We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly small hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nostalgia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Nostalgia
Ranked #53 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Nostalgia for a quick Singapore getaway. We were lucky enough to receive a free upgrade, and ended up in an exclusive room (we had booked a deluxe). Our room was definitely on the small side, but clean, modern and very comfortable. After reading the reviews, we were prepared for a smaller room, but thought it wouldn't matter that much since we planned to be out enjoying Singapore rather than spending time in our room. The shower was great (and the handheld head was very handy for those quick rinses between outings), and the bed was super comfortable. The air-con and fridge both worked well, only thing that didn't work well was the wifi, which was slow at best. I suspect that was because we were on the top floor though. It seemed much better on the ground level. We also had a quick swim one afternoon. It's true, the pool is quite small, but plenty big enough for cooling off. The glass edge was a nice touch, turning into kind of an infinity pool.

All the staff that we encountered were very friendly and super helpful, including the waiters and bar staff. We arrived in a hot and sweaty state after lugging our suitcases from the train station (was only 10 minutes, but having just arrived, we weren't used to or dressed for the weather). Perry saw us coming in the door, took our cases, sat us down, and got us some cold water to drink while he checked us in. Then he took us and our bags up to our room and gave us a little tour. All the staff were very accommodating and gave a little bit extra to make us more comfortable. We went to the restaurant for a lazy dinner one night, and really enjoyed our tapas style meal (especially the calamari). Of course it wasn't the cheapest food we could have gotten, but we were happy to pay extra for the convenience.

We thought the location was excellent, and enjoyed being a little further away from the hustle and bustle. It was an easy 10-15 minute walk to Outram Park train station, and the trains were so easy and cheap to use we never even considered getting a taxi. I believe there was a bus stop right outside the hotel, but most of the time we enjoyed the walk. There were plenty of local eateries within a 5 minute walk.

Will definitely go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, and you have recognize that Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition about our front and back of the house staff. As for the WiFi, we are upgrading to a larger bandwidth and re positioning the router. Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the Hotel for the comfort & satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    418
    103
    31
    9
See reviews for
94
468
133
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The room is very clean and the service excellent. Located in between 2 MRT stations, it is more convenient to get around the city by taking buses. A food court and many good restaurants are within walking distance.

The room is small and quite expensive as compared with other Asian cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rayl1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel. Your recognition of our service staff in the front & back of the house at Hotel Nostalgia are mostly appreciated.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Very welcoming and helpful, staff seemed genuinely interested in assisting with regards to getting around Singapore. Room was tiny to say the least but had everything one needed. Clean and tidy. Great location for Chinatown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank GnT1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, particularly your stay with us and your recognition of our service staff in the front & back of the house at Hotel Nostalgia.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I picked this hotel based on above average tripadvisor reviews. Was totally disappointed from the time I checked in. I usually don’t complain about the size of the room but it was “unacceptable” no matter how much I paid for (US$160 or so). Extra small room (smaller than Japanese business hotel in Tokyo), and no space to move around or place your carry on (20” roller). During the stay, I had to move my luggage constantly in order to move around. the room.

NO ELECTRIC OUTLETS!!! They have ONE available outlet that I had to share when charging my laptop, phone, and my Braun electric tooth brush. The room had clock radio that didn’t event turn on but you won’t use it anyways because it occupied the only electric outlet near the desk (extra small desk/makeup desk for women). One small window was shut and sealed so you could not open – could be a good thing because I saw a huge cockroach stuck in between the window for all day.

Air-conditioning was almost impossible to control. I was not able to control the flow/strength of the air (except temperature/on-off) because the air was hitting directly onto my face while I was sleeping – I had to turn it off while sleeping.

Location – Safe but not in central area like others Singapore hotels (in the same price range) I stayed before. Good but not even close to MTR. You have to walk 15 or more minutes to get to the closest MTR near the shopping center. I don’t use public transportation in Singapore so it didn’t matter. It has decent amount of restaurants, and is located next to Tiong Bahru market that has TON small stores to order food. The trick is that you have to be there when they are open. They don’t seem to open early or stay open late – at least during my stay (two weeks before F1 event).

Staff – Very nice and helpful so I have no issues with them at all. Very courteous and helped anyway they can to get a taxi at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeA-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the feedback about our hotel.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel.
As for your concern about room size, guest could ask for upgrade to larger room with additional charge upon availability. As for Electric outlet, all our rooms are equip with minimum of 4 outlet for guest use. We have verified that the room you stayed in are equip with 1x at bed side, 1x at desk area, 1x at wall by entrance, 1x at mini bar area & 1x in the toilet area. About the large roaches stuck between the window out side, since we are located in the tropical climate, we have minimum control for what happened out side of our hotel window, but we do have our qualified licensed pest control contractor that are doing our regular scheduled pest buster. As for the AC, there are button on the AC panel to press for Low or High Fan for the air circulation. If you wish to have lesser air movement, just press Low on the button. Radio by the way is working, you just have to turn the power switch- on by the electric outlet.
We are glad to hear that you recognize our service staff for the front and back of the house at Hotel Nostalgia.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My family stayed in the 2 double rooms. Rooms were small but clean and had the usual amenities. Great location as it is near local eateries such as the Tiong Bahru Market. Service was wonderful and as we were about to leave, was personally greeted by the very friendly owner. On top of that, the restaurant serves delicious pasta and very affordable wine by the glass.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank enniati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective feedback about our hotel.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel. Your recognition of our service staff for the front & back of the house at Hotel Nostalgia are mostly appreciated.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dc
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Good small hotel and friendly service, great location (with plenty of cool little shops and food options nearby, 10min walk from MRT) but super small room and quite noisy. Nice bathroom and comfy bed, good TV screen. Did you use the pool but seemed very clean.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cddc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective feedback about our hotel.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel. Your recognition of our service for the front & back of the house at Hotel Nostalgia are mostly appreciated.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.

Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

Great little hotel in a good location if you want to experience more of the real Singapore rather than the touristy stuff. Fantastic hawker centre is literally 1 minute away and an MRT station about 15 minutes walk away.

We arrived at the hotel a few hours before check in time, expecting to just drop our bags off and come back later, but they gave us a complimentary drink to cool down and got our room sorted within half an hour!

The room was one of the smallest we've stayed in but it had everything you needed (complimentary water and a fridge is especially useful for the climate) as well as being very very clean. The staff were also extremely friendly, we always got greeted as we entered and left the hotel and they also answered our questions with a smile. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us an objective/ unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have a wonderful time here in Singapore, particularly your stay with us and your recognition of our service staff at Hotel Nostalgia. We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru , surrounded by local eateries and the rooms are furnished with modern amenities. MRT & Bus Stops are within walking distance from the hotel.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we greatly appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your associate in the next visit to Singapore.
Sincerely,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#49 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#90 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#55 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Naumi Liora
Naumi Liora
#97 of 308 in Singapore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nostalgia

Property: Hotel Nostalgia
Address: 77 Tiong Bahru Road, Singapore 168727, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#45 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#51 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nostalgia 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nostalgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nostalgia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing