We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last stop on our honeymoon”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 308 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Last stop on our honeymoon”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wangz was our last stop on our honeymoon. We chose the hotel after reading the reviews, checking the location and because breakfast was included.

The hotel were very good in explaining different options of airport transfer (from Mercedes to bus and train). They were also very prompt in replying to our online inquiries.

First impression on arrival was the strange location - when we walked in we were greeted by smiles from all the staff. Our check-in was quick and easy. The manager caught wind we were on our honeymoon and made a special effort to come and congratulate us which was very nice.

We stayed for 3 nights and it was perfect for what we needed. Close to Outram train station (with free shuttles to and from the hotel to a couple of popular places). We spent a fair bit of time walking around and had no issues getting back to the hotel.

The rooftop bar (Halo) staff were fantastic each night we went for a drink. At least one night was pretty close to closing time and they were still happy to get us a drink, wait for us to finish without making it obvious they were ready to close and then warmly saying goodnight when we were finished.

The rooms were clean. A modern and interesting layout, complimentary water and softdrink in the minibar. Free wifi in the rooms.

Overall, friendly staff (from front desk to managers to housekeeping, everything was very friendly).

The dining menu was being reworked while we stayed so we didn't try out any of the room services.

I would stay again and would recommend others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin-dft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Noodlesyo,

First of all, I would like to congratulate you on your wedding. Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us.

We also appreciate your compliments in the review and are glad you had a memorable honeymoon experience in Singapore. I do apologise that you were unable to enjoy in-room dining services during your stay and will find out why this was so as a temporary menu should be offered before the final menu is implemented by the end of this month.

All of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to your visit again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    359
    77
    12
    5
See reviews for
154
625
95
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We've had an extended stay of 2 weeks that was primarily business and that sort of time gives an hotel the chance to reveal both its good and bad sides. The difficulty we have is thinking of a bad side to write about. This is the sort of hotel we look for wherever we travel. It's on the small side, smartly furnished, with all the amenities we find important (Wi-Fi yes, swimming pool no). However, all of these factors would be irrelevant without the staff to help one make the most of one's stay and here is where we felt the Wangz really excelled. Without exception the staff were attentive without being intrusive, thoughtful without being fussy and very helpful.

At breakfast the Wangz seem to operate a policy of having an advisor on hand who can provide advice and help in arranging or suggesting activities. With Miss Chang's help I was able to make the most of my time in Singapore. This was also hugely helped by the Shuttle Bus service which, perhaps because it was over a quieter period of November and December, helped out in ways that were over and above the normal call of duty.

The staff helped ensure that what could have been a frantic and fraught visit, turned into the best it could have been in the circumstances.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelswithoutmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Travelswithoutmydog,

Thank you for writing such an encouraging review. We are all extremely delighted to know your experience was memorable and that the team provided a fuss-free business trip for you.

It has been a honour serving you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Warmest greetings for the festive holidays!


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Friendly staff, clean awesome rooms. Very quiet too, which i always appreciate. The location is really great if you don't mind a short walk to the MRT station (alternatively, the hotel provides a shuttle to the Outram Park MRT, Orchard Road and another popular location that I am blanking on). I did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it smelled good every morning!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spocksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear spocksf,

We appreciate your time in posting this review and thank you for your compliments for our service and amenities.

In case you may still be wondering, the other shuttle drop-off location is actually at Raffles Place/Marina Bay. It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy breakfast this time but I do hope you will have an opportunity to join us during your next visit to WANGZ Hotel.

Happy holidays!


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Funky rooms! Colourful and fun! Had this awesome bathtub overlooking the town. The hotel itself is small, so felt very nice and personalised. I didn't like the location which was the only downfall, you had to get a taxi into China town otherwise it was a fairly decent stroll.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThanhThiTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear ThanhThiTran,

Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your positive feedback on the ambience and service in the hotel.

While we are unable to change the location, we believe the accessibility of public transportation and the complimentary shuttle service provided has somewhat eased your travelling around the city.

We certainly hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Place was all in all great! Good neighbourhood, good connections, really nice interior, friendly staff, really cool rooms and good breakfast. Most certainly will stay there next time in Singapore. Our warmest recommendations! Good value for the money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Harri N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Harrisaur,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation experience and appreciate your many compliments for the hotel.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Our room on the sixth floor looked out onto a big road but it somehow added to the experience. The soundproofing was perfect, the bathroom was designed to overlook the view without sacrificing privacy. The bed was divine and the bar on the top is great. Very attentive service at breakfast and they ordered our cabs. Nearby is Tiong Bahru, a conservation area of Art Deco buildings. We only wished we had found it sooner. Forget the big hotels, this one is special.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Mary M,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are very pleased to read of your favourable experience and appreciate your many compliments on the hotel's design, amenities, facilities and service.

The Management and team welcomes you into the WANGZ family and look forward to your many returns in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Although the Wangz Hotel is in Tiong Bahru, which is a wonderful 1930s art deco area of Singapore (well worth exploring - I strongly recommend following the Tiong Bahru Heritage Trail), in no way is it 1930s.
Instead the unusual cylindrical building (and everything inside) it is an exercise in hi-tech that fits well with Singapore, where technology seems to rule.
Our room was amazing, although it did take us a while to work out how to operate the technology and turn off the ambient music. Huge double bed - needed a cab to get from one side to the other, but hey, they're so cheap in Singapore! Walk-in shower was brilliant too.
For an evening drink or two, the bar at the top is open to the stars, so that the slightest breeze comes in - much needed after the and humidity of the day. The bar is open to the public so, when ordering, don't forget to tell the bar staff you're staying in the hotel...
Although not at all hi-tech the breakfast gave a wide enough choice for us, so can't complain.
The staff were really helpful and made our one-night stay as relaxing as a one-night stay can be.
Thanks, Wangz.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard67gilpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear GreenwichPowderhound,

Thank you for taking time to write this review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your overall accommodation experience from your room amenities to the hotel facilities and our team’s service. We love the distinctive architecture and charm of Tiong Bahru as well and are glad you spent time exploring the area during your trip.

Please visit WANGZ Hotel again when your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#14 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,026 reviews
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 308 in Singapore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing