We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing experience”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #10 of 317 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel did not let me down one bit. I took my girlfriend to Singapore for a few days and read a few reviews about this hotel and it did not fall short.

The staff were absolutely amazing, so friendly, polite and extremely helpful with everything. Also when notifying them upon check-in that it was my girlfriends birthday they were kind enough to leave a complimentary bottle of champagne in the room for when we came back from going out for dinner. I would like to thank Wangz for that, it was a great touch.

The breakfast that is included was the perfect way to start the day, there was a wide variety and a healthy choice too.

The room itself was great, it had a unique apartment feel to it, a modern and simple design that made it feel unique and comforting.

If I ever return to Singapore I would definitely stay at this hotel, without a doubt and I would recommend it to anyone who is planning to visit Singapore!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMUEL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear SAMUEL K,

Thank for you choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel during your recent visit to Singapore. I would like to to take this opportunity to wish your girlfriend a belated birthday and trust both of you had a memorable celebration as well.

Your affirmation for our TripAdvisor ratings and compliments on the team’s service, hotel facilities and breakfast offering are much appreciated. We are also honoured to be one of your highly recommended hotels and all of us sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

After reading a lot of reviews, we decided on having a weekend staycation here at Wangz. What a great choice! We were greeted with a warm welcome and check in was smooth and swift. Service was good--less than a minute after entering the room, a staff appeared on our doorstep with two cool drinks perfect for the warm weather.

Room was more than functional. Large bathroom (I love it!), beautiful lighting, soft bedding, and more than enough windows for sunlight to stream in. If you're the sort who needs total darkness for sleep, it *might* not be for you. One gripe is that the windows span across the bathroom, so you need to be mindful to put the blinds down while showering especially if you're on the second floor. On the big plus side, great-sized TV, and a great iPod player.

Breakfast was so-so, but nice ambiance. Location was also perfect--walkable distance to Tiong Bahru Plaza (I think that's what it's called). Would definitely come back to stay again!

Room Tip: Get higher floors if you want to shower without the need to pull down the blinds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ili_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear ili_ann,

Thank you for choosing WANGZ Hotel for your staycation and taking the time to post this review.

The compliments and positive feedback on your experience is much appreciated. All of us look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to our hotel for your next getaway.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

One of the best things about the hotel is the location and rooftop bar. It's in an area of Singapore called Tiong Bahru, which is really quite historic with some interesting art deco buildings and local restaurants and color. The bar has great service and great views of downtown Singapore at night, and the location gives easy access both to downtown and northern environs. The hotel itself has a hip vibe, the staff are friendly, and the rooms spacious and well appointed. If I have any negative to say it is perhaps that the rooms are a bit more stylish than they are comfortable (not lush style, more Ikea). The round shape of the hotel makes the curved room a bit odd for furniture. However the shower I had was great - very good water pressure and nice wrap-around shower stall.

Also, restaurants out back keep roosters who announce sunrise at 5am so if you are near ground floor expect to be awakened.

I personally found the service very friendly and full of good humor and a pleasure to talk to. I definitely recommend as a place to explore a different side of Singapore or as a good jumping off point for a vacation visitor, however not sure I would choose this hotel for another business trip as it lacks some practical business comfort and amenities (such as larger desks, more luxurious beds, sound proofing, etc.)

Room Tip: Stay a couple floors above street level to avoid noise of roosters crowing early in morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Highcon,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am delighted to read of your pleasant experience at our hotel and appreciate your compliments for the hotel's location and facilities, Halo rooftop lounge and the staff’s attentive and friendly service.

We recognise that our furnishings and amenities may lack compared to other business hotels, but we hope guests at WANGZ Hotel will be pampered to the extra personal touches that set apart every visit.

Unfortunately, we do not meet your criteria as a choice of accommodation for business trips. However, the team looks forward to opportunities of welcoming you back during one of your leisure visits in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The rave reviews on TA lured me to book a night's stay at Wangz. I have a special liking for boutique hotels with personalised and exception service. To my greatest disappointment, it was a mediocre experience.

We do not feel welcomed at all during the check-in. We were asked strange questions like.."Did you book the room very last minute?".."Did you book it a few days ago?"...Questions like this that seemed to doubt the authenticity of my booking. Poor and unprofessional service. Ought to brush up on communication skills. At the breakfast table, the staff were looking glum and disgruntled. We spent about 5 minutes attempting to place an order at the egg station. The staff told us that we could not choose more than one type of egg. Strange. When we shared that we would like to enjoy more eggs for our breakfast, the staff just told us bluntly that 2 type of eggs were not allowed. Weird. Thereafter, we repeated our order many times as the staff do not seem to understand. Half-boiled, omelette and scrambled. What was so complicated? When the same staff came over to our table to refill our drinks, he inadvertently brushed the sleeves of his shirt against the food on my plate. What happened to the wonderful service that fellow globetrotters have experienced?

The canopy room was exquisitely designed, punctuated by specially-commissioned artwork. We enjoyed listening to the good choice of Jazz music that was played in the room. Selected beverages (Pepsi, Pepsi Light, Orange, Mango) in the minibar do not incur extra charges. The plush and comfortable bed induced a good night's rest. Bathroom was spacious. Molten Brown hotel amenities were awesome. There was Molten Brown Dead Sea Salt to add to a bath for a good long relaxing soak. However, the translucent bathroom door might not be suitable for non-couples.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meixuan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear meixuan w,

Thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel during your recent getaway. On behalf of the Management, I sincerely apologise for the unpleasant experiences that caused you to depart with a negative impression.

First and foremost, due to an oversight in your booking through a third party booking engine, the Front Office team was unable to locate your reservation in our system. We recognise that the tone of voice expressed during check-in may have been inappropriate and have informed the staff in question to be more tactful in his speech.

Additionally, we definitely do not limit the number of servings or the type of eggs guests may order during breakfast. Please accept our apologies for the frustrations you had with communicating and the treatment you received by the male service staff. I assure you consistency and high standards of service excellence in our hotel is of utmost importance and this will be reiterated to the entire staff members once more.

Nonetheless, I am happy that you enjoyed the facilities and amenities in your room, including the piped-in music. I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the true WANGZ experience in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The service here was brilliant, from the doorman to reception to the bar. The hotel and the room itself was nicely decorated and clean, and the breakfast was good. The location is great for Chinatown and for public transport. We'll make sure to stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: There are great views from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alex645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear alex645,

Thank you for taking time to write this review and sharing your compliments for the hotel and team’s service.

We are delighted you had a positive stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We had a lovely 3 nights in this hotel. We found the staff friendly and helpful. The room had one or two minor faults and these were promptly fixed when we reported them. The staff member also checked to make sure that everything had been properly repaired. The breakfast was very good and the chef in particular shared recipes with my wife and cooked us a special dish on our last morning. We booked through booking.com and the price we got was very reasonable. I often find hotel rooms are rather impersonal and are places to stay because one has to. Wangz however is the exception - I would be happy to live there permanently if I could afford it!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anton81500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Anton81500,

Thank you very much for bestowing us with such high regard in your review. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and appreciated the personal bond and camaraderie at our property.

All of us at WANGZ Hotel look forward to welcoming you home when you next visit Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed at the Wangz Hotel for three nights on our way home from Australia. I booked it after reading other reviews on Trip advisor and it was spot on. This smaller boutique style hotel has a contemporary but welcoming feel. The rooms and all the guest areas were spotless.Our Son and his Girlfriend arrived on an earlier flight than us and were treated to a room upgrade which was a bonus (all the more so because Mum & Dad were paying!!). My husband celebrated his Birthday whilst we were there and we were delighted when a sumptuous chocolate cake was delivered to our room when we returned from a day out. All the Reception Staff went out of their way to greet us by name, which was a lovely personal touch. Many thanks to all the Staff, keep up the good work!! We shall recommend you to any of our friends who may be visiting Singapore

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear katkha,

Thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel during your recent family vacation. I would like to wish your husband a belated birthday greeting and I am very glad all of you had a enjoyable break.

We appreciate your kind compliments on the facilities and service. Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#17 of 317 in Singapore
1,200 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Naumi Hotel
#18 of 317 in Singapore
2,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#13 of 317 in Singapore
7,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#24 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range: £106 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing