We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky spotless with a zen minimalist approach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 309 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Funky spotless with a zen minimalist approach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2012

Although difficult for taxi driver to find it is not really in Chinatown but it is walkable and safe to do so.
Bathroom is beautiful although small. Bed is really good, as is breakfast. They make you cappuccinos and warm the milk for other tea and coffee beverages.
They are courteous and treat guests perfectly. A fantastic stay for a couple of nights.

Room Tip: No pool means few children running wild so this can appeal to those wanting an upmarket stay without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4thtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear 4thtime,

We are sorry to read of your inconvenience encountered in wayfinding. You will be happy to know that a new sign has recently been put up to direct drivers to the drop-off point. Should you prefer not to walk next time, you may have the option of taking the complimentary shuttle service to Outram Park MRT Station which is located a few metres away to Chinatown.

Please visit us again when your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    351
    77
    12
    5
See reviews for
148
604
93
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012 via mobile

My friend and I were a little disappointed on arrival as he reception didn't look as good as the pics on Internet - however the staff were so helpful and the shuttle driver accommodated us often with request - it was a pleasure to stay here - beds very comfie!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muriel-Joburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Jeffrey M ,

Thank you for writing this review and we are happy to read you have a wonderful experience at our hotel.

Please visit us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed at wangz for 4 nights. The most lasting impression was the staff, very friendly and professional. The rooms were funky, loved the shower and in built mood music. The location was right in the middle of a busy intersection, which meant a little traffic noise and a little bit of a trek to the main action. If your a coffee lover like me, both forty hands and the french one nearby serve a good brew

Helpful?
1 Thank Emfromoz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear Emfromoz,

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant experience at our hotel. We look forward to your return in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Windsor, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

Great hotel!! The staff is efficient, friendly and do whatever it takes to make you comfortable, take care of your needs and make you feel at home. The amenities are first-rate and the location is great, just minutes from either the Tiong Bahru or Outram Park MRT stations and the hotel has a 7-day a week shuttle to the Outram Park MRT. The rooms are spotless and the walk-in shower is wonderful. The Halo lounge on the roof gives you a very pretty view of the downtown skyline.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Jeffrey M,

Thank you for this review. We are happy you had a pleasant stay and hope to see you again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Had a great stay.. totally good service and great experience! Stayed there for 2 nights with my dad. The room is big and the decor was nice. It was brilliant. The hotel staff was friendly and very polite.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Albert T,

Thank you for such a positive review. We hope to have you and your family with us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

This hotel is perfect for both business traveller or those who like boutique hotel.

Room is well appointed, spotless and tastefully decorated. Very comfortable bed. I love their bathroom and shower box. Good toiletries. Free wifi.

Their location is a bit inconvenient as MRT is a bit of walk but it's ideal for people who take a taxi mostly.

Lastly, I have to congratulate their staff from the front desk to the maid. They are friendly and very service minded. You can tell its not the kind of clinical fake smile but they do it with sincerity.

I almost missed my flight because of F1 which blocked certain area in the city. I was late and call them to help get my lag gauge. I was almost in tears for the fear of losing my important flight. Their staff was waiting to load my bag into the taxi.

Two thumbs up for their service!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K_ken25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear K_ken25,

I am glad you managed to catch your flight and on behalf of the team, I thank you sincerely for your positive comments. We are honoured to have served you and look forward to having you as our return guest in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Wangz in Singapore for 5 nights with my 20 yo daughter.

The room was on the 5th floor and looked over a busy road but also had views of greenery and city lights. The rooms are adequate but not huge but was big enough to be comfortable for the two of us with twin singles being side by side in the centre wall area.

Usual fittings with wall controls for all lights from one of the beds, a safe, large wall mounted flat panel tv teaand coffee making in room.

The building itself is a circular shape which lends to some architectural challenges but it has been done very well. The showers are different ( but in a good way )

Breakfast is included in the price and described as continental - it exceeds that description and includes 3 cooked dishes and eggss cooked to choice ( and beautifully done every day we were there)

What really stood out about the hotel was the amazing service. Staff members were attentive and keen to help and always available when required. The service staff were unobtrusive and never seen - a bit like ninjas cleaning rooms - never seen but the job was always done and done well.

This is not a hotel for younger kids and there would be little to keep them occupied but I don't think that is the market anyway.

This is a welcoming hotel with a team of people working together to be better than others competing in the 'boutique' market they exist in. It is a 41 room hotel but it feels bigger in a good way. This group of people are a long way along that journey.

Realizing it would be my daughters 21st the day after we were too book out they went to the trouble to prepare a delicious slab of cake and presented it to her at breakfast on the day we were leaving ( the day before the birthday). All done with an enthusiastic rendition of 'Happy Birthday' from all the on duty staff.- As I said, a team working together to get in front ( or stay there if they lead already) - a memory she will have for life and an act that was absolutely unexpected.

Late checkout assisted us to reduce our time at Changi.

I would stay here again - trouble is I think it will become a booked out facility with a capacity occupancy at most times and it will be difficult to get rooms - the downside for people like me is the upside for the Wangz.

Room Tip: No road noise at all on the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, The Management of WANGZ Hotel at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Dave B,

Thank you for being an ambassador of WANGZ Hotel and may I wish your daughter a happy belated 21st birthday.

We are delighted to have made your visit to Singapore a memorable one and the entire team appreciates your generous compliments for them. It is positive affirmation from guests like yourself that make our hard work worth the while.

We certainly hope to have you stay with us again soon. In the meantime, please take care.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#10 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,706 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#13 of 309 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing