We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wangz is wow! Wow! Wow!”
Review of Wangz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wangz Hotel
Ranked #11 of 312 Hotels in Singapore
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wangz is wow! Wow! Wow!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My husband and I booked Wangz based on the fantastic reviews on this site and also because it was the only hotel that allowed us and our two young children (6 and 3) to stay in one room at no extra charge. Boy did they not disappoint!
We were supposed to spend 2 nights in Singapore in transit to Europe but on the first night my daughter got a raging temperature. We spent the next two days back and forth between the hospital and the hotel and the staff at Wangz could not do enough to assist us. They lent my son (who wasn't sick) the Xbox 360 to keep him entertained while we looked after our daughter and myself (we both had acute ear and sinus infections). As we were unable to fly, our trip was extended by 5 days. There was no issue in extending, no room changes, the staff dealt directly with our insurance to take care of payment, they sent complimentary fruit platters to our room and a get well card. They were incredibly accommodating in catering for my son's fussy eating and went out of their way to interact and chat to all four of us.
My son's birthday was during our stay and we were supposed to spend it with family but now had to try and make his birthday special in Singapore. My son had mentioned he wanted a games console for his birthday and one of the fantastic staff members (Khairi) searched online for the best shop to buy it from and offered to go and get it for us. On his birthday they had a surprise birthday cake with a card signed from all the staff and they made his birthday so special. It was like spending it with family.
I simply cannot speak highly enough of the staff at Wangz. They made our stay immensely pleasurable and relaxing despite the circumstances. They always have a smile on their faces, have a great rapport together and really seem to enjoy their work.
The hotel itself is lovely: boutique and small enough to really have a family feel. The location is fantastic; in the old heritage area of Singapore which is fast becoming fashionable and chic. Right outside the hotel is a strip of restaurants the locals frequent that really comes alive at night and where we ate the best szechuan food we've ever had. The room was always fresh and clean and basically we highly recommend this hotel! A big thank you to all the staff; we all miss you and Luke says he had the best birthday ever thanks to you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ph004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Ph004,

Thank you for sharing this heart warming review. We fully understand the challenges with travelling with young children which escalates significantly should unexpected misfortunes occur. Thus, we made it our duty to render as much assistance as possible when you and your daughter fell ill at the same time.

It has been an honour celebrating your son’s special day with the family and we are especially touched that he will always carry fond memories from this birthday with him. Your generous compliments for the team’s service and rapport are also appreciated and affirm the commitment we, as a boutique hotel, have towards our guests.

We sincerely hope all is well with the entire family and all the staff who meet your family treasure the close bond formed in this short period of time. Looking forward to your next trip back home to WANGZ in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    360
    77
    12
    5
See reviews for
154
629
96
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
155 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

You arrive by taxi at a small basement elevator entrance in the parking garage. Hmmm...is this really a hotel entrance? At the confluence of several major, busy thoroughfares?
Not to worry - once you are upstairs, the Wangz is a charmer. The welcome at reception is warm and gracious, and our room was ready early. Arriving is Singapore is a delight - why can'a all cities on Earth have such a lovely, fast, beautifully landscaped highway from the airport into town> But I digress - back to the Wangz:
Rooms are not huge, but attractive and well designed. Great shower and bath products (Moulton Brown). Free soft drinks in the minibar. The best breakfast buffet, and coffee, in SE Asia. And a nice option to have a free shuttle to various parts of town throughout the day (one way only - returning is on your own, which we did by taxi).
As some other reviewers have mentioned, a pool would be a nice addition. Singapore gets HOT. Would love to try their sister property next time for that reason.
Before I forget: another major reason to stay here is the Art Deco heritage residential neighborhood adjacent to the hotel: Tiong Bahru. This is a must for architecture fans and we never would have seen it had we not stayed at Wangz. Do pick up the free, terrific 60-page booklet on this area at the reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChinaFanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear ChinaFanNYC,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Singapore. We are honoured by your generous compliments for the city and the accommodation experience at our hotel. I am also happy that you had an opportunity to embark on the heritage trail in the neighbourhood and enjoyed exploring around the Tiong Bahru vicinity. This is definitely one of the charms we hope all guests will take advantage of.

Please visit us again at WANGZ Hotel or THE FOREST BY WANGZ should your travels bring you back to this part of the world.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

If you're looking for a personal and friendly hotel away from the traditional tourist areas, Wangz in Tiong Bahru is perfect. It might look a bit drab and industrial from the outside but the rooms are bright, clean and spacious. The Outram subway station is only a 5 minute walk away and Chinatown about 10-15 minutes on foot. The complimentary breakfast was also a pleasant surprise with lots of fresh fruit, bread and pastries, salads, although it would be a shame not to explore Tiong Bahru for some local eats. The second floor of the Tiong Bahru market, also a few minutes' walk from the hotel, is great place to try some tasty hainanese chicken rice and prawn noodles.

Room Tip: It's a small hotel with only 6 floors, so ask for rooms on the highest floors available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear michie94,

Thank you for choosing to stay at WANGZ Hotel during your recent visit to Singapore. I am delighted you had a positive experience with the hotel's amenities and design. It is also wonderful to know you had the opportunity to explore the charming Tiong Bahru neighbourhood which we so love as well.

All of us look forward to your return in the near future as you rest in our urban oasis and discover more hidden gems in the vicinity.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed at Wangz with family & friend. Late check in & the night porter was waiting for us at 1 am. Service was above expect ions and maintained thru all our stay. Excellent value for money. Close to MRT so it's easy to get around. Would recommend

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brendoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Brendoon,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. It is wonderful to know the team’s service standard exceeded expectations and was maintained throughout your stay at the hotel.

Please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Wangz from 14th to 21st June 2014 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We travel to Singapore on a semi-regular and this is the best hotel in Singapore we've stayed at! Very friendly staff, very clean, modern and well-appointed rooms. Free Wi-Fi, water and non-alcoholic drinks (from the bar fridge) and not far from the MRT. If you can get the hang of the buses you can bus to Outram MRT there and back. The surrounding Art Deco area (Tiong Bahru)is interesting. The 7th Floor bar area is well worth visiting -go there!. Happy hour from 4 to 8 pm makes it worth the view over the area and to enjoy a half price Tiger beer. Tim, the Bar manager, is excellent. Music on Thurs to Sunday evenings. Cannot recommend highly enough! We will stay again.

Room Tip: As always, the higher the better! But don't get bothered by lower floors, the windows are double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Robert B,

Thank you for awarding WANGZ Hotel your premium choice of accommodation in Singapore. I am delighted you enjoyed all our facilities, amenities, location, and especially your evenings at Halo rooftop lounge. May I take this opportunity to clarify that the live music is only available from Thursdays to Saturdays.

All of us look forward to your return trip soon.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I am always looking for the little details about the places where I stay when I am traveling. Wangz Hotel is at the top of my list for what is good about a hotel in Singapore..
The staff is well trained and the décor is beautiful. The place is clean and covers all of the emendates The restaurant does a nice job with a great breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner. I love the place

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Brian R,

Thank you for such an encouraging review. We are grateful for all the compliments and hope to welcome you back to WANGZ Hotel in the near future.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived early in the morning and were treated to a complimentary breakfast which started us off well. Indeed, the outstanding feature of the hotel is the service which is excellent. The location is good, only about a seven-minute walk from Outram Rd. MRT station. We were given a free shuttle there on leaving, because with luggage the walk is not advisable. It would normally merit a five-star rating, but we had a couple of actually very annoying issues with the main lighting switch (which failed) and cold shower which was due to a boiler problem according to the manager. Otherwise highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WANGZhotel231, Public Relations Manager at Wangz Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Adrian B,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am glad that your overall experience was a positive one. Additionally, I would like to sincerely apologise for the issues you encountered with the main lighting switch and shower water temperature during your stay. Please rest assured that these problems have been rectified since your departure.

Your support for WANGZ Hotel is appreciated and please visit us again should your travels bring you back to Singapore.


Best regards,

Wang Zhiling
Marketing & Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Singapore hotels
One Farrer Hotel & Spa
#13 of 312 in Singapore
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina Bay
Pan Pacific Singapore
Pan Pacific Singapore
#15 of 312 in Singapore
7,114 reviews
Joo Chiat
Village Hotel Katong by Far East Hospitality
Joo Chiat
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
Hotel Indigo Singapore Katong
#12 of 312 in Singapore
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wangz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wangz Hotel

Property: Wangz Hotel
Address: 231 Outram Road, Singapore 169040, Singapore
Phone Number:
Region: Singapore > Singapore > Tiong Bahru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Singapore
#15 Romantic Hotel in Singapore
#17 Business Hotel in Singapore
#27 Family Hotel in Singapore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wangz Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enter the chic lobby of this luxurious boutique hotel and proceed to your elegant room, which feels more like your own private retreat. WANGZ Hotel, with its ultra-modern interior, is located minutes away from Singapore's main shopping area, major cultural attractions, as well as the banking and financial district. Every room features modern comforts like rain shower, Sealy Posturepedic bed, 37-inch LCD TV, complimentary internet access, iPod docking station, piped-in mood music, complimentary selected beverages from mini-bar, as well as luxurious bath amenities. Guests may also enjoy complimentary shuttle service to the nearest subway station, the financial district and Orchard Road shopping belt daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wangz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wangz Hotel Singapore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing