We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for a budget hotel”
Review of Value Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Value Hotel Nice
Ranked #187 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Great option for a budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Value hotel as their name suggests, is a hotel with value. Well, frankly I think it really is the case. Although Value hotel is probably more of a budget hotel, it sets itself apart from fragrance and hotel 81. It is priced very competitively and sometimes even cheaper than fragrance and 81 yet the quality is much higher.

They have comfortable beds, with Wifi access and flat LCD TVs, proper comforter type blankets and cotton pillows. It was like a 4 star hotel, but simply back to basics with all the fancy fairies being removed from the menu. The rooms are not very large but spacious enough and with ample space for big suitcases. The basic amenities are provided as well.

The staff is a group of wonderful and friendly people, led by Mr Kelwe, who always greets us passionately with a big smile in a very cheerful manner. I also noted that he does that not only to me, but to every guest, whether the guest was stepping into the lobby from the entrance or coming out from the lift. This friendly and positive attitude from Mr Kelwe and his team is also one of the reasons that I liked about this little place.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank eng10523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear eng10523 ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

We are grateful for you to have taken the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .
We would also like take this opportunity to thank you for your compliments on our Value Hotel chain .

Value Hotel Nice is a small hotel concept that prides itself for offering excellent value for money accommodation which does not compromise the comfort of our guests and the accessible of necessities .

We are very fortunate to have all wonderful and the friendliest front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

We are very happy about your pleasant experience here as intended by our management and staffs .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guests .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to have you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year from all of us at Value Hotels .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    106
    70
    11
    12
See reviews for
34
69
39
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Rooms are small bet clean. Hotels in Singapore are expensive. This is a nice business trip stop at lower cost. Desk service is always good. Lots of Chinese food near by. Take 6th and, I think 5th floor, if you want a window.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuyJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear GuyJW ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .

Value Hotel Nice truly prides itself for offering excellent value for money
accommodation and we are proud to have good front office staffs .

By the way , only our rooms on level one does not equip with windows and rooms on higher level are more quiet .

We are very happy of your pleasant experience as intended by our management and staff .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year from all of us at Value Hotel Nice .
And lastly don't get into trouble :)
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This is my first time staying in Value Hotel Nice. Although just staying over one night, I'm quite enjoy with the environment of the room. Location is abit not favorable but overall I'm still fine with it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jia Jun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Jia Jun C ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor .

We are delighted of you enjoyed your pleasant experience as intended by our management and staff .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year from all of us at Value Hotel Nice .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Value Hotel Nice was an unexpected gem among Singapore hotels - we've stayed in a number of places (ranging from mid-range to budget, as the prices are high in Singapore no matter where you go anyway) and picked this originally because it came with free WiFi, was in our budget range for the few day stay and had quite good ratings on TripAdvisor.

Now, if you want to be city centre right with the action - this might not be the place, but if you're happy with a short bus ride into the city centre and prefer somewhere a bit more local and less high-rise (and still very clean/safe/etc.), this place is spot-on. The hotel itself actually fronts through a traditional old shop-lot, although the rooms mostly are housed in a modern block at the back that you don't really see or notice from the street. There's great food options up and down the street, and also as many have mentioned there's a large food market behind the hotel.

The rooms are of course compact, but they are nearly everywhere in Singapore to be fair. Our room though was very clean, the internet worked well, and the air con for us was perfect (although as others noted, it seems to be a central system).

The absolute star of the hotel for us though, was the (likely same guy as in other posts) front desk manager/receptionist - if you have a question about anything relating to the area, good local food, Singapore in general; he'll either know the answer immediately or find out on the spot (try!). He's also possibly the friendliest receptionist I've ever come across and actually really made our stay in VHN such a pleasure! Nothing was a problem, and we'd go back to Value Hotel Nice just for such good service.

Room Tip: There's a few rooms right by reception that appear not to have a window outside. It'd be wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindowSeatPreferred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear YouLoveThatsh ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

It was our pleasure to have you and to be able to serve you .

Thank you for sharing your experience with us .
We would also like take this opportunity to thank you for the compliment for our hotel receptionist .
We admit that we're very fortunate to have the most friendliest and pleasant front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

We very happy that you experienced exceptional services as intended by our management and staff .
We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I have stayed at many budget hotels in Singapore before. For the price, I really wasn't hoping for much. I was merely hoping for a clean room that won't give me bed bug bites like my previous experience at Beach Hotel just weeks before. When I saw the hotel from the outside, I was elated. When I got into the room, I was in awe. Do not be fooled by the budget price but this is a hotel. A true blue hotel, not one of those converted sorry excuse for a hotel. The room is clean, the bed and TV and floor are all hotel quality. I'd rate it somewhere around 3-Star by my standard. Well worth my money, much better than other budget hotels that I have stayed in before. Great staff (except for one who is exceptionally rude to everyone). I liked the place so much I extended my stay for another week. Highly recommended if you are looking for a clean, cheap hotel with easy bus access to practically anywhere. Lots of eateries and a cinema not too far away. Having said all that, I must also mention that the rooms are small (I've stayed in 3 of them within 2 weeks) and some times the towels and duvet may not be 5-star hotel clean. Finally, I really hate the fact that the aircond has a mind of its own. Even though I set it at 24, after I go to sleep, it will drop to 22. Always. Every room. I think the AHU doesn't like me. Other than these minor issues, I was very comfortable living in the hotel for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear Edward C ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

It was our pleasure to have you and to be able to serve you .

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on TripAdvisor.

Value Hotel Nice truly prides itself for offering excellent value for money
accommodation and our caring front office and ever tireless house keeping staffs are to be praised .

It was unfortunate that one of our staffs was not so service oriented which we have identified to be sent for refresher course on customer service .

Also , our engineer will be looking at Air Handling Unit fault and rectify it soonest .

Every Guest in Value Hotel Nice is a Valued Guest , and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay .

We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .
We were grateful that you have shared your experience and your opinion of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and A Happy New Year .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed in a superior double room for 5 nights. Got reasonable price from Expedia. Room is clean (provide daily housekeeping and 2 bottles of drinking water) but small, which is fine with us. Behind the hotel is Whampoa Makan Place (hawker centre), where you can find various types of local food; love it very much. Nearest MRT station to the hotel is Novena station of which you need to take bus 21 or 131 opposite the station after about 3 min walk.

Room Tip: Higher floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ALWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear ALWG ,

Warmest Greetings .

We are grateful for your feedback .

Value Hotel Nice is a small hotel concept that prides itself for offering excellent value for money accommodation .
Our rooms are admittedly smaller than those of other hotels that charge a lot more .

We were pleased that you have shared your experiences and your opinions of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year .
From all of us at Value Hotel Nice :)
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Price of Singapore is so expensive. With limited budget, I need to find a hotel with a reasonable price. I read most of reviewes about the hotel near Novena station and chose this hotel. My impression about the staff is so good. Especially, Mr.Kewel was so kind and caring. Location is also good. You can get main tour sites such as Little India, Clarke Quay, Orchard and China Town by a bus. Cleaniness is so good.. Room is so small but we need to consider that the price is so reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cserpentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelwe_Yoon, Manager at Value Hotel Nice, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear cserpentina ,

Warmest Greetings from Value Hotel Nice !

It was our pleasure to have you and to be able to serve you .

We admit that we're very fortunate to have nice , caring front office staffs .
And of course our ever tireless house keeping staffs .

We were coach to understand that every Guest in Value Hotel Nice is a Valued Guest , and we were delighted to be your chosen hotel during your recent stay .
We hope that you experienced exceptional services as intended by our management and staff .

We sincerely appreciate your business and we value the opinions of our guest .
We were pleased that you have shared your experience and your opinion of Value Hotel Nice .

Thank you again for choosing Value Hotel Nice as your accommodation .
We're looking forward to see you again .

Have a Very Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year .
Regards ,
Customer Care
Value Hotel Nice
302 Balestier Rd (S)329738
Tel: +65-63552323 Fax: +65-62517738
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Value Hotel Balestier
#169 of 312 in Singapore
651 reviews
Value Hotel Thomson
#193 of 312 in Singapore
1,354 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#127 of 312 in Singapore
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#122 of 312 in Singapore
458 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Rose
#179 of 312 in Singapore
76 reviews
Fragrance Hotel - Balestier
#166 of 312 in Singapore
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Value Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Value Hotel Nice

Property: Value Hotel Nice
Address: 302 Balestier Road, Singapore 329738, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Value Hotel Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Value Hotel Nice is a low cost hotel concept offering the ideal combination of comfort and value to the savvy and cost-conscious traveller who wants to make the most out of each trip . Contemporary and tasteful interiors and locations easily accessible by public transportation make it a great choice for business or holiday .At Value Hotel Nice , we have made it our mission to cater to the needs of today’s travellers , with the overriding consideration to keep rates attractive. Within each room, guests will find the ubiquitous essential guest amenities/facilities, needed for a comfortable stay . WIFI internet (broadband) access is offered free to our guests . If you just need a comfortable room , Value Hotel Nice will be just be what you need , for a little less.Our colleagues will be most happy to share with you , what to do or eat whilst you are here . You may be pleasantly surprised at the myriad offerings along Balestier Road and the surrounding areas . Getting around is a breeze , as Singapore has an extensive and very reliable public transportation network which connects all parts of the country . Thus regardless if you are on business or leisure , let Value Hotel Nice be your hotel of choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Value Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Nice Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing