We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Small Room”
Review of Le Peranakan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Peranakan Hotel
Ranked #278 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Reviewed 31 May 2013

room is very small. When I open up my hard case lugguage, I couldn't even open the hotel room door. For the price of this room, I will rather stay at Budget Hotels like Hotel 81 and it will be so much cheaper!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EricTanGr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Eric,

Thank you for your review. I totally understand the discomfort when you stayed in our standard rooms which are quite small. I highly recommend the Superior & Deluxe rooms which are much larger especially if you have many luggages. Feel free to contact us directly and we would be more than happy to accommodate your needs.

Regards,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed at Peranakan 'Hotel' in early April. We find that the hotel website clearly misrepresents the rooms and facilities in the rooms. There is no in room safe or hairdryer as advertised. There is also no 'complimentary toiletries' unless you count the industrial grade soap dispenser and green industrial liquid termed as 'soap' and half used toilet roll as toiletries.

The room is not clean. I found fibres and hairs on the bed sheet, and fibres and hairs stuck to the duvet. There is a duvet with no cover and just a sheet on top of it as a make shift cover.
The carpet is mucky and the bath room has mold on the floor, at the sink and at the shower stall. All of which I think contributed to our feet itching whilst in the room.

They dont bother replacing broken wardrobe and desk knobs/handles or the broken towel hook in the bathroom.

Having a 'window' room isnt of much use as the bed is horizontally against the window and you cant even open the curtain or the window. Dont bother trying to move the bed away from the window as otherwise you wouldnt be able to open or get through the door of the room.
So there is no benefit of having a view or air circulation for that matter with having a window room. In fact all you would get is more noise and sound pollution from the traffic and honking cars parking (double parking and triple parking) below your window (hence the honking).
One consolation though is if you have window (albeit a tiny one) in the bathroom, at least you can have air circulation (although it faces the back lane and lets in hot air from the airconditioner compressers that sit just outside the window)

The one real discomfort was knowing that there was only one tiny staircase in the middle of the shop lot and the maze of corridoors. Thus in the event of a fire or smoke, would be hard to locate the stairs and get down the steep tiny steps safely.

We stayed for 3 nights in a room with window and a windowless room (yes had to change rooms although our booking was for 3 nights). The stale moldly air in the windowless room was just too much to for us and we abandoned the room midway on the 3rd day.

Would not recomend this room to anyone unless they are comfortable to put up with all of the above circumstances. Also not recomended to anyone who is finds it hard to negotiate their way around a room where there is approx 2 feet of space between the bed and the left side of the room and the foot of the bed the wall with an opening to the loo and shower.

Room Tip: If you need to extend your stay and make an additional booking dont bother asking the front desk who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RubyJadeKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Ruby,

I sincerely apologize for the discomfort you experienced during your stay at Le Peranakan Hotel. The past few months we have been working toward improving the service standards and room cleanliness. Taking extra effort that even a strand of hair that might have fallen from the housekeeper is not left unnoticed as rooms are immediately checked by the staff on shift. We wish to ensure that room cleanliness is kept up to standard to compensate for the lesser room amenities and room size.

Feel free to drop me an email Kevin@Leperanakanhotel.com, and I would be able to advise you on a good room at the hotel.

Sincerely,
Kevin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I am a regular at this hotel. I have literally stayed here over 20 times.

Its a great location in terms of proximity to the airport, its in a quiet neighborhood, and walking distance to some really nice restaurants.

Sure, the rooms are tiny... but they have free Wi-Fi, and its not a "transit" hotel like the noisy hotel 81 chain, which is really more of a "short time" rendezvous type of place if you know what I mean...

By Singapore prices, you certainly get what you pay for, and then some. Staff are friendly and competent. -rooms are clean enough.

Room Tip: Ask in advance if you can get one of the deluxe rooms with a window. many of the rooms have no windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lazinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Lazinator,

Thank you so much for your kind review. We look forward to your next stay with us. Feel free to drop us a line to make a booking and we always make sure our regular guests receive a more personalized service.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Very professional staff. Very clean. Nice decor. Nice area of city. Very near to restaurants, other conveniences. Very safe area. City bus stops only a block away to take you into the CBD. Take Bus #15 north on Telok Kurau Road to the Eunos MRT station, on the East-West Line. I was a 62yo man traveling alone.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have windows. Be sure to specify what you want at the time you make a reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HughH259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Hugh,

Thank you so much for your kind review. Your words have inspired the staff to work harder and we can't wait till your next visit to Singapore. Do not hesitate to give us a call or email if you wish to make the next reservation with us. Cheers!

Regards,
Kevin Boon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We were really disappointed when we arrived late at night to find our room with a leaky AC and a very smelly bathroom. When we asked the front desk a few questions, they were not polite either. They didn't try to assist us in any way. We decided not to spend the night since the room was so bad. I would never recommend this hotel. Check out the Santa Grande in the same East Coast area. It is MUCH nicer, clean and the front desk was incredibly helpful and kind. For the about the same price, we received a great stay with a great breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StephenElliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Stephen,

I sincerely apologize for the frustration and discomfort you experienced during your visit to Le Peranakan Hotel. We have taken much effort to make sure the rooms are in good condition and also further trained the staff in better customer service.

Thank you for your valuable review. We strive to do better.

Sincerely,
Kevin Boon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My adult son and I shared a twin room for 6 nights....in retrospect I would book two single rooms in future as there is really not enough room for two people with luggage in a twin...however we learnt that if someone was moving around the room the other had to sit :-) and really for the price in Singapore it was fine. Plenty of eateries around and close to the airport one way and everywhere else the other. Staff were good, checkin and out fine, and WiFi fine.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
Thank LindaO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Linda,

Thank you for your kind review. We do have a family room available which is much larger, it has a queen sized bed and 1 single bed. We look forward to your next stay with us. Cheers!

Regards,
Kevin Boon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We arrived late to the hotel and were greeted by rather surly, grudging service. We requested a room close to the lift, and of course, got the farthest one. We were shocked when we opened the door. The room was the size of a jail cell! You could literally lie in bed, open the door and hang out the Do Not Disturb sign! Morning service was nicer, but I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Have $50 for the room key deposit. Don't bother with special requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susanlee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin B, Manager at Le Peranakan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Dear Susan,

Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologize for the disappointment you faced when your requests were not met. At Le Peranakan Hotel, we always do our best to accommodate the special requests whenever possible but at times its just not possible to fulfill the request.

As for the room size, the standard double room you booked indeed is very small. I highly recommend the Superior/Deluxe rooms which are much larger.

Regards,
Kevin Boon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 Changi
Hotel 81 Changi
#221 of 317 in Singapore
13 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel  81 Classic
Hotel 81 Classic
#232 of 317 in Singapore
73 reviews
Amber Hotel
#243 of 317 in Singapore
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel The Lily
Venue Hotel The Lily
#137 of 317 in Singapore
347 reviews
Joo Chiat
Venue Hotel
Venue Hotel
#131 of 317 in Singapore
476 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel 81 - Sakura
Hotel 81 - Sakura
#209 of 317 in Singapore
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Peranakan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Peranakan Hotel

Address: 400 East Coast Road | Katong District, Singapore 428994, Singapore
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Joo Chiat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #278 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Price Range: £37 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Peranakan Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Le Peranakan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Peranakan Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing