We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Second Visit”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #9 of 316 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Our second visit, since a year ago. Nothing has changed much. Service is still as good! But there's still the smell of the toilet which I commented previously! :( haha, we went out for dinner and after we came back, there was this pungent smell that lingering in the room. But after showering and all, it is not that strong. Realised we were staying the same room, but different storey so perhaps the smell is only for this particular room? Room 504?

Boyf booked the room to celebrate my bday so it would be great if they were able to upgrade my stay or perhaps a gesture since it is booked under my name with my details etc. so slight disappointment here, but oh well, it aint their fault because we didnt request for anything....

still a pleasant and decent stay :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Cindy L,

Thank you for your return visit and also for choosing to celebrate your special occasion with us.
The team at WANGZ Hotel would like to take this opportunity to wish you a happy belated birthday and hope for many more to come.

First of all, please accept this apology for the Front Office’s oversight on your birth date as we should have prepared a small surprise. Secondly, we have looked into your feedback regarding the pungent smell in the room but have not located any source for this problem. However, we will continue to monitor this situation to prevent this from occurring again.

We appreciate your support and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,247)
There are newer reviews for Wangz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

589 - 595 of 1,247 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Third stay in past 12 months or so, booked two nights - 4/12 & 5/12 - on route to China. There is not much else to say about this hotel that many others have said or I have in my past two stays.

What did stand out though was the service provided by staff at all levels. If customer satisfaction and retention is the company goal then that is right at the top.

Well recommended again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the fifth floor or below. They are a little quieter than those on the 6th if there...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAC6917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear PAC6917,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and taking the time to write another favourable review. The Management is grateful for your compliments on our guest satisfaction and retention efforts, and the WANGZ Hotel team is encouraged to deliver even better experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back home next year. Happy holidays!


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Wangz was our last stop on our honeymoon. We chose the hotel after reading the reviews, checking the location and because breakfast was included.

The hotel were very good in explaining different options of airport transfer (from Mercedes to bus and train). They were also very prompt in replying to our online inquiries.

First impression on arrival was the strange location - when we walked in we were greeted by smiles from all the staff. Our check-in was quick and easy. The manager caught wind we were on our honeymoon and made a special effort to come and congratulate us which was very nice.

We stayed for 3 nights and it was perfect for what we needed. Close to Outram train station (with free shuttles to and from the hotel to a couple of popular places). We spent a fair bit of time walking around and had no issues getting back to the hotel.

The rooftop bar (Halo) staff were fantastic each night we went for a drink. At least one night was pretty close to closing time and they were still happy to get us a drink, wait for us to finish without making it obvious they were ready to close and then warmly saying goodnight when we were finished.

The rooms were clean. A modern and interesting layout, complimentary water and softdrink in the minibar. Free wifi in the rooms.

Overall, friendly staff (from front desk to managers to housekeeping, everything was very friendly).

The dining menu was being reworked while we stayed so we didn't try out any of the room services.

I would stay again and would recommend others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin-dft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2013

Dear Noodlesyo,

First of all, I would like to congratulate you on your wedding. Thank you for choosing to spend this very special occasion with us.

We also appreciate your compliments in the review and are glad you had a memorable honeymoon experience in Singapore. I do apologise that you were unable to enjoy in-room dining services during your stay and will find out why this was so as a temporary menu should be offered before the final menu is implemented by the end of this month.

All of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to your visit again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We've had an extended stay of 2 weeks that was primarily business and that sort of time gives an hotel the chance to reveal both its good and bad sides. The difficulty we have is thinking of a bad side to write about. This is the sort of hotel we look for wherever we travel. It's on the small side, smartly furnished, with all the amenities we find important (Wi-Fi yes, swimming pool no). However, all of these factors would be irrelevant without the staff to help one make the most of one's stay and here is where we felt the Wangz really excelled. Without exception the staff were attentive without being intrusive, thoughtful without being fussy and very helpful.

At breakfast the Wangz seem to operate a policy of having an advisor on hand who can provide advice and help in arranging or suggesting activities. With Miss Chang's help I was able to make the most of my time in Singapore. This was also hugely helped by the Shuttle Bus service which, perhaps because it was over a quieter period of November and December, helped out in ways that were over and above the normal call of duty.

The staff helped ensure that what could have been a frantic and fraught visit, turned into the best it could have been in the circumstances.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelswithoutmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Travelswithoutmydog,

Thank you for writing such an encouraging review. We are all extremely delighted to know your experience was memorable and that the team provided a fuss-free business trip for you.

It has been a honour serving you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future. Warmest greetings for the festive holidays!


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Friendly staff, clean awesome rooms. Very quiet too, which i always appreciate. The location is really great if you don't mind a short walk to the MRT station (alternatively, the hotel provides a shuttle to the Outram Park MRT, Orchard Road and another popular location that I am blanking on). I did not have breakfast at the hotel, but it smelled good every morning!

Room Tip: Request an upper floor if you want a view.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spocksf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear spocksf,

We appreciate your time in posting this review and thank you for your compliments for our service and amenities.

In case you may still be wondering, the other shuttle drop-off location is actually at Raffles Place/Marina Bay. It is unfortunate that you were not able to enjoy breakfast this time but I do hope you will have an opportunity to join us during your next visit to WANGZ Hotel.

Happy holidays!


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Funky rooms! Colourful and fun! Had this awesome bathtub overlooking the town. The hotel itself is small, so felt very nice and personalised. I didn't like the location which was the only downfall, you had to get a taxi into China town otherwise it was a fairly decent stroll.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThanhThiTran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear ThanhThiTran,

Thank you for writing this review. We appreciate your positive feedback on the ambience and service in the hotel.

While we are unable to change the location, we believe the accessibility of public transportation and the complimentary shuttle service provided has somewhat eased your travelling around the city.

We certainly hope that you will choose to stay with us again soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Place was all in all great! Good neighbourhood, good connections, really nice interior, friendly staff, really cool rooms and good breakfast. Most certainly will stay there next time in Singapore. Our warmest recommendations! Good value for the money.

1  Thank Harri N
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Dear Harrisaur,

Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your accommodation experience and appreciate your many compliments for the hotel.

We look forward to your return visit in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#14 of 316 in Singapore
1,065 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 316 in Singapore
7,534 reviews
Naumi Hotel
#16 of 316 in Singapore
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £109 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing