We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure”
Review of Hotel Nostalgia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nostalgia
Ranked #56 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, entrance clean and attractive. I would agree that the rooms are very small and rather dark, at least mine was. I use a wheelchair and the room they allocated me with the wheelchair accessible en-suite was fine and I must add that the en-suite had everything I needed, great seat under a very efficient shower and hand rails in the right places for a change. They helped me organize the hire of a mobility scooter which took me wherever I wanted to go. The menu of the bistro attached wasn't large but what was on offer was good. Right opposite was a famous food market where every local dish could be brought at ridiculously low prices. Possibly a bit pricey for the room size, especially if you were stuck in because of the rain, but for me, compensated for by being treated so well.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Ms Judith B,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective & unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service associate overall and the quality of F&B at Hotel Nostalgia.
As for the particular room size, with an additional charge, guest could upgrade to a larger one. Our physically challenge rooms are equipt with the latest facilities and furnished with quality bedding & linens. The amenities are paraben free products and each room are local designer work of arts.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Don't go by other reviews of this hotel as they are highly misleading. Part of the reason why i ended up booking this hotel.
This hotel by no means is a 4 star property. Im surprised how this is not verified by trip advisor or even other sites such as expedia booking.com and so on.
We booked a $150 room at the hotel and were shocked to see a room which is no bigger than washrooms at any normal 4star hotel. On complaining about the size we were given a different room but manager wanted to charge us additional $50 for it but i put my foot down and told him that i would rather pay one night fine and move to a different hotel so he waived off the charge. the upgraded room was also small by $150 4star rate but we were stuck. There's no room service, restaurant of the hotel is very small and nothing great i suggest eating out. Hotel is also not in best of locations as its a 15 min walk to either metro stations.
for lesser money you can get better hotels in singapore.. e.g. Furama singapore
Avoid this hotel at any cost. owners of the hotel need to bring down the prices by half to justify this hotel. if you still want to book here... make sure you take there most expensive room as that will be a normal sized room everywhere else. This hotel has the smallest size rooms i've even seen and i've travelled everywhere from tokyo to london to paris.... this hotel is overpriced big time.

Room Tip: Don't book here.. best tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sayadil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Mr&Mrs Sayadil - New Dehli India,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the feedback about our hotel.
We have verified with our guest services agent concerning your stay with us during your visit and you are unhappy about almost everything here in Singapore, to name a few, e/a your visit to Botanical Garden, Duck Tour, Night Safari Zoo etc...
Our record shows that you have been upgraded from Superior to Exclusive Room with no charge, that would have been SGD $ 100 value.
Concerning your question about the legitimacy of our 207 guest review and the rating from Trip Advisor, Expedia & Booking.com, we must inform you that this REVIEW ARE LEGITIMATE & ACCOUNTABLE.
You are asking every one to TRUST YOU “Don't Read other reviews of this property! Trust me.” and disregard the 207 guest, BY NO MEANS IN ANY COMMON SENSE OF OPINION THAT YOU ARE THE ONLY CORRECT ONE.
As for the Room Service, yes we do have this facility, menus are placed on the table in the room.
In regard to Restaurant very small, this is our Alfresco dining area serving Italian Bistro fare, in-door & out door facilities.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT to Tiong Bahru station is 7 to 10 minutes NORMAL walking distance and Bus stops are just in front of the door steps.
If budgeting is your primary concern for all your dissatisfaction in Singapore, then Singapore is the wrong destination for your next travel plan.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we regret for your dissatisfaction during your stay in Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Nostalgia Hotel for 2 nights prior to boarding our cruise. The Nostalgia is a 50-room boutique hotel located in a historic neighbourhood. The location may not be within walking distance of many attractions for all (especially if you don’t like the humidity and heat) but we, as pensioners, managed OK. We first walked to the Metro (10 min) and got a single to Bugis Street and the market, from there we walked to Raffles then Clarke Quay and back to the hotel with a couple of ‘Tiger beer’ pit stops on the way. Our Superior room was tiny especially with 3 cases and 2 bags but the bed was really comfortable, the room spotless, free Wi-Fi, the amenities, and one of the best hotel showers I’ve come across in all my travels. I cannot comment on the other higher graded rooms. The hotel boasts a rooftop pool with areas to sit and admire the lights from Singapore at night. There is an outside Bistro type restaurant that is lovely to sit with a drink and watch the world go by. On our first morning we were late for breakfast being a bit jet lagged, but the manager very kindly insisted that it wasn’t a problem and promptly served us our breakfasts. There are plenty of local restaurants close by which are very reasonable in price and the food is good. The manager couldn’t do enough for us; his waiting on and hotel staff were friendly and always ready to help. A lovely and reasonably priced hotel for Singapore.

Room Tip: Rooms other than Superior may be larger but if you are traveling light Superior has all you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonyandanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Tony and Anne,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our service associates and F&B qualities. As for the room size, with an additional charge, guest could upgrade to a larger one, upon availability.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel and local eateries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Excellent friendly and helpful staff, food very good for what was required but the whole experience was let down by the rooms - They were small, and in need of modernisation.

Service could not be faulted, and the outside area was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Okay for stop over, but no more than that
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Mr Ian C,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service associate overall and the quality of F&B at Hotel Nostalgia. As your concern about the particular room size, with an additional charge, guest could upgrade to a larger one.
Our rooms are furnished with quality bedding & linens, the amenities are paraben free products and each room are local designer work of arts.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The staff and management were the best we have come across in Singapore. They helped us to make the most of our 3day stay. Alway pleasant and nothing was ever a bother. Our room tho compact had everything we needed and the bed and shower were the best of our 3weeks in asia. Highly recommend this charming hotel.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank markwS4731BB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective & unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service staff in the front and back of the house. As for the room size, with an additional charge, guest could upgrade to a larger one.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Small, but very nice and very clean hotel. We're greeted every time going in or out of the hotel, very helpful. Central to everything,or short taxi journey. Room was a bit small, but other was good, great views

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Mrs Carol C,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation and particularly your recognition of our service associates.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Welcomed at 11 pm by the receptionist who helped us to our well appointed double room with quality bed linen. Good location, small, nice feel. Meals could be taken inside or outside. Pleasant swimming pool and sitting area. Fine for short stay.

Room Tip: We requested a twin room, but as they were fully booked they upgraded us to a superior double on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capric0rn36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation and particularly your recognition of our service associates.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#64 of 319 in Singapore
490 reviews
Hotel G Singapore
#73 of 319 in Singapore
1,493 reviews
Tiong Bahru
Wangz Hotel
Wangz Hotel
#11 of 319 in Singapore
1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Aqueen Heritage Hotel Joo Chiat
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#113 of 319 in Singapore
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nostalgia

Address: 77 Tiong Bahru Road, Singapore 168727, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#44 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#54 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nostalgia 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nostalgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nostalgia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing