We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good. Away from the city, but rooms a little noisy.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Orchid Country Club
Ranked #171 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Overall good. Away from the city, but rooms a little noisy.”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at the Orchid Country Club for 6+ weeks whilst working in Singapore and overall had a good stay. I was working in Sembawang which is about 15 minutes from the OCC.
The hotel appears to have very few tourists, but a lot of Singaporean Citizens/Residents using the beautiful function rooms and then staying overnight. Also we encountered several other guests who were using the hotel as a base whilst working in Singapore (including some at Seletar Airport which is a few minutes away).

The facilities are superb with an on-site supermarket, Subway, Bar, Japanese and Chinese Restaurants, Olympic Pool + Kids Pools, Gym, Golf Course and Driving Range.

However, I will start with the negative issues I experienced;

1) The laundry was horrendously expensive, I had one small bag of laundry cost over SG$200+. For this price you would expect superb service, but sadly several of my shirts had the colours run and I finished up with my white collars turned pink. They did try to resolve this, but without success. They didn’t even offer to refund the cost of the laundry in this event.
2) The noise! The rooms can be pretty noisy, it seems that the door to the room lets in a lot of noise, and the balcony door also the same. So if you are overlooking the bunker pool, expect noise from people sitting on the patio until late. The sounds in the corridors seem to echo through into the rooms quite loudly, and on numerous occasions I was woken up at 1am etc by the noise. I think the rooms further away from reception are probably quieter. If you are a light sleeper, you would be pretty unhappy.
3) The internet is incredibly slow in the hotel, the signal can be poor in the rooms. You also have to use a paid card (ours was included in our room rate) which expires every 7 days. This isn’t what you expect in a hotel in a modern city like Singapore.
4) At weekends and public holidays it can be quite difficult to get a taxi in the hotels, there were occasions where you would wait 30-45 minutes for a taxi whilst the hotel rang around. Often better to let them know in advance to give them time to try and sort it out.
5) The shuttle bus which is provided between the hotel and the MRT can also be very busy at weekends, expect to queue and have to wait for the next bus (another 20+ minutes) on occasions. But, it’s still a pretty good service to have considering its complimentary.
6) Chinese New Year closure. The hotel pretty much ground to a halt for several days over Chinese New Year, no laundry for around a week and pretty difficult to get meals. In a 4 star hotel in a city like Singapore, I would have expected at least room service to have been available through this period.
7) Breakfast is only officially available from 07:30 (although the staff would often kindly provide from 07:00)

I know this might seem a lot, but I put that down to us staying for so long at this place that we picked up on more issues. They are not really critical issues to be honest.


Now for the positives;

1) The rooms are great; the basic rooms are large and have a queen size bed and a large single bed. Then there is the beautiful balcony overlooking the golf course with running water underneath. Buy a bottle of a wine from the in the house supermarket and relax watching the sunset, perfect.
2) The staff are excellent in the hotel, all very friendly and helpful. The gym staff such as Ariyus and the Par Lounge staff including Cai Nan, Wan Gang and Iko were all exceptionally pleasant.
3) The Par Lounge is a great little bar, very reasonable prices and a good mixed menu of snacks/small meals (although after 6 weeks having tried everything several times, I would be quite happy not to see the menu again). On Thursdays and Fridays they have a live band (Duo Connection) which adds to the atmosphere.
4) The driving range is fantastic; you just go across and purchase a range card very cheaply and can use the range until 10pm+. I had some beginners lessons with the golf pro ‘Phil Brew’ who was excellent, he has a great teaching style and is very approachable and friendly. Prices were also very reasonable.
5) Excellent choice of restaurants on site including Chinese and Japanese.
6) Superb gym, large and with excellent choice of equipment and always manned.


Overall I would say I had a great stay at this hotel and would stay there again. It is quite out of the way, it takes about 45-60 minutes into the city if you used the shuttle bus/MRT and a taxi to the city or change airport will take 30+ minutes. Being out of the main city was a plus for me, particularly having the fresh open air of the golf course and a spacious resort with excellent fitness/recreational facilities available. I would actually consider this hotel as a base if visiting Singapore with my family, as it is nice to escape the hustle and bustle in the evenings.

The hotel also has a great kids pool, probably far better than any of the city hotels.

Room Tip: Choose a room well away from the reception if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    56
    20
    6
    3
See reviews for
33
28
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Rooms are big; able to accommodate 1 queen size plus 1 single bed. Plus point: attached with balcony and is clean. Unfortunately, not many leisure activities (unless you play golf and do sports). Good place to just rest and relax.

Did not see many hotel staff walking around, so hard to get assistance. Lift not very well-maintained; break down and extremely slow.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor will be unblocked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Orchid Country Club (OCC) for 18 days during October and November. It is a must for golfers (which i am not), with a 36 hole golf course and a floodlit driving range. On site there is a supermarket, a bowling alley, three swimming pools, a Chinese, Indian and Japanese eating establishments.
If you want peace and quite, this is the place, but be prepared to spend time travelling to downtown Singapore or any other sights of Singapore.
The OCC provides a free courtesy bus to and from the Yushun Mass Rapid Transport (MRT) station. Using the MRT is simplicity itself. Just like the London tube buy a single or return ticket, but the better option, if you intend to use it often, is the EZ card. Again, you can top the EZ card up at ticket offices or machines, just like the Oyster Card.
While I was at the OCC, it was very busy at weekends. It seems it is a popular location for weddings, reunions, religious celebrations and three day government meetings, I can confirm that these do affect the 'serenity' of the OCC.
While I was at the OCC, I ate at the Chinese, this place is overpriced. The Indian is very good value for money. I gave the Japanese a miss. The rooms are a good size, with balconies that overlook the golf course.
The down side to the OCC is the breakfast, get room only, the breakfasts are not worth the money, I had 18 days of tea, toast and yogurt.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Squarehead01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart
Level Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Our family of three stayed here on our way back from Europe in mid October. Chosen simply as a quiet stopover we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were incredibly helpful, the rooms quiet and comfortable and the three pools kept our son happy and cool. With a choice of restaurants on site we chose the simple veranda cafe which had a good selection of reasonably priced food. There is also a supermarket on site and a free shuttle bus to Yishun MRT for a train into the city. This was a pleasant way to wear off the jet lag on our way home and the Singapore Zoo was a highlight of our brief stay. HIghly recommended and we will happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The first room offered to us smelled damp and musty. We were quickly offered another without a fuss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnygirlHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Stayed here for more than 3 times. Each stay was pretty wonderful. Perfect place for families and couples to stay here to get away from the stressful city life.

Stayed at a Family room in my most recent stay. The room is equipped with 1 Queen sized bed and 2 Super single beds. In addition to that, a sofa bed can be used as well if you have more people. The rooms are pretty huge as well. The room also has a balcony where you can sit and sip some coffee while enjoying the green scenery of the golf course. However, be prepared that some pesky mosquitoes will join in the fun as well. Of course, spiders, lizards and sometimes frogs or geckos will join in... So I definitely would not recommend sitting out there at night especially. The room is also not equipped with a bathtub but a standing shower.

Room Tip: Family rooms are all on the 1st floor of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mljj23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Been playing here for decades, the course maintenace is now as good as ever, it's in great shape and plays as tough as any in Singapore, even though it's not glamorous or spectacular looking. However, the organization leaves a lot to be desired, as we were delayed by 15 min by rain, but ended up losing an 18 hole round to playing just 9 since they had a tournament later that afternoon. A 15 min delay to lose 9 holes? Ridiculous!

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank hi_stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We arrived on a Sunday afternoon. The parking lot was very busy, probably due to weddings and other events, as well as the supermarket, but once inside the hotel it wasn't so crowded.

The hotel doesn't look like much when you arrive, but the design is actually quite nice and resort-like. Rooms are spacious, with a balcony and view over the golf course and reservoir.

We spent most of our time at the pool area. The kids' pool is great, with different areas of different depths, and a large floating inflatable structure for kids to play on. The Olympic-size pool for adults was great for swimming and surprisingly not too busy. There is a third smaller pool in front of Gayatri restaurant, which was hardly used.

We tried two restaurants during our stay. Gayatri's food was nice, but a bit expensive. The Vanda restaurant was disappointing (tough meat, canned vegetables, confused service). Note that some restaurants may be closed or noisy due to events.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SW-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
9.3 mi away
Changi Cove Singapore
Changi Cove Singapore
#110 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
5.8 mi away
Ramada Singapore At Zhongshan Park
9.4 mi away
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
Raintr33 Hotel Singapore
#200 of 308 in Singapore
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hotel 81 Kovan
Hotel 81 Kovan
#184 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
9.0 mi away
Park Hotel Alexandra
Park Hotel Alexandra
#65 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
6.8 mi away
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchid Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchid Country Club

Property: Orchid Country Club
Address: 1 Orchid Club Road Orchid Country Club, Singapore 769162, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in Singapore
#103 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchid Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A scenic sanctuary facing the panoramic Aranda Course and Seletar Reservoir, the 75-room Orchid Lodge is Orchid Country Club’s very own resort hotel. Elegant interiors, modern design, and comfortable amenities all cater to a much needed getaway for guests in need of total relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Orchid Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchid Country Club Hotel Singapore
Orchid Country Club Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing