We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nostalgia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nostalgia
Ranked #56 of 306 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Byfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I was recently in Singapore for the wedding of my son and a few of us stayed at Nostalgia. The service was impeccable, in spite of all the demands we made. Very informative and friendly staff. We relaxed in the lobby after events and enjoyed the pool. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone going to Singapore.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Ms Marie C,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation and particularly your recognition of our service associates.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    428
    108
    31
    10
See reviews for
101
481
135
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We have just spent 4 nights at the Hotel Nostalgia while visiting Singapore for the first time.

The room was clean, attractive and well equipped, with the softest sheets we had ever slept on! Only minor negative was that it was on the cosy side but this did not bother us at all.

The hotel is made by the lovely hotel staff who did so much to help us get the most from our stay in their city.

Excellent value for such a convenient location near to all the top sights. I would recommend it to anyone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Jraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jraine, Brisbane,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service staff at the front and back of the house and the cleanliness of the room.
Our rooms are furnished with quality bedding & linens, the amenities are paraben free products and each room is local designer work of arts.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel and local eateries are all around the neighborhood
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel nostalgia during our honeymoon. I never expected such customer service out of this hotel. I could talk about the what I would assume as the owner or GM giving you daily tips on where to eat or what to do in the immediate area, to the good bye message in their tv board as you leave, or everything else in between. The rooms are small, but super cozy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Mr Roger M,
" Congratulations on your new phase in life, all the very best ".
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectations and particularly your recognition of our service associates in the front & back of the house.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Most things at this hotel are really good but the size of the superior room is a real issue. It would be fine for one person or for two with only one small or medium suitcase between them but nothing more. We have had very small rooms in Tokyo and London but this was tiny. If you want to compare this hotel to others, you need to compare the superior room, about 20% dearer.

The hotel is convenient for buses but a fair walk to the MRT. Tiong Bharu has some great art deco buildings and the market has good local food.

The staff are really helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Superior room or better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service staff at the front and back of the house. As for your concern about the particular room size, with an additional charge, guest could upgrade to a larger one.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel and local eateries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Small rooms, close to many places worth visiting in Singapore.
Friendly and helpful staff. Good for a 2-3 days stay.

Room service options were limited, the stuff we ordered was good. Not too many options for dinner close by.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank origautam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us the objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you are pleased with our service staff at the front and back of the house.
As for the particular room size, with an additional charge, guest could upgrade to a larger one upon availability. We have a limited room service menu, however within 2 minutes from us are choices of Chinese, Japanese, Korean and Italian Continental food is just in the hotel.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at the Hotel Nostalgia. The hotel's charming atmosphere is rather reminiscent of Shanghai, circa 1940 -- warm, dark, cozy and inviting.

Located in the amiable neighborhood of Tiong Bahru, the hotel is quite convenient to get to, while still being somewhat removed from the hustle and bustle of downtown; it's about a 25-minute taxi ride from the airport. It's a 10-12 minute walk to the subway station, in either direction (Outram Road or Tiong Bahru). There is also a bus stop located directly outside the hotel, or a taxi can be easily had right out front.

The staff could not be more friendly and accommodating; their customer service is first rate! We were able to get an early check-in with no problem at all, and in fact, every request we made was promptly and graciously attended to. We were treated like visiting dignitaries.

The guest rooms are rather small (it is Singapore, after all, where space is limited) but ours was spotlessly clean and very comfortably appointed. Our room featured a nice little lanai with table and chairs where we could sit and enjoy a cool beverage and watch the traffic go by.

The bed was quite comfortable and the air conditioning worked very, very well. The water pressure in the shower was decent and we had ample hot water. The television had English-speaking channels, as well as several Chinese options. Our room included a safe, an iPhone charger/music player and an electric kettle (plus complimentary bottled water and teas) but no refrigerator. Two things to note: closet space is very limited, and there is only one 2-pronged outlet which will fit US and Chinese plugs.

The pool area on the 3rd floor is quite pleasant, albeit small. The hotel's restaurant is likewise small, but never crowded, and the service was fast. We were very pleased with all the food (we had breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks there during our 4-day stay, so we had a good sampling). There are also many dining options within walking distance in the neighborhood if you're looking for more local-style cuisine, rather than the western-style options available at the hotel.

If our travels bring us back to Singapore in the future, we will certainly stay at the Hotel Nostalgia again -- I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shanghyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Shanghyper, Shanghai - China,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our service associates in the front & back of the house and the F&B qualities.
As for the Fridge, every room have 1 unit, just open the cupboard under the Mini Bar and as for the power plug, every room have 4x for guest use, 1x of them with golden star sticker is Multipurpose Plug that can fit any type.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT & Bus stops are just within walking distance from the hotel and authentic local eateries are all around the neighborhood.

On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Our group of two couples have just returned from our three night stay at Nostalgia. So long as you know what you are getting, Nostalgia is quite lovely. I thought it was actually an old hotel but it was only opened in 2009 but looks "nostalgic". There was originally a Chinese temple on the site which was removed to larger grounds. The staff are definitely a bonus and you really will feel like a guest and not a room number, something the big hotels cannot claim. Little things like remembering how you like your coffee.

As others have said our room was clean, small but comfortable - the bed was great but if you are tall you will find your legs may hang over the end. We had drinks and a swim at the pool on level 3 at the end of a hot day sightseeing to refresh before heading out to eat. Early check in and late check out was no problem and arrangements for travel or tours was made for us with no drama whatsoever. Thanks Perry and Danny for your help.

If you're not game to try new food you can eat well at the hotel, but if you're a little more adventurous walk one minute to Tiong Bahru market and try what the locals are eating for $3 a plate. There are great bakeries on the street and also a 7-11.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manda6062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DELIANA L, Manager at Hotel Nostalgia, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you for taking your valuable time schedule to write us this objective and unbiased feedback about our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you have found Hotel Nostalgia is up to your expectation, particularly your recognition of our service associates and F&B qualities. As for a tall person, we do provide foot extension that can be placed upon request.
Nevertheless we are continuing to improve in all areas of the hotel for the comfort and satisfaction of our guest.
We are located in the historical estate of Tiong Bahru, MRT and Bus stops are within walking distance of the hotel and local eateries are all around the neighborhood.
On behalf of the management, staff & owner of Hotel Nostalgia, we sincerely appreciate your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you & your colleague in the next visit to Singapore.
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Hotel YAN
#57 of 306 in Singapore
295 reviews
Joo Chiat
Champion Hotel
Champion Hotel
#94 of 306 in Singapore
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Liora
#97 of 306 in Singapore
810 reviews
Chinatown
The Scarlet Singapore
The Scarlet Singapore
#51 of 306 in Singapore
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nostalgia

Property: Hotel Nostalgia
Address: 77 Tiong Bahru Road, Singapore 168727, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Best Value Hotel in Singapore
#45 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#53 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#56 Family Hotel in Singapore
#62 Business Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nostalgia 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nostalgia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Nostalgia Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing