicken rice at an affordable price. If you walk further down on the opposite road you will come across one restaurant which claims to have the best Hainanese chicken rice in Singapore - 'Boon Tong Kee'. I tried both of the restaurants and found that Boon Tong Kee is really good!

Room and price:

1) We paid about USD100 for a night which was not considered cheap for a budget hotel without breakfast. Nevertheless, hotel staff was polite and check-in was pretty fast.

2) Room was very small and cramped. There was hardly space to put your luggages and without hanger. Be prepared to wet the whole toilet after shower. But the room was generally clean. There was 2 complimentary water bottles and kettle was provided too.

3) Sound proof was not really good as you can hear what's happening outside the corridor.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QiaQia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear QiaQia ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We were glad that you like the taste of the old world charm blended with modern conveniences and comfort offered by the Value Hotel Nice . On Balestier Road , everyone can enjoy closer interaction with our Singapore culture and soak in its cosy ambience. It was great there are many restaurants and eating places offering local and western cuisines just around Value Hotel Nice around the clock . We can also help to order food in . Thus , while we do not serve breakfast in-house , you can enjoy a wide variety of food , at most reasonable prices, all round our hotel .

We admit that we're very fortunate to have polite front office staffs .

Value Hotel Nice is a small hotel concept that prides itself for offering excellent value for money accommodation .
Our rooms are admittedly smaller than those of other hotels that charge a lot more ,
Thus we are offering guests with excess baggage to store at our luggages store .

We have also debriefed room reservation to assign rooms accordingly to type of guest , i.e. Family , business , couples , to different level as to minimise noises .

We were pleased that you have shared your experiences and your opinions of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Balestier
#173 of 319 in Singapore
676 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Oasis
#177 of 319 in Singapore
327 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#194 of 319 in Singapore
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#141 of 319 in Singapore
308 reviews
Arton Boutique Hotel
#170 of 319 in Singapore
281 reviews
Value Hotel Thomson
#196 of 319 in Singapore
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Nice

Address: 302 Balestier Road, Singapore 329738, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £39 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Hotel Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Hotel Nice is a low cost hotel concept offering the ideal combination of comfort and value to the savvy and cost-conscious traveller who wants to make the most out of each trip . Contemporary and tasteful interiors and locations easily accessible by public transportation make it a great choice for business or holiday .At Value Hotel Nice , we have made it our mission to cater to the needs of today’s travellers , with the overriding consideration to keep rates attractive. Within each room, guests will find the ubiquitous essential guest amenities/facilities, needed for a comfortable stay . WIFI internet (broadband) access is offered free to our guests . If you just need a comfortable room , Value Hotel Nice will be just be what you need , for a little less.Our colleagues will be most happy to share with you , what to do or eat whilst you are here . You may be pleasantly surprised at the myriad offerings along Balestier Road and the surrounding areas . Getting around is a breeze , as Singapore has an extensive and very reliable public transportation network which connects all parts of the country . Thus regardless if you are on business or leisure , let Value Hotel Nice be your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Value Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Nice Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing