We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint neighbourhood, Bright fresh design”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 319 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on business and leisure. Absolutely love the Tiong Bahru district, especially the Tiong Bahru market, where you can find lots of local eateries. It is less crowded and just as local as other more centrally located food markets such as Maxwell. Close to a newly opened heritage trail, if you have time to explore. As others have said, super breakfast and spacious room in chic design. Some stains on carpet, but they don't bother me. Complimentray soft drinks and water in mini-bar, good wi-fi. Quiet as my room faces Tiong Bahru Road. Walking to Outram Park MRT takes a 10-minute brisk walk along an exposed pedestrian way. Easy bus transfer to China town, bus 33. Very helpful and friendly service. Hotel shuttle service to MRT is useful, but does not depart on the dot, maybe 5-10 minutes delay. Overall, I had a very pleasant stay there, and would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roundfaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Roundfaced,

Indeed, Tiong Bahru has much heritage and interesting activities to offer both locals and tourists. We especially love the Art Deco architecture and the eclectic blend of modern and traditional eateries and shops. We are glad you had the opportunity to explore the surrounding area.

We regret the delays in departure timings and will ensure that the shuttle schedule is adhered to as closely as possible.

We appreciate your support and look forward to your next visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

695 - 701 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Right on the edge of Chinatown, ideally located for all the good restaurants & bars. Lovely rooms and terrific bar on the roof. Good value for money. Would stay there again. Only downside was you could hear the water running in other rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millsejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Millsejohn,

We are delighted you enjoyed your accommodation and apologise for the slight inconvenience experienced with the insulation. The team will be on top of rectifying this matter.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to serve you again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had three nights, 25/8, 26/8 & 27/8 for my second visit.

The longer stay enabled me to enjoy this ultra modern and quirky hotel - exceptional rooms, friendly & helpful staff, the restaurant breakfast selection was great - the freshly cooked omelettes are a good start for the day.

The property is surrounded by leafy trees to provide shade and give a cooling effect.

If this hotel was in New York it would be amongst the best - a boutique hotel there would be more expensive, over 60 years old with rooms one third the size and no restaurant attached.

Treat yourself to Wangz Hotel for the experience and it is most likely you will return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PAC6017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear PAC6917,

It gives us great pride and joy to read your review. Thank you for bestowing us with such high accolades.

We are very happy that you enjoyed the experience and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights to break the journey back from Sydney to London. The Deep Suite worked well for a couple and three young children who slept on a sofa bed / matress on the floor, enabling us all to be in one room. The king sized bed was very comfortable and buffet breakfast, great. The staff were friendly but would say that the hotel is more aligned with business travellers rather than families - no children's TV and no DVDs for children in the collection that you can borrow. A couple of aspects of the hotel were a bit quirky - a kitchen sink (all be it a very nice one) in the bathroom instead of basin with vanity unit and the lighting in our room was somewhat eccentric - it took a while to work out which combinations of switches operated which combinations of lights. A bit of a trek from the Outram Park MRT station for small children in the humidity, but discovered that taxis around the city are not much more expensive for a family than travelling by MRT. Having said that, the hotel reception desk was quoting $55 for a maxi taxi back to the airport compared with the $25 when we sqeezed into a regular taxi coming to the hotel from the airport. For dinner we ate at one of the 4 or 5 chinese restaurants next to the hotel which was basic but reasonably good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear K S,

Thank you choosing to stay with us during your recent layover.

We appreciate your compliments and feedback as we continually improve our service. Unfortunately, we are unable to add child-friendly TV channels for the time being but will definitely look into presenting a more comprehensive DVD movie collection.

And you may be happy to know we have a sister property, THE FOREST BY WANGZ, a boutique serviced apartment with a built-in kitchenette for your consideration in future.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Breakfast was excellent with a refined spread and It was great service on the part of Chef Steven to give us some dark soy with our soft boil eggs, a preference of local diners! Room had piped music and an adjustable tv screen. One thing to note would be that the work table has too little lighting. In addition, it would be great if spare plug heads can be available on each side of the bed!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4DaBotak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear 4DaBotak,

We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast spread prepared by Chef Steven. Thank you for acknowledging his effort.

We will definitely look into your feedback regarding the room features and look forward to welcoming you back during your next getaway.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed here with my family and it's been a great experience. The staff very friendly and helpful with many aspects of our vacation. This is a unique boutique hotel because of its interior and overall layout. Access will not be a problem for most people because there is a nearby MRT station but it will take a short walk to get there. I recommend this place for families and even other tourists visiting the country.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jegolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear jegolas,

Thank you for your recommendations. We are honoured to have served you and your family well during your recent vacation and look forward to your return soon.

Please take care.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel on the recommendation of friend. The hotel is very nice and located in a quieter part of Singapore. I usually stay within walking distance to Orchard Road but decided to give this hotel a try.

I was pleased with the attentive service and well appointed rooms.
The king sized bed was comfortable and the hotel provided 2 (soft) pillows per guest.

The shower area is very large but that is due to the building's circular shape.

The hotel boasts a sky bar offering unique and changing beer selection for beer lovers.

Lots of interesting local eateries in the Tiong Bahru area within a short walking distance. Places to visit would include Tiong Bahru Bakery, Two Faced Pizza among others.

Overall, a very comfortable stay with quality appointments and I would recommend this.

Room Tip: Higher floors will have lower traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VinceChoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Dear VinceChoo,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your last visit with friends. We are delighted to know you had a very comfortable stay and enjoyed the attentive service, facilities and room amenities.

Please visit us again should you have the opportunity of coming back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 319 in Singapore
1,306 reviews
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 319 in Singapore
8,141 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Naumi Hotel
#19 of 319 in Singapore
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £108 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing